We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel Scarborough

Save
Share
Traveller (2888)
Room & Suite (796)
Dining (68)
Overview
  • Excellent9%
  • Very good19%
  • Average20%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible36%
  • yesterday
    “expect what you pay for”
  • 2 days ago
    “Not grand anymore.”
St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET England See on map
AMENITIES
Public Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
3 Star accommodation
Reviews (7,510)
Filter reviews
7,495 results
Traveller rating
656
1,393
1,465
1,181
2,800
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
656
1,393
1,465
1,181
2,800
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 7,495 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

The hotel itself is so imposing, a good looking old building dating from the very late 1800's I believe. A bit tired in places but still very comfortable. Well placed overlooking the South Beach. No need to worry about the cliff top location as there...More

Thank william g
Response from Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel ScarboroughResponded yesterday

Dear willaim g, I’d like to send my sincere apologies following your review you completed about your recent visit. We’re really sorry it wasn’t up to scratch but it’s great that you told us, as your feedback will help us get things spot on next...More

Reviewed yesterday

After an initial hitch, (where as a disabled person we were offered a room with a bath when we had specifically requested a room with no bath and walk in shower), we were then given a lovely room overlooking the sea, which was great. The...More

Thank rosemarychurchett
Response from Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel ScarboroughResponded yesterday

Dear rosemarychurchett, Thank you for your review and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in the hotel and it sounds like you made the most of everything we have on offer. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near...More

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Its filthy dirty - pets are allowed to stay here - so that says it all really! I found pet hairs in the bed and in my breakfast too. People walking around with dogs on leads in such a beautiful building is a disgrace! The...More

1  Thank standards271
Response from Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel ScarboroughResponded yesterday

Dear standards271, I’d like to send my sincere apologies following your review you completed about your recent visit. We’re really sorry it wasn’t up to scratch but it’s great that you told us, as your feedback will help us get things spot on next time....More

Reviewed yesterday

got back home yesterday after 2 nights breakfast and evening meal with national holidays ,trying to write a true account of stay ,ok so the hotel architecture is beautiful it would have been really outstanding in its day,the bedroom was small but adequate ,bedding clean...More

Thank Vivi W
Response from Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel ScarboroughResponded yesterday

Dear Vivi W, I’d like to send my sincere apologies following your review you completed about your recent visit. We’re really sorry it wasn’t up to scratch but it’s great that you told us, as your feedback will help us get things spot on next...More

Reviewed 2 days ago

What a disgusting place to stay. Bedroom underground with no windows. Not particularly clean. Full of charvers. Carpets threadbare. £85 for a night with no breakfast. Asked for a cup of tea and coffee at reception, was willing to pay. Asked if we wanted a...More

Thank Honestbernie
Response from Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel ScarboroughResponded yesterday

Dear Honestbernie, I’d like to send my sincere apologies following your review you completed about your recent visit. We’re really sorry it wasn’t up to scratch but it’s great that you told us, as your feedback will help us get things spot on next time....More

View more reviews
About
Description
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. More Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Restaurant
Beachfront
Bar/Lounge
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair Access
Pool
Room Service
Free Parking
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style
On the Beach
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Hotel class
Hotel Style
On the Beach
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
413
Price range
US$ 44 - US$ 126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Scarborough Grand Hotel
,
Grand Scarborough
,
The Grand Hotel Scarborough
Location
United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Hotel class
Hotel Style
On the Beach
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Number of rooms
413
Price range
US$ 44 - US$ 126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Scarborough Grand Hotel
,
Grand Scarborough
,
The Grand Hotel Scarborough
Location
United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Photos
Traveller (2,888)
Room & Suite (796)
Dining (68)
Pool & Beach (42)
Family and Play Areas (13)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (12)
Amenities (9)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 26 nearby hotels
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
2,436 reviews
.06 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
2,783 reviews
.12 km away
Palm Court Hotel
701 reviews
.13 km away
The Mount Hotel
396 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 399 nearby restaurants
Espresso yourself
105 reviews
.15 km away
The Seastrand
73 reviews
.11 km away
Boddy's of Bar Street Cafe
201 reviews
.15 km away
Il Piatto ristorante italiano
637 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 162 nearby attractions
Central Tramway Company
425 reviews
.04 km away
Rotunda Museum
269 reviews
.16 km away
Scarborough Art Gallery
116 reviews
.27 km away
Tracy Savage Fine Art Gallery
63 reviews
.06 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
salsherr
8 October 2018|
Answer
Response from John S | Reviewed this property |
No. The hotel is beautiful on the outside only. Read a few dozen of the terrible reviews and the managers cut and paste response or pay and regret. You have been warned!
1
Vote
salsherr
8 October 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from bluesbob | Reviewed this property |
-2 room 41
1
Vote
Maxine L
4 October 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from bluesbob | Reviewed this property |
free to anyone to access entertainment but limited space be early
1
Vote
Room Tips
"not 317 just because of the view was queit though"
658viviw
yesterday
Read review
"just don't do it"
Pollyanna436
2 days ago
Read review
"be honest what you expect"
isellers5055
6 days ago
Read review
"Book the travel lodge opposite"
GARYGOONER59
1 week ago
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing