We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Crown Spa Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Crown Spa Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Crown Spa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 4,130: English reviews
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 June 2016

My husband and I booked this hotel for a little bit of relaxation and luxury. To our astonishment and horror we discovered, completely by accident, that this hotel choses to record all conversations in public areas. Although this appears somewhere in the small print of the terms and conditions, any mention on arrival or signage is conspicuous by its absence....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
crownspahotel, General Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review

May I first of all say thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am always disappointed when a customer isn’t happy with any part of the service received at the Crown. Any customer entering the hotel will see signage stating that CCTV is in operation and that it records both sound and vision, this is within...

Rotherham
Reviewed 12 June 2016

We were very please with The Crown Spa Hotel! Great service. Staff were great and very helpful, couldn't have done enough for us. Loved the pool and facilities. Bedroom was lovely and had everything we needed!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alissa W
crownspahotel, Assistant Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review

May I first thank you for finding the time to leave us a lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you encountered very helpful staff. I certainly hope you would return to stay in the future and may I suggest booking directly with the hotel. We all look forward to seeing you again! Kind regards,...

Brigadoon
Reviewed 11 June 2016

Did not get the room we paid for until the next day and not offered a refund. The room we were put in had no hot water. Moved to another room was next to where they were renovating. Manager was rude. The staff were embarrassed by his rudeness.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Y975JLsusana
crownspahotel, General Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Y975JLsusana May I first of all say thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am always disappointed when a customer isn’t happy with any part of the service received at the Crown. I can assure you as the General Manager I certainly was not rude to you or any other customer, all f the management...

Huddersfield
Reviewed 10 June 2016

Lovely hotel with great rooms, staff and facilities. We very much enjoyed our weekend stay.The room was a high standard, the bed very comfortable and clean. The leisure facilities were lovely and very clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephenbR1124QM
crownspahotel, Assistant Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review

May I first thank you for finding the time to leave us a lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am glad you were able to enjoy our leisure facilities. I certainly hope you would return to stay in the future and may I suggest booking direct with the hotel to receive our...

Stockport
Reviewed 10 June 2016

At first we were put into an awful room with a brick wall straight out of the window!! You couldn't even see what the weather was like! However I complained and we were moved to a lovely bright room. All staff were really lovely

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 91howk
crownspahotel, Assistant Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review

May I first thank you for finding the time to leave us a lovely review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay once you had moved rooms and that you encountered lovely staff. May I recommend should you ever decide to return to stay in the future to book direct with the hotel to receive our Advantages discounts....

Durham
Reviewed 10 June 2016

We had an Excellent family stay with helpful staff, a good size family room ideal for 2 children. The hotel was clean and well looked after with a nice outside area for food, weather permitting. The Spa facilities and treatments were very good and staff helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise W
crownspahotel, Assistant Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review

May I first thank you for finding the time to leave us a lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you encountered helpful staff during your visit. I certainly hope you would return to stay again in the future and may I suggest booking direct with the hotel. We all look forward to...

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

The hotel or spa didn't really live up to our expectations - I know everybody is different. Check-in was quick, friendly and easy. Our room was tiny. Yes, the view was dreadful but as we were only staying the night (and just interested in the spa) we weren't fussed. We were offered a sea view room for an extra £20,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bex47
crownspahotel, General Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review

May I first of all say thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am always disappointed when a customer isn’t happy with any part of the service received at the Crown. Room 109 is a rear facing room and smaller than some rooms, this is reflected in the price but we do expect our customers to...

Barnsley
Reviewed 9 June 2016

Lovely stay. Very nice hotel, just what we were looking for. Very relaxing and a great atmosphere. Food very nice and the leisure facilities were an added bonus. Friendly staff, couldnt have asked for more.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
crownspahotel, Assistant Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review

May I first thank you for finding the time to leave us a lovely review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you encoutered friendly staff during your visit. I certainly hope you would return to stay in the future and may I recommend booking direct with the hotel. We all look forward to...

Bury St Edmunds
Reviewed 8 June 2016

We had a lovely weekend at the crown spa hotel, our only gripe was the size of the room, very small for a double room. Supposed to have a king size bed but that seemed smaller, probably to fit in the room

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tma514
crownspahotel, General Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review

May I first of all say thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am always disappointed when a customer isn’t happy with any part of the service received at the Crown. My apologies that it may have appeared the bed was not a king-sized bed but I can assure you that it was, a UK king...

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 June 2016

Fabulous hotel, in a wonderful position. Love it any time of year. Town centre a short walk over the bridge and beach front a short walk through gardens or a trip on the perambulator to the spa theatre. Worth up grading to a superior room, the amazing sea view room we had was large, very comfortable and well equipped with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kay l
crownspahotel, Assistant Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review

May I first thank you for finding the time to leave us a wonderful review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you would return once again in the future. We all look forward to seeing you soon! Kindest regards, Hayley Cook, Assistant Manager.

584 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (573)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (87)
Viewed
Room/Suite (120)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (46)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (251)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.8 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
747 reviews
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
5.0 km away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,156 reviews
0.4 km away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
542 reviews
0.4 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Price Range: ₹ 5,545 - ₹ 12,216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Crown Spa Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
over a year ago
yorkshire
1 month ago
sheffield
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Crown Spa Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles 497lesliek, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“getting a room with a view of the sea adds to the experience,”
 of 5 bubbles V4887VKmichaels, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The sea view of course is a must have”
 of 5 bubbles jacksogaz, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had front balcony room and it was perfect”
 of 5 bubbles a_imeekings, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't except 503 !”
 of 5 bubbles tonygredshaw, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay