We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Mount Somerset Hotel

TripAdvisorUS$ 205*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 205*
Great Deal
US$ 208*
US$ 208*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Mount Somerset Hotel
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

658 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 652: English reviews
Start your review of The Mount Somerset Hotel
 Click to rate
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Excellent meal and service. Restaurant was full due to a conference but they set us up with a special table as my husband is in a wheelchair and the normal tables in the lounge were too low for him. At the end of the meal gave us special anniversary chocolates. Excellent service from the lady waiting on us and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonia G
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

My husband and I came here for a weekend stay to celebrate my birthday and it couldn't have been a more perfect place to stay. From the moment we arrived the staff were welcoming, friendly, polite and cheerful and did everything possible to ensure that we had a relaxing time. The hotel is beautiful and the gardens are lovely to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benitajo
Lancing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room was amazing ,clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed the spa amenities and the restraunt was lovely . The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much for them . We only stayed the one night for air anniversary and the kitchen staff added a lovely touch to our meal with a chocolate anniversary wish and homemade chocolates....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Helen M, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, it's great to read that you enjoyed your anniversary with us. We will pass your comments onto the teams and also the Chef for his Anniversary plate that he made for you. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind Regards

Somerset, UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

A lovely experience - treated by a dear friend, and accompanied by 3 other dear friends, wonderful service - such friendly and helpful staff from reception to waiting staff. Table overlooking the beautiful grounds - it was raining when we were there, but another time would love to walk round - I gather it is encouraged - nothing as too...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bellfamily44
MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bellfamily44, Many thanks for your kind review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. The teams will be happy to hear that they made you feel so welcome and looked after you well. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked the Mount for a romantic weekend away with the purpose of really treating ourselves with the spa and the food and drink. What a disappointment it turned out to be!! I feel like I may forget some of the problems so I will try and list them now: 1) When we arrived there was only one woman working...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte L
MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charlotte L, Thank you for taking the time to review you stay with us, we value all feedback and it is very disappointing to read that you found so many points not up to your expectations during your stay with us and we thank you for going into such detail with your feedback. We would be delighted to discuss...

Gloucestershire
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just a lovely deluxe night away for a wedding anniversary celebration. The hotel is in a super position very quiet and with nice grounds. The welcome and the staff all as good as you would expect from this great hotel. The room was spacious, clean and nicely decorated with added touches of biscuits sweets, fruit fresh and dried, also a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bluekupkake
MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bluekupkake, Many thanks for writing your kind review, it’s wonderful to read that you enjoyed your Wedding Anniversary with us recently. The staff will be happy to hear that they made you feel so welcome and that you appreciate the details in our offering. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Kind Regards

Herefordshire
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lovely anniversary stay here. We booked a room with a private hot tub and it was definitely worth it! Having also organised some champagne and chocolates it was a great place for a bit of indulgence..... The room was a comfortable size, on a sunny day having the outside space meant we could sit outside comfortably. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Treetime4
MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Treetime4, Thank you very much for writing your review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your Hot Tub room they certainly are popular and a great addition to a night away. Thank you for your comments on how you feel we can improve, the overflow car park is a little further away but in the future feel...

Stewkley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our friends purchased a voucher for afternoon tea for us and we were very disappointed with the quality of the food. The small sandwiches were very mediocre and the bread was fairly dry. We could have had tea outside but as it was very hot we sat inside unfortunately we had to eat from a coffee table very unsatisfactory. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy C
MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dorothy C, Many thanks for taking the time to review your Afternoon Tea with us. We are sorry to read that you did not find the quality of the food to your standard yet it is nice to read that none the less you still took the cakes that you did not manage to finish from the small amount...

Feneyrols, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fabulous accommodation, wonderful service and very good food, at last a restaurant of quality complemented by original canapes and great attention. Also enjoyed the inclusive spa services and treated ourselves to luxurious pedicures.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edward B
MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Edward B, Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to the Hotel, we are happy to read that you enjoyed everything during your stay, the team will be happy to hear that you found everything to your liking. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards

Wareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

WOW! Where do I start? We arrived Saturday 6th May to celebrate our first wedding anniversary, Greeted by a lovely receptionist, checked in and was shown to our Spacious Deluxe room! We went downstairs in the lounge for cream tea. Home made Scones (x4) and a lovely pot of tea! Lot's of friendly staff asking if everything was OK. Back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Downesy23
MountManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Downesy23, Thank you very much for such a kind review, we are delighted to read that the hotel, staff and all we have to offer made your stay so enjoyable. The chef will be happy to read that you enjoyed the food and the other teams will be glad to know their efforts were certainly not wasted know you...

530 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (143)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (69)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (350)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Barrington (41)
Viewed
Corfe (39)
Viewed
Donyatt (43)
Viewed
Durston (35)
Viewed
Langport (31)
Viewed
Pitminster (37)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taunton
4.9 km away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
626 reviews
3.9 km away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
14.4 km away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
375 reviews
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
31.4 km away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Mount Restaurant
The Mount Restaurant
Cuisines: British, European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mount Somerset Hotel and Spa in Taunton, Somerset is a stunning Regency country house hotel, set in four acres of beautiful grounds. This grand dame of a building sits high upon her mount, cradled in between the Quantock and Blackdown Hills, affording guests some of the best views in Somerset. With its high ceilings, sweeping spiral staircase, opulent decor and a feeling of gentle elegance and luxury, The Mount Somerset has all the characteristics of a quintessential English Regency mansion. Well established as one of the finest luxury hotels and restaurants in the region, The Mount Somerset has won a host of awards including two AA Rosettes for outstanding cuisine and four AA stars for comfort and hospitality, making it the perfect venue for a dinner, a weekend away or a wedding in Somerset. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Mount Somerset Hotel

Address: Lower Henlade, Taunton TA3 5NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Price Range: ₹ 9,573 - ₹ 22,338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mount Somerset Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, HRS, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Mount Somerset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Somerset Hotel
Mount Somerset Taunton
The Mount Somerset Hotel Taunton
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Taunton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Taunton
#7 Business Hotel in Taunton
#8 Family Hotel in Taunton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Mount Somerset Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Mount Somerset Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a de luxe room and it was lovely”
V3581EShelenm, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Can recommend a room with private hot tub”
Treetime4, 11 May 2017 | Read review
“Premium suite was lovely, huge bathroom!”
712annabelb, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with the outside hot tubs are lovely and quiet, private and with great view over the gardens.”
JuanitaHS, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Not sure it really matters - there are simple rooms right up to 4 posters.”
harpersimon, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$ 205* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 208
HRS.comUS$ 208
Agoda.comUS$ 205
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates