We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Four Sevens Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colchester
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Four Sevens Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 82: English reviews
Start your review of Four Sevens Guest House
 Click to rate
Plumstead, London
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night but wish it was for more. The hosts could not have done more to make our stay more enjoyable. They were friendly, welcoming and very accommodating we felt really at home. Our room was bright, spacious, modern and well equipped with tea/coffee facilities. A huge variety of cereal was offered, cooked breakfast, fresh home...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank londonbred
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review.

Bracknell, United Kingdom
INNKEEPER’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 23 June 2016

I stayed here a year ago and was more than happy to use it again. Lovely clean rooms, a friendly welcome and a very impressive breakfast spread. Extremely good value for money and much better than many hotels I have stayed in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FatClone
About Innkeeper's Favourite Review
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind words.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

We used this as a base for touring about as we were staying for 5 nights. Good location if visiting Lovejoy country as we were. Really nice place with a welcoming host. Room was nice. We stayed on the top floor which was ideal. Really quite location about 10 minutes walk into town. Price was good at £75.00 a night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghChaz
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very kind words.

Reviewed 24 August 2016

Stayed here for a couple of nights on a work trip and found the accommodation to be excellent. The room was of a great size and spotless, showers were excellent and the bed was super comfortable. The breakfast spread was very generous and the host Calypso has a huge heart and was a fantastic host. I will definitely be using...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikos S
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your kind words.

Reviewed 21 August 2016

I confirm what others already told you about, I was impressed with the bed, no problem with sleeping, four pillows, quality bed at best, quiet, but it depends also by other guests around ! (Noisy or not) The landlady Calipso is very gentle, intelligent and knows how to deal with customers requests.The room was fully equipped , breakfast was satisfying,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EnricoCE
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your kind words.

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

We had a one night unexpected stay and was delighted with the service that we had as soon as we stepped in the door! The place was spotlessly clean, the lady who runs it Calypso is very friendly and makes a perfect English Breakfast. She is always happy to help. Overall great stay and if a unexpected trip occurs again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lexyprincess
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 May 2016

Good location. Not far from town & in a quiet street. Fantastic bright and airy room with really good bed, furniture and en suite bathroom. Calypso, (the owner) is really polite, good company and gave me a quality breakfast. Would recomend this B&B at any time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _nickbrealey212
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review.

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2016

I spent 4 nights here and have no complaints at all. The lady who runs it is very nice and friendly. Breakfast is very nice and filling. The room was clean and tidy so too was the bathroom. The area is also nice and quiet with plenty of parking available. Only a short distance from the town centre so there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John A
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind review and for using our B&B.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

This really is the best b&b we'v stayed in . Me and my colleague had got a contract to do the ceramic tiling on the new premier inn in Colchester and needed somewhere relatively cheap and clean to stay . At £65 a night for a twin this was about the best price we could find and the reviews looked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank philsheffceramics
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this review

I also like to say a big thank you for this wonderful review of the Four Sevens .

Reviewed 11 October 2015

A large airy bedroom with ensuite shower, spotlessly clean with free wifi and tv, plus tea/coffee making stuff. Well situated in a quiet street with parking available. A fabulous English breakfast of generous proportions and wonderful coffee. All this topped off by a warm and friendly welcome. A good find.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spenser0
Mufflon1, Owner at Four Sevens Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review of our accommodation.

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colchester hotels
1.0 km away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#10 of 24 in Colchester
239 reviews
8.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
2.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel
1.1 km away
Brook Red Lion Hotel
Brook Red Lion Hotel
#17 of 24 in Colchester
363 reviews
1.5 km away
GreyFriars
GreyFriars
#4 of 24 in Colchester
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Four Sevens Guesthouse is a very large and spacious Victorian house which has only just recently undergone a full refurbishment of all its rooms and facilities. The Four Sevens Guesthouse is situated in a quiet location within a few minutes stroll from the centre of town. We are also a short bus ride away from both railway stations and the University of Essex and a few minutes walk from Colchester Study Centre and the Colchester InstituteThe large airy and bright rooms have been modernised to a very high standard. They are equipped with:• Hospitality trays• LCD TVs with freeview/sky and DVD players.• Free Wi Fi access. Warm and friendly reception and generous breakfasts. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Four Sevens Guest House

Address: 28 Inglis Road, Colchester CO3 3HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Four Sevens Guest House Colchester, Essex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Four Sevens Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are nice!”
 of 5 bubbles FatClone, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Choose an en suite.”
 of 5 bubbles Spenser0, 10 Oct 2015 | Read review
“All the rooms look nice.”
 of 5 bubbles FatClone, 26 Jul 2015 | Read review
“rooms have both en-suite or with shared bathroom. Either are perfectly suitable, it just depends on your budget I guess”
 of 5 bubbles RickP234, 19 Feb 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are upstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles 728Mary2013, 8 Sep 2014 | Read review
5 of 5