We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bay Norbreck Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Bay Norbreck Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

386 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bay Norbreck Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 386: English reviews
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

What a fabulous Xmas lunch we had! The Norbreck support our bereavement group every week providing a space and refreshments to our group - guests are welcome to join us every Thursday morning - many have - we do laugh ! The staff at the hotel are so friendly and welcoming - they make it feel like coming home to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank YASOOJANE
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review. I cannot express how truly wonderful it feels to know we make it feel like coming home. Everyone here works really hard to make a great atmosphere for all our guests and it is a pleasure to be able to pass on your comments to my team.

Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed on a sheerings midweek break on 5th Dec can't fault any thing with this hotel or staff had a great time, room was lovely food good would like to give a special shout out for Paul in the bar and Roger our coach driver would definitely come back to this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Vivian P
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments Vivian, it is always a pleasure to hear my team have helped make your stay. I have passed on your comments to Paul and Roger and they were very pleased you had a good time here. I do look forward to welcoming you back here at the Norbreck in the very near...

Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016

This trip was fom BARROW staying at the norbreck for three nights and visiting York Christmas market with all people from the Furness area.What a wonderful trip from start to finish.The coach was great the driver exceptional,his knowledge of everywhere we went.The hotel although old was well layed out ,well furnished with clean rooms and comfortable beds.The dining room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OLEX67
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review comments. I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to hear how good a job may team has done and I have passed on your thoughts. The party weekends we run here, where you get the drinks vouchers, are always very popular and as you say, represent excellent value....

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Had a lovely 5 day break here with Shearings. Seaview room had just been refurbished and although small was adequate. Overall hotel was clean and although more refurbishment needed was very pleasant. Evening entertainment was very good with exception of a female singer who didn't turn up until 10.45 then only sang 3 songs badly. The food is what lets...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank carandchris1973
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Norbreck but I am sorry you didn’t find the meals up to our usual standard. This is something I have taken back to kitchen so we can review our processes and procedures. The entertainer you speak of...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

Just got back from our 5 day holiday with shearings, best shearings holiday we've had, which was mainly due to the lovely hotel, our complements to the chef, wonderful 3 course meal each night, plentiful too which is something for a shearings hotel, buffet breakfast was superb with lots to choose from. And take it from me the chocolate cheese...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carole G
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Carole, thank you so much for your lovely comments. I am delighted you had a good time with us here at the Norbreck. It was a pleasure to pass on your comments to my chef, he was very pleased you enjoyed his cooking but said he couldn’t give you the cheesecake recipe :o( I’m sure we can work on...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night with National Holidays. The hotel is a little bit run down but is very clean & the staff were super friendly. Very nice food, reasonably priced bar & comfy beds. The hotel was short staffed during our evening meal I was a bit disappointed that I couldn't get a drink to have with my dinner....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank zoecun
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I’m glad you enjoyed your evening meal and it has been a pleasure to pass on your comments to our chef. The bar is always open and you are more than welcome to take drinks into the restaurant to have with your meal, however as you mention, due to an unfortunate staff illness we were...

Maryport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Booked this with shearing coach holiday for the price we were expecting a basic break, local pick up in a very comfortable coach,arrived in good time and our cases were taken to our spotless room with a comfy bed . Every evening a three course meal with 3 choices on each course,entertainment every night ,and 4drinks pr person and it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank usatmattlyn
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Norbreck. The Weekend Party breaks are as you said, excellent value for money and all drinks at the bar are indeed branded. The trips are excellent especially York for the Christmas markets, it’s something...

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

Just returned from a 4 day trip to The Norbreck. We were lucky to get a sea view double room, the room was ok there was refurbishment going on so a little noisy and dusty the tops of the curtains were covered in a fine white dust. The bathroom was very small with peeling paint, was cold even with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne K
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Anne. I have passed your comments onto the team who were pleased to hear you found them hard working and pleasant, they are a great team. We are closely monitoring the issues raised with the food and are sorry if this upset your break. I look forward to welcoming you again in the New Year.

Huddersfield
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Had another enjoyable break here last weekend. This is now the 5th time I have stayed here. Shearings are undertaking a gradual rolling refurbishment programme, and on each time I've been more has been done - new windows, lift, room refurbishments etc. and more was in the process of being done this time. My own refurbished 2nd floor room had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank metromanHuddersfield
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to write and I’m very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very lucky to have such lovely views here, we are the only hotel in Scarborough that can see both bays. We have, as you mentioned, found ourselves at that point in the year when we get spruced up and the next...

Alicante, Spain
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Just spent 5 days in this hotel. On arrival found room had windows open and no heating in November! Heating did not work for 24 hours and had to ask three times for it to be resolved and blankets provided. Other public rooms also very cold. Room was very tatty with holes in the curtains and scuffy furniture. The large...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Patricia H
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I’m very sorry your stay with us wasn’t as you had hoped. I’m sorry you felt it was too cold for you, we do have extra heaters we can put in the rooms and can, as you rightly said, provide extra blankets for those guests who feel the North Yorkshire...

157 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (152)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.6 km away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
421 reviews
1.2 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,619 reviews
1.3 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,304 reviews
0.7 km away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Standing on the headland, near Scarborough's ancient castle ruins, the Norbreck is the only hotel in town which looks out over both the North and South Bays, with breathtaking panoramic sea view. From this peaceful location you can rest in the convivial atmosphere of the bar lounge or in the comfort of the restaurant and savour the scenic sights of golden sands and ocean waters. In the hub of the town itself, lying just ten minutes' away, there is an array of shops and holiday attractions. While a day trip takes you to York or to see the moors, to test your nerves at Flamingo Land or to revisit 'Brideshead' at Castle Howard. There's such a lot to see and do in the area! The hotel does not have a car park. However street parking is available nearby. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Norbreck Hotel

Address: Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: ₹ 5,477 - ₹ 7,220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Norbreck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Norbreck Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Norbreck Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We paid extra for a sea view but I think nearly all the rooms had a sea view so don't waste your money”
723cmc, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother if you want to eat”
ljmjlittle, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Floor 3 for views of bay.”
S628PHrobertg, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“all the rooms have sea veiws but if you pay the bit extra for a sea veiw you will get a bigger room”
johnf858, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All views fine”
marycR6493QS, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5