We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Crown Spa Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Crown Spa Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,499 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Crown Spa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 4,491: English reviews
Boston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016

After leaving to go to this hotel for the night leaving at 5 o'clock on the morning for loving 3 hours away, doing what we did in the day then after dinner and check in, me and my partner went to use the swimming have a nice relaxing time. About 6 o'clock in the evening we wanted to get ready...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sapjaw
crownspahotel, General Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review

May I first say thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I am extremely disappointed that your stay was not an enjoyable one, having looked at the hotels complaint log I can see that there were issues and the issues were dealt with. Once again thank you for your valued feedback, we do read and respond to...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016

female receptionist was not at all helpful and quite detached and rude. Room was not as good as expected and as the photos suggest. Quite clean but in need of repair and some damp in need of treating. Terrible view of scaffolding outside and not good since we paid 114 for one night! Pool awful, grubby and a floating plaster....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank F2494OSjulies
crownspahotel, General Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review

May I first of all say thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I am always disappointed when any customer isn’t totally happy with any aspect of their stay. I am a little confused as to your comment regarding scaffolding as we are not currently having any work done at the hotel, if you are referring to...

Stockton On Tees
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Really enjoyed the stay but for £211 for one night with continental breakfast I was disappointed at the size of the bedroom and basic facilities provided. Seating wasn't great and lack of temperature control meant an uncomfortable sleep

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank clarewW6971JY
crownspahotel, General Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review

May I first of all say thank you for taking the time to leave a review, I am always disappointed when any customer isn’t totally happy with any aspect of their stay. In the height of the season the hotels rooms are in high demand and prices are reflected with this in mind. I would always recommend booking direct for...

Reviewed 30 August 2016

We went in May 2016 for a weekend break. The reception and bar staff were lovely, the rooms were comfortable and immaculately clean and the bathroom was gorgeous. The food in the restaurant was a little dissapointing and the staff a bit miserable. The breakfast was also dissapointing as the first day we had paid for full English which to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
crownspahotel, General Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review

May I first of all say thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review. I am always delighted when a customer leaves the hotel having had an enjoyable stay. I am a little disappointed that there were issues with the food and would ask that issues are brought to the attention of the management team giving...

Menston
Reviewed 30 August 2016

My son and I stayed for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We have been enjoying the Crown for over ten years now and there is something very rare and special about the Hotel, its Staff and the whole experience. Traditional values, comfort and customer care second to none, the staff are fantastic. The food offers good value, superb...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank darrencS6840DX
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review

May I firstly thank you for writing a positive review We are pleased that you have enjoyed your another stay with us and very happy you have continue to use the hotel I shall pass your kind comments onto the rest of The Crown Spa Hotel. We do hope that you continue to return to the hotel as we would...

Manchester
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Very friendly staff, large room, clean (though the bathroom could now do with a little TLC) fantastic use of leisure facilities and a silent nights sleep! Would stay again if the price was right like this time!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank P5820OXcookel
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review

May I firstly thank you for writing a positive review We are pleased that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us I shall pass your kind comments onto the rest of The Crown Spa Hotel. We do hope that you continue to return to the hotel as we would look forward to welcoming you back Thank you again for...

Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Wedding reception was organised very well. Nothing was too much trouble. Food was very good. Room upgrade was very nice Room was very comfortable. Room was very clean and tidy. Breakfast was very good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scarborough_Lad
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review

May I firstly thank you for writing a positive review We are pleased that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us , Am glad you have enjoyed a wedding reception here I shall pass your kind comments onto the rest of The Crown Spa Hotel. We do hope that you continue to return to the hotel as we would...

Newton Aycliffe,County Durham
Reviewed 30 August 2016

I have been visiting Scarborough for 39 years but have never stayed in this hotel. Staff were very professional and welcoming, hotel was clean and tidy and location superb for town and South cliff area. Will definitely return.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank yellowchick2016
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review

May I firstly thank you for writing a positive review We are pleased that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us I shall pass your kind comments onto the rest of The Crown Spa Hotel. We do hope that you continue to return to the hotel as we would look forward to welcoming you back Thank you again for...

Newton Aycliffe
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Another trip to the wonderful Crown Spa Hotel. I had asked if it was possible to have a fridge in my room as being vegan I carry lots of my 'own things' around with me. (soya milk, soya yogurt etc). I arrived to find it in place! The service was brilliant and nothing was a problem Parking is the main...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 497laineyr
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review

May I firstly thank you for writing a positive review We are pleased that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us I shall pass your kind comments onto the rest of The Crown Spa Hotel. We do hope that you continue to return to the hotel as we would look forward to welcoming you back Thank you again for...

Penrith,Cumbria
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Our second stay here, great service and food. Location great for us, super views from this area. We had a room with a balcony which we did use - its a great place to people watch. We probably won't be back to Scarborough for a few years, but the Crown Spa is likely to be our first choice when we...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z3562EOrachels
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review

May I firstly thank you for writing a positive review Iam pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our feature. I will pass you’re your kind comments on to the rest of the Crown Spa staff. Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to improve...

613 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (603)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (118)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (91)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (273)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.8 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
782 reviews
5.0 km away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,782 reviews
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
598 reviews
0.5 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,276 reviews
0.5 km away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: ₹ 5,396 - ₹ 14,226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Crown Spa Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Crown Spa Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“5th floor have TV's in the bath - best rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles laurenbhaduri1, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea View room is stunning”
 of 5 bubbles 1234savage, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed on the back it didn't have see view but was nice and quiet , also their is a spa”
 of 5 bubbles karensH7697PO, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go for a sea room , and balcony if you're going when it's warm!.”
 of 5 bubbles SallyWatford, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“second floor sea view”
 of 5 bubbles 715clivev, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5