We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

859 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 830: English reviews
london
Reviewed 14 January 2016 via mobile

Economically priced budget hotel. For price paid, acceptable. Complimentary wifi, but need to ask at reception for access code. Correct club Accor status free drink voucher given. Executive Room was clean, pleasant enough, bathroom clean, acceptable toiletries. Room decor had been refurbished, pleasant enough. Overall building is a 60s building with some bits added on. It's functional. Access to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rjn21
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write this detailed review and pleased that you enjoyed the stay. Paul Rodgers General Manager

Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

Well located on the border south of Manchester and at the north of Cheshire. In the pleasant village of Hale and town of Altrincham. Well connected to motorway network and Manchester airport. I mix of old Victorian buildings wish a mish mash of newer extensions. Functional B&b/hotel with functional compact bedrooms with comfy beds. All furnishings and decor are bland...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SOHOTRAVELLER1
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for posting your review of our hotel and feel sure that your detailed comments about our location will be useful to others viewing Tripadvisor. Paul Rodgers General Manager

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2016

We booked this hotel for the night before we went on holiday as we have stayed here before and liked an Indian restaurant in Hale. Had we known the restaurant had closed down before we booked we would have chosen somewhere else. The rooms are very dated, small and scruffy with a funny smell and there isn't a lift. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moonchild484
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that your favoured restaurant close by has closed and regret if the stairs to your room caused you any difficulty or inconvenience but sadly we do not have a lift at this property. Paul Rodgers General Manager

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

It appears that half of the hotel has been updated while the other half remains untouched since the 80's. We changed rooms after seeing our first room but the second room was inviting and clean. On site pool and facilities are clean and refreshing after a long journey. A word to the wise if staying at the hotel before a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Failsafe321
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay, regret you didn't like the first room but pleased we were able to provide a suitable alternative. Sorry if the absence of a lift caused any difficulty or inconvenience. Paul Rodgers General Manager

manchester
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

This was our 2nd choice, would not do nye here again, service was quite poor, one person covering the bar!! Waited far too long to get served, sat at dinner table and waited ages again for drink service asked for jug of water on 3 occasions, slow to bring it to table and never brought glasses for the water, food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ae4huntsham
gmbowdon, Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Very concerned to learn of your disappointment particularly after so many positive comments about our New Year Event in the restaurant. I accept that at one point bar service was difficult due to the large volume of people but once the function guests had moved to their suit the issue was quickly resolved but there is no excuse for the...

Reviewed 28 December 2015 via mobile

Good points: cleanliness of the room...but nothing else! Bad Points: - worst hotel breakfast had in a long time. My work takes me to all sort of cheap hotel and this has been by far the most dreadful breakfast experience in years. Greasy English breakfast, bacon swimming in grease, scrambled eggs probably fresh the week before. Tea bags, surprisingly Twinings...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alessandro M
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 December 2015

For some reason all the hotels in Manchester City Centre were crazy prices on the weekend we wanted to stay so we used this as an alternative. A 5 min walk through lovely Hale from Hale Station and a 10 min walk to Altrincham tram then 25 mins into town. For what we needed, as a stop over for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pand18
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2015

This could be good, but it is all rather tired looking. Overly priced for the standard, with an uninspiring breakfast, although the staff were friendly. Tried to have a pint of bitter, and the only thing on offer was one rather uninteresting standard beer. No bottles at all other than lagers. Decided on the look of it not to eat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul U
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear that you did not find your stay to be value for money but have to say that demand often dictates price and believe we sit in the middle bracket of hotels in this area. Product range on the bar is driven by demand but have noted your comments and will investigate options with a local brewery to...

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2015

We had a room on the ground floor and the walls were paperthin so you hear everything from the bar area and corridor leading to the stairwell. It is dated and run down. They currently have a huge issue with the keycards accessing rooms with lots of residents complaining about being unable to access the room. At one point one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Annie W
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and regret you have found cause to write but believe we have communicated outside of this channel. Paul Rodgers General Manager

Kent
Reviewed 14 December 2015 via mobile

We booked a 2 night stay with TravelRepublic without breakfast. It's in a nice leafy area in Hale, 3 min. walk from station. We asked for a quiet room and got an upgrade to the Tatton room which, although in the basement was very spacious with a nice bathroom, table and armchairs and a very comfortable King size bed. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jwhayt
gmbowdon, General Manager at Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post this review which on the whole appears that the stay was good. Should there be conditioner yes so sorry that was not the case, additional hangers are readily available and hope that you requested more from housekeeping, should there be a loo brush no very unhygienic. Thanks for the 10 out of 10...

147 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (125)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altrincham
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Manchester Altrincham Cresta Court Hotel
1.7 km away
Premier Inn Manchester Altrincham Hotel
3.3 km away
Altrincham Lodge
Altrincham Lodge
#5 of 6 in Altrincham
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
3.9 km away
Manchester Airport Marriott Hotel
6.7 km away
The Airport Inn Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel is ideally located for both commerce and leisure in Manchester City Centre and South Manchester including Trafford Park, Sale, Wilmslow and Knutsford. Conveniently close to the M56 and M6 motorways and Manchester International Airport. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Interactive TV (Internet access, PlayStation, Exclusive Movies), hairdryer, trouser press, direct dial telephone, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel

Address: Langham Road, Altrincham, Trafford WA14 2HT, England (Formerly Bowdon Hotel Altrincham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford > Altrincham
Price Range: ₹ 4,516 - ₹ 7,200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR and Orbitz so you can book your Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Altrincham Bowdon Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The steps up to the reception are very step but there is a ramp not clearly indicated and sadly the outer door is not always open .”
 of 5 bubbles Chris91_11, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the first floor. Second floor rooms are in the eaves and cramped.”
  • room in the eaves did not feel spacious
  • Bathroom looked OK but shower leaked water everywhere
 of 5 bubbles NeilRBBath, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the Langhan or Langham suite downstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles mackem1971, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We were on Front of Hotel. No views just overlooking the road and car park.”
 of 5 bubbles Jude642014, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I'm not sure that there is a good tip I could give you. Best Of Luck.”
 of 5 bubbles BrianBeck, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5