We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rose Dene

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rose Dene
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Rose Dene
See the most recent reviews
Showing 153: English reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2016

We stayed for 2 nights in July 2016 in room 4, with our parrot Rio. On arrival we received a warm friendly welcome. The room was clean, well maintained with a comfortable bed, on suite (hot shower) TV, fridge, tea making facilities. The breakfast was very tasty with a wide range of meals on offer including vegan options. Nothing was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ty J
Gillian D, Owner at Rose Dene, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Rio was our first parrot guest and was very well behaved. We only allow pets to a few of our rooms so make sure you book early next time you want to visit. We try to do our best to make every ones stay relaxing and memorable.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was was very nice with a wide choice including fresh fruit Toast and all cooked breakfast cooked to order. The rooms were spotless and the beds were very comfortable. We would stop here again. Parking can be sorted out even if it looks full they can always help get you a free space

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 151jase
Gillian D, Owner at Rose Dene, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your breakfast. We try to provide a wide range for breakfast to please as many people as possible. We hope to see you again soon.

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Went with my small dog. Lovely stay. Excellent good. Would stay there again. Room had ensuite and television. Tea and coffee making facilities. Can't ask for more really. Scarborough has lovely beaches and walks

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 112katherinm
Gillian D, Owner at Rose Dene, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. It is always a pleasure to meet well behaved dogs.

Hornsea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Warm welcome when you arrive shows you to the room explains the wifi and keys Excellent stay very clean and friendly breakfast could not fault this down the road you can catch the bus on the front were there are shops and amusement brilliant stay thankyou

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tracey c
Gillian D, Owner at Rose Dene, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We have recently upgraded our WiFi to fibre with an extender upstairs so that everyone can use it no matter where they are.

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Very freindly and helpfull.Lovely breakfast a good choice on the help your self.Food very fresh and allways hot.Will be going there again when visiting Scarborough.Very freindly atmosphire.Run just by mother and son they do a great job and just around the corner from the open air theater.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kelvinp285
Gillian D, Owner at Rose Dene, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We work hard to make people feel relaxed and at home so that they can enjoy their well earned break. The Open air theatre has some good acts on during the summer months I find it very handy being so close.

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2016

My friend and I had a really enjoyable stay at Rose-Dene. The room was lovely and the guest house was very clean. We had excellent service from the owners. The food was very good and filling. Our host was very helpful in advising us on places to go and how to get there. There was no pressure to leave the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sdrybu_542780
Gillian D, Owner at Rose Dene, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to meet you. I'm glad you found everywhere that you wanted to go. I am glad you enjoyed the food we use fresh quality produce for our breakfast.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Rose Dene was a great place to stay if you go to Scarborough for the cricket, as I did. The patrons were friendly. The room clean, the bed very comfortable, and the breakfast was excellent. The only slight problem was that parking was inadequate when the guest house is fully occupied. I had chosen this place as it advertised parking...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnGreenfield
Gillian D, Owner at Rose Dene, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, we are just a short walk from the cricket ground. We advertise free parking with a small car park and off site parking. We can only get a small number of cars in the car park. If people do not need there cars during their stay we can...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Excellent hosts. Award winning brekkie with premium quality ingredients. Lovely room. Loads of storage and complimentary toiletries. Ideally situated. Private parking. En suite. Tv. Hairdryer. Fridge. Couldn't have asked for anything more

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nixnax72
Gillian D, Owner at Rose Dene, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Our breakfasts are all cooked fresh to order with award winning free range sausages supplied from Trotters. Looks like the shower is ok now as the same room as the previous review.

Whitstable, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2016

shower was very poor pressure but everything else was good able to come and go as we required very central location and lovely breakfast with just about right amount of of fuss and communication very near to north bay front and several eating places

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackiemI9982BS
Gillian D, Owner at Rose Dene, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, we are close to the beach or town depending which way you walk. I wish you had mentioned the shower to us while you were here. I bit of WD40 and the pressure can be turned a bit further. This ensuite is getting a face lift in December...

Retford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2016

The room was very clean and facilities good. We visited with our small dog and were made very welcome by the owners. Breakfast was lovely, freshly cooked to order using good quality ingredients, even home made strawberry jam for our toast. We will definitely visit again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank teresacA9201UE
Gillian D, Owner at Rose Dene, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was a nice to meet you. I get a lot of pleasure by seeing guests enjoy their stay, so I try to make it as enjoyable as possible. We try to make our breakfasts as tasty as possible. Most items are free range (except for the hash browns)

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 km away
Dolphin Guesthouse
Dolphin Guesthouse
#38 of 182 in Scarborough
116 reviews
0.2 km away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 182 in Scarborough
256 reviews
0.0 km away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 182 in Scarborough
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 182 in Scarborough
880 reviews
0.2 km away
The Kingsway Hotel
The Kingsway Hotel
#63 of 182 in Scarborough
84 reviews
0.1 km away
The Beaches Bed and Breakfast
The Beaches Bed and Breakfast
#12 of 182 in Scarborough
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A warm welcome awaits you at the Rose Dene. Our aim is to make your holiday in Scarborough both enjoyable and memorable. Excellent quality home cooked breakfast. All rooms en suite. Small private car park. We hope our friendly atmosphere will make your stay both comfortable and happy. Positioned in the North bay of Scarborough, close to all North Bay attractions like the Sea Life Centre, Open Air Theatre, Peasholm Park and not forgetting the beach. Town centre easy walking distance. A good base for touring the North Yorkshire Moors National Park and small market towns. Small well behaved pets welcome to some rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rose Dene

Address: 106 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: ₹ 4,316 - ₹ 6,473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose Dene 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rose Dene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rose Dene staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rose Dene staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room seven up stairs but worth the effort!”
Obrienunited, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have been recently decorated. First floor rooms are dog friendly.”
Mackemmover, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room was on the front and there was no noise overnight, very quiet area.”
Q4114ZVjaned, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you find the bed too soft, the owners told us that they could turn the mattress as it is slightly firmer on other side.”
102junem, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Plenty of room for me and my dog considering i had a single room ”
S1903HPjillh, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5