We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The William Cecil at Stamford

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The William Cecil at Stamford
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

642 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 639: English reviews
Start your review of The William Cecil at Stamford
 Click to rate
crowthorne, berkshire
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

My husband and I spent one night here for a birthday treat and we were made to feel very welcome. We were upgraded to a luxury room, the bar had a lovely cosy atmosphere. I cannot fault the food both evening meal and breakfast and the staff were very professional . Will definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank leacha1
Peter B, General Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

Dear Leacha, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your birthday treat. I am delighted that you enjoyed our Hospitality and I will pass on your comments to the entire team. If you are looking for another special get-away in the near future we have a beautiful property, The Master Builder's, located on Beaulieu River in the New Forest which...

Holbeach, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We spent 12 months planning our wedding at the William Cecil, at all stages the staff were helpful, very friendly and always approachable. the day before and on the day all the staff couldn't do enough to help, they all asked questions so everything went smoothly. On the day everything went well, tables were laid out as we requested, all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adbritton114
Peter B, General Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and it was entirely our pleasure hosting your special occasion. I am thrilled that the entire team made such a great impression and thank you for recommending our venue to others. Congratulations to both of you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Kind Regards Peter Brighouse

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Unfortunately we arrived full of cold. The room was lovely enough to hang out in to gather the energy to face the town. Room was ready quickly and dogs were fussed over appropriately by staff. (This is definitely dog friendly not 'dog tolerant') Nice touches to the room - good standard of coffee, tea and a spacious room complete with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James M
Peter B, General Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

Dear James, Thank you for you lovely review - I am delighted that you and your doggy enjoyed your recent visit at both our properties in Stamford. I apologise that your pet did not receive their doggy treats - I understand how frustrating this is when it is advertised! We always keep spare treats at Reception for any guests who...

Atherstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a one-nighter to celebrate seven years of perfect love. (well, we are both into our seventies and with a few too many divorces between us, to be that fussy) So! talking of perfect love, what could be a more perfect place to be on such an occasion. Everybody bangs on about the service, the food, the room etc...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bardoniii
Peter B, General Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words & thank you for choosing our hotel for your romantic get-away! The entire team (including Cecil our resident cat) will be delighted that they all made such a fantastic impression on you. Please do visit us again soon. Warm Regards Peter Brighouse

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked a twin room and arrived 8pm. There was a confusion and the room was set as double not twins so they asked us to go to the bar while they sorted it out. We got a table at the restaurant and although we were the only table the service was very slow having to call out for drinks....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
Peter B, Front Office Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

Dear Alex, Many thanks for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience. I apologise that you experienced difficulties when checking in and I appreciate your patience whilst we resolved this issue. I am pleased to read that you found our staff friendly and I can only apologise for the delay in service at both the bar and...

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely old hotel on the edge of Burghley Park. Nice rooms and good breakfasts. Helpful staff, seems good for business meetings too. On the edge of Stamford, beautiful old town, close to Rutland Water.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
Peter B, General Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

Dear Chris, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you took full advantage of our location on Burghley Estate - I hope you found the path through our gardens to the kissing gate directly onto Burghley Park? I will pass on your lovely comments to the entire team and we look...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We held our wedding here on 29th January . I must say the way it was handled by the team was brilliant , we felt confident and totally relaxed . The accommodation ,food and organisation was superb. An absolutely brilliant day made easy and very special for us by Rob ,Amy and team at the William Cecil . Thoroughly recommended...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd N
Peter B, General Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

Dear Lloyd, Thank you for choosing the William Cecil to celebrate your wedding with us it was a pleasure looking after you and your guests. Amy, Rob and the entire team will be thrilled that they made your day so memorable. Once again, congratulations to you both and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future....

Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed last night for a belated works Christmas Do. Excellent hotel, my room - the Cecil - was tastefully decorated with a luxurious feel, the bed was really comfy and I could have stayed under that duvet for days! Facilities good in the room, and nice complimentary White Stuff toiletries. Choice of shower or bath, which was an added luxury....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank louisewest294
Peter B, General Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

Dear Louise, Thank you for your kind words, we are all thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay with us. Room 20 is one of our most popular luxury rooms in the hotel and is my personal favourite due to its quiet location and its amazing roll top bath. Hopefully, on your next visit you will also have the...

Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

We've stayed at the William Cecil several times previously and this visit didn't disappoint. It's comfortable,friendly and efficient. The food is delicious and beautifully presented. Location is good. The centre of Stamford is a short walk. We stayed in room 21 - lovely and quiet facing the back of the hotel. Rooms at the front do tend to be noisier....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzie490
Peter B, General Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

Dear Suzie, Many thanks for taking the time to leave us your fantastic feedback. Room 21 is a firm favourite with lots of our guests due to its quiet location at the rear of the hotel. As you quite rightly point out, it is up a narrow stair case and we do inform all our guests on booking of all...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

We booked into the hotel through a concierge service for dog friendly places. We were not to be disappointed. At check in our dog's name was confirmed and he was welcomed as well as we were. Everyone in all parts of the hotel was very friendly. Our bedroom, we were upgraded, was quirky and comfortable. Even a bed and bowls...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
Peter B, General Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

Dear Ian, Thank you for your wonderful review.I am pleased that the whole family, including doggy, had such a great experience. I will pass on your comments to the team who will be thrilled to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We do have a menu for our four legged friends too which I hope you took full...

185 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stamford
0.4 km away
The George Of Stamford
0.2 km away
The Bull & Swan
The Bull & Swan
#4 of 8 in Stamford
306 reviews
0.7 km away
The Crown Hotel Stamford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 km away
Barnsdale Lodge Hotel and Restaurant
13.1 km away
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
Barnsdale Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Barnsdale
793 reviews
13.0 km away
Hambleton Hall
Hambleton Hall
#1 of 1 in Hambleton
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The William Cecil at Stamford

Address: St Martins, Stamford PE9 2LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Price Range: ₹ 7,977 - ₹ 13,474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The William Cecil at Stamford 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The William Cecil at Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The William Cecil At Stamford Hotel Stamford
The William Cecil At Stamford England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The William Cecil at Stamford staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Douglas, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The William Cecil at Stamford staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“some only have baths and no shower, if you have a preference check with the staff when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles adbritton114, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Lots of stairs so say if you have mobility problems; rooms on the south are quieter but its not oneously noisy at the front.”
 of 5 bubbles louisewest294, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs room in The Lodge needs attention”
 of 5 bubbles StripedShirt, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 20 was large and light.”
 of 5 bubbles dj188, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms vary in size, shape and quirkiness! Also re noise. What a relative found irritating I found interesting. Ours lovely, and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles janetmferry, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5