We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

B&B at The Winchester Arms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
B&B at The Winchester Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 121: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

£100 plus dinner for 6 people. Only one of the main courses was good the rest were mediocre to poor (overcooked burgers and duck breast, greasy fried fish and tasteless speciality fish dish). Shame as nice venue and friendly staff/service but let down hugely by the poor quality of the food. .

Thank Hugh L
Patrick M, Owner at B&B at The Winchester Arms, responded to this review

I am really concerned by this review. I have checked through our records and the only time we have served a table with anything approaching this selection of meals was on 27th December and the customers concerned left a £21 tip. It is a policy that we regularly check back with our customers during their meals to ensure that everything...

Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at the Winchester during the scorching summer while our son was taking part in the cricket festival at kings. Patrick and Wendy were absolute excellent hosts. Wendy's cooking is amazing. Her breakfast sets you up for the day and then some. They are/we're happy to cater for our choices of meals and any queries...

Thank Steph S
Orpington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

We have been staying at the Winchester Arms for the last 6 years. It has recently changed ownership and I have to applaud Patrick, Wendy and the team for maintaining the same high standards. Wendy has been working at the Winch for many years as a chef and the food remains delicious with plentiful portions. The breakfast sets you up...

Thank Heather S
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

After being greeted by a very grumpy manager who we had woken up as we didn't realise about the strict check in they have, we were shown to a room you could hardly stand up in. Didn't get an apology and Not enjoyable at all and if I had been on my own I wouldn't have stayed. Plus side the...

3Thank Lizzy W
Patrick M, Owner at B&B at The Winchester Arms, responded to this review

I am sorry that when you booked your room through Late Rooms that you failed to read the clearly displayed details of check ins which state that we can only guarantee that staff will be available to welcome guests during the pub opening hours. Check in is between 1pm and 3pm and then from 6:30pm onwards. When you woke me...

Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend with a friend to chill and get away from hustle and bustle of family life and jobs and it was the perfect little pub and a quaint little villlage , every one was polite and landlord and staff very helpful and welcoming, food was superb and tasty we will definitely be back

Thank Iona L
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016

all good here, check in was great, pleasant, dinner for 6 was great, cask beers good, nice range, tried them all, breakfast good all fresh cooked, check out all good , great value rooms, all you need included

Thank robv12
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016

We were a party of seven and had a meal Friday evening. The food was great and the hosts very welcoming. My two sons stayed for that night and were very comfortable, they loved the full English breakfast. Very nice country pub.

Thank Jennie D
Reviewed 3 October 2016

The welcome was hectic but I expected that as the pub had just opened - I booked breakfast for 9.30 the following morning (2nd October) and was given the key to room 6. The main purpose of staying here was because we are moving and needed a clean comfortable place to stay over the weekend. We were booked to go...

1Thank hilaryswesties
Patrick M, Owner at B&B at The Winchester Arms, responded to this review

I am sorry you have felt the need to leave us such an awful review because as you can see we have had other feedback/reviews which don't agree with you view! I do agree the room does need some updating as it has been commented upon in previous reviews and this is planned for the winter in a whole schedule...

Reviewed 2 October 2016

We endorse the positive reviews. Staying 1/2 a mile away at Kibbear Barn, as a family of 6 plus baby. It was recommended for our Friday nosh night, age range of us mid 20's-70's, and all agreed we liked it a lot. As we could walk we had plentiful wine and beer (Proper Job) with our steaks, chicken, lamb chops,...

Thank JohnHove
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Room was good as was breakfast and the evening me we had. Lovely country walk nearby. If you have a Garmin sat nav be careful as we were taken down miles of single track road when there was a much shorter and easier route. Great value inn though and worth the journey.

Thank Shirley C

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (11)
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taunton hotels
2.4 km away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
356 reviews
8.5 km away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
4.5 km away
Premier Inn Taunton East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
596 reviews
4.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
2.3 km away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#13 of 17 in Taunton
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about B&B at The Winchester Arms

Address: Church Road, Trull, Taunton TA3 7LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Price Range: ₹ 4,096 - ₹ 4,915 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your B&B at The Winchester Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Winchester Arms Public House Hotel Taunton
B&B At The Winchester Arms Taunton, Somerset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from B&B at The Winchester Arms staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from B&B at The Winchester Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All are good as this is a lovely quiet location”
 of 5 bubbles Goldiehawn, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay here just had a meal.”
 of 5 bubbles Y8498EHjenniferh, 5 Jun 2016 | Read review
“room 6 is downstairs so no stairs to climb”
 of 5 bubbles oldmanoftheroad, 23 Apr 2016 | Read review
“room 6 has it's own separate entrance - and away from the bar area”
 of 5 bubbles 118MikeS118, 26 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All rooms were good.”
 of 5 bubbles 316danny, 31 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay