We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bay Norbreck Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Bay Norbreck Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

368 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bay Norbreck Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 368: English reviews
LINCOLNSHIRE
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I wrote the following review last year in August. We returned the same time this year and again it was pretty much the same,except we looked over the North Bay this time.Our bathroom was a good size and had recently been refurbished. The room was clean and towels changed daily, We stayed for a 3 night weekend in August. We...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank SUE24-8
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

It was lovely to see you return and thanks again for the comments you made. It’s nice you find the hotel homely, we like our guests to feel comfortable and at home when they stay with us. Maybe you won’t wait until next August and we shall see you sooner.

Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2014

My wife and I stopped this bank holiday week - end had a great time weather was hot food good put on 5ibs very good entertainment made lots of new friends won at the bingo,Staff were all great see you soon

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tonet2414
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

It’s so good to hear you had a great Bank Holiday Weekend with us, it makes a change to have some good weather as you can almost guarantee rain when you have an extra day off! The staff were so pleased to read your comments too and we all look forward to seeing you again.

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in a bedroom that seemed like a relic from the past. Old fashioned television which only received a few channels, scruffy decor and a shower that only dribbled water and then was only just Luke warm. Breakfast is only served until 9.00 am even on Sundays so no rest there unless you wanted to forgo breakfast....

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Susie2167
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments and observations about your recent stay. You may have read in past replies we continually refurbish a selection of rooms each year replacing televisions with fully available freeview sets as we go. We are also planned to have the restaurant and reception area refurbished in a few weeks time. Our location...

Solihull
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed in this place as part of a walking group for a long weekend. I had a single room, which was small but it had everything I needed; comfortable bed, plenty of storage, TV, tea and coffee and a roomy ensuite. Our package included room, breakfast and a three course dinner with coffee. The food was more than adequate...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Colette M
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Colette and thanks for your review. Having chatted to some members of your group it was evident that a good time was had by all and you picked a really good weekend for all your walking. I do hope we can welcome you all back in the future maybe I could join you on one of your treks .

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This trip was booked via shearings coach holidays, I was a single lady travelling with a couple. First off I was charged a single room supplement as well as a Sea view supplement even though i didn't ask for a sea view. The Hotel and room was Scruffy and in a general state of disrepair, Food was very disappointing and...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank pingman1958
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your break with us pingman 1958. We are in the process of upgrading our bedrooms and have a selection refurbished each year. Our restaurant and reception area are also going to be refurbished later this year. I will make sure all of your comments are passed on to the team and...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Food was of a poor standard.. Breakfast. tomato never grilled. just half a wet tomato. today 15th august, sausage was raw. Evg. meals. main ingredient seemed to be seemed to be gravy, and more gravy. Thursday 14th. Aug. Meal was disgusting.supposed to be chef's signature meal of chicken and ham pie. cold as was the vegs. Ate a little and...

 Report
Helpful?
12Thank david h
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Hello David h sorry to read you were so disappointed by the food at the hotel. This will be raised with the Chef and kitchen team. Thank you for taking the time to write.

Balquhidder, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Booked this three hours before checking in while between visits to family and friends. Very old fashioned hotel and it was delightful! Reception staff and night doorman were absolutely lovely! Breakfast staff could have done with a little customer service training but all in all it was perfect for what I needed. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RF2012551933
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Hi RF2012551933 and thanks for your review. So good to hear you had a good overnight stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Arrived via Sherrings coach ( lovely driver Kevin ). first impression very nice only downfall was that only one window in room opened other scewed down. apart from that very tidy & clean room Good food nice & hot quickly served by friendly staff Entertainment very good must recommend Joel on Thursday " BRILLIANT "

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Irene W
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

It’s so nice to read your lovely comments Irene and I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay. I have noted the issue with your window and we are looking to get this replaced as soon as we can. Our staff were also very please to read your review and we all hope to see you again soon.

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I have stayed at The Norbreck several times over the years and love the location, the staff are always friendly and helpful and overall it's usually an enjoyable stay The entertainment has always been above the average for similar hotels and this time was no different. The lounge/bar area is lovely but the Restaurant - is most definitely in need...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank smf2109
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review Smf2109 and I am sorry to read some aspects of your holiday were not at our best. We are lucky enough to be having our restaurant refurbished later this year which I agree will improve the overall ambience. I will look into the comments you have raised about the shower in your room and...

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel 21-25 July. We were self drive and booked parking..which i would highly recommend. Room was nice but hot..only tiny window to open,other was screwed shut. Food at evening meal was nothing special..nicest food was summer salad..which i had 3 times.Chole, the barstaff was lovely as was Louise, the manager. Best night was our last night,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank karen p
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Karen great to see you enjoyed your break on our coast, coming from Blackpool it must have been like home from home!. It was great talking to you whilst you were here reminiscing about Leye D Johns brought back some good memories of working in Blackpool myself. Thanks for making your comments about your room, food and our staff,...

155 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (150)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
1.6 km away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#9 of 28 in Scarborough
396 reviews
1.2 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,369 reviews
1.3 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.6 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,237 reviews
26.8 km away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
#14 of 20 in Whitby
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Standing on the headland, near Scarborough's ancient castle ruins, the Norbreck is the only hotel in town which looks out over both the North and South Bays, with breathtaking panoramic sea view. From this peaceful location you can rest in the convivial atmosphere of the bar lounge or in the comfort of the restaurant and savour the scenic sights of golden sands and ocean waters. In the hub of the town itself, lying just ten minutes' away, there is an array of shops and holiday attractions. While a day trip takes you to York or to see the moors, to test your nerves at Flamingo Land or to revisit 'Brideshead' at Castle Howard. There's such a lot to see and do in the area! The hotel does not have a car park. However street parking is available nearby. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Norbreck Hotel

Address: Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: ₹ 5,754 - ₹ 6,337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Norbreck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Norbreck Hotel staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Norbreck Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“because the hotel is on an outcrop you get sea views on both sides.i had no trouble with noise.”
 of 5 bubbles rolyc400, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't pick a room directly above entertainment lounge as can be very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles carandchris1973, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Most rooms have a sea view and has been refurbished ,I saw some friends stayed in and all good 216 had poor water pressure in shower”
 of 5 bubbles usatmattlyn, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure the room is not over the ballroom or disco! Friends were kept awake until 3am.”
 of 5 bubbles A8557HZpatriciah, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We paid £21 each extra for a sea view. Well worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles Chrismar50, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5