We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Glendevon

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidmouth
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Glendevon
View Map
Add a photo
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 45: English reviews
Start your review of Glendevon
 Click to rate
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Lesley and Rod are friendly and accommodating, they went over and above to ensure that my VEGAN needs were met. The breakfast for me could have started earlier as I was on a yoga retreat and the food timings were all out. The accommodation was quiet, warm and clean and the breakfast plentiful. It was easy to park and only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine1971_12
TheSearchersEssexUk, Owner at Glendevon, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review Glendevon and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I would have been more than happy to start breakfast a little earlier for you and I will bear that in mind for future yoga guests. Hope that you will come back to Sidmouth again.

England
Reviewed 1 week ago

I could not fault my stay at this guesthouse. The owners were friendly and helpful, without being intrusive, the room was bigger than expected and very comfortable, the breakfast had a lot of choice and was very well prepared. Parking was easy by the guesthouse and the town is ideal for a long weekend. I stayed as part of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mel27379
TheSearchersEssexUk, Owner at Glendevon, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the fabulous review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your break away to Sidmouth and your stay at our guest house. We hope you will come back again next time you need an unbroken nights sleep :-)

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a very lovely and enjoyable experience staying here. Lesley and Rod were lovely, warm, welcoming and very knowledgeable about the local area. The room was very pleasant and breakfast was great! It is also in a very convenient location for the town centre and for the seaside. I will definitely be booking in again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anupamabasu
TheSearchersEssexUk, Owner at Glendevon, responded to this review

So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and many thanks for leaving such a great review. I hope you didn't wear yourself out with too much yoga as we hope to see you again soon.

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a lovely stay with Lesley and Rod at Glendevon. On our arrival Both Lesley and Rod were there to greet us with warmth and friendliness and a great knowledge on the local area. Our room was beautifully decorated and exceptionally clean. In the mornings we were greeted with an amazing breakfast of great variety and beautifully cooked. Thank you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pjbakerscottage
TheSearchersEssexUk, Owner at Glendevon, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, we are glad that you enjoyed your time in Sidmouth, you should come back to see the parts that you missed. Hope you have been practising your poached eggs :-)

Tavistock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Lovely location- Just a 10 minute walk from the town centre. Lovely owners and the whole place as spotless. The bed was very comfy - We had fresh towels every day which was great. Breakfast was good and plenty of tea and coffee on tap. I am vegan and they did there up most to ensure I had all I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jodiegray2015
TheSearchersEssexUk, Owner at Glendevon, responded to this review

Thanks for your fabulous review. We try to do our best for our guests with specific dietary requirements so I am pleased that we succeeded, I am only sorry that we cannot do anything about the weather.

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017

This is a lovely, clean, nicely decorated property. The hosts are super welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was lovely. It's a very peaceful location just 10mn walk from the centre where everything is. Recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anaphiri
TheSearchersEssexUk, Owner at Glendevon, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Yes this is a the quieter side of Sidmouth, not that anywhere is rowdy :-), a real "get away from it all" Hope you will come back and visit soon.

Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Amazing service from start to finish. Really friendly couple who went out of their way to look after me as a solo traveller. Breakfast was delicious and excellent coffee too! Always happy to go the extra mile including helping to dry my running kit and keeping my water bottles topped up. Will definitely be back soon!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francesca B
TheSearchersEssexUk, Owner at Glendevon, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Yes you must come back, Sidmouth has so much to offer and we would love to see you again.

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 10 December 2016

I arrived at Glendevon through Book Yoga Retreats. When I arrived at the guesthouse, I was in awe of the beautiful building and the surroundings, it felt fantastic to breathe the fresh sea air. Lesley was there to warmly welcome me. While drinking a cup of tea and eating a cake, Lesley told me about Sidmouth and helped me out-...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dieuwertje d
TheSearchersEssexUk, Owner at Glendevon, responded to this review

So pleased that you enjoyed the whole Sidmouth experience, from your stay with us, the Yoga and the beautiful scenery, I hope you went back thoroughly relaxed and rested and will come back for some more of the same. Thank you

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2016

It felt like I was visiting family. Well looked after from the start, Leslie welcomed me with a warm cup of tea and cake! Breakfast every morning was perfect, bed more than comfortable, room nice and cosy :) I was sad I had to leave!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
TheSearchersEssexUk, Owner at Glendevon, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your lovely review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. I do hope you come back again, I know it is quite a distance so you will have to come for longer next time :-)

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016

Leslie and Ron are super welcoming and made my stay a home from home. It's newly decorated, clean, super close to the sea and shops and the breakfast is really fantastic. There's lots to do locally and it's all walking distance and in the quiet part of Sidmouth

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Racheycb
TheSearchersEssexUk, Owner at Glendevon, responded to this review

Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us (despite the rain) and many thanks for taking the time to write the review. Hope to see you again soon.

15 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.5 km away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
778 reviews
0.4 km away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
388 reviews
0.5 km away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.6 km away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
411 reviews
0.8 km away
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in a stylish Victorian house in the heart of Sidmouth, the Glendevon Bed & Breakfast is an ideal base for a quality and affordable stay in East Devon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Glendevon

Address: Cotmaton Road | Near Cheese Lane, Sidmouth EX10 8QX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Hotel Class:4 star — Glendevon 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Glendevon staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
ENGLAND
8 months ago
Bristol, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Glendevon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stayed in room 4, a good size room, with a TV area as well as the usual en suite bedroom facilities.”
 of 5 bubbles mel27379, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“excellent location”
 of 5 bubbles jodiegray2015, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Open the windows to avoid condensation in the winter. Very cosy attic room. Very comfy bed.”
 of 5 bubbles Anaphiri, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Top floor, front room”
 of 5 bubbles suzychomer, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“On street parking with no restrictions on the road outside. A short ten minute walk to the high street or the seafront.”
 of 5 bubbles yg4737, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5