Novotel Stevenage

Novotel Stevenage

Loved the bar, great style and love the wallpaper!!!!
Traveller (183)
Premium Superior Bedroom
Room & Suite (93)
Dining (40)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#6 of 10 hotels in Stevenage
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Novotel Stevenage is an ideal base for exploring Stevenage and Hertfordshire. The 4-star hotel is conveniently located just off Junction 7 of the A1 (M) and is set among the tranquil grounds of Knebworth House. Ideal for both leisure and business guests. Away from the hotel, guests can enjoy a day out at nearby tourist attractions, including Hatfield House, Warner Bros. Studio Tour & Paradise Wildlife Park. The hotels restaurant and Lounge serves a selection of local and international cuisines daily until 10pm. Novotel Stevenage is an ideal base for exploring Stevenage and Hertfordshire. London King's Cross station is just 25 min by train and Luton Airport is 16 miles away. Parking is Free but you do need to register at reception on the Parking Eye screen if you / your guests stay 10mins or more.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Kids club
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Accor Hotels.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Knebworth Park, Stevenage SG1 2AX England
994Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 263
  • 330
  • 217
  • 88
  • 96
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
o_ciit wrote a review Jan 2020
Rome, Italy
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent the Eve and the night at the hotel. The dinner was pretty good and the music very enjoyable thanks to the DJ that was friendly and ready to put music we required. Pretty nice the room too but the automatic ventilation connected with the air condition is noisy so we had to turn off during the night
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from FairviewHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Stevenage
Responded 16 Feb 2020
Thank you for reviewing Novotel Stevenage. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us for New years eve We do hope you choose to stay with us on your next visit to Stevenage
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kate Tague wrote a review Jul 2021
Newport, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been really impressed with everything at the hotel, air conditioning, fridge, iron, ironing board, comfy bed, spacious room, cleanliness… but we chose this hotel over other nearby hotels because of the in-house bar which is advertised as 24 hour and isn’t. Arrived back from a day out at 2pm on a Saturday and the bar is currently closed. Stopped a staff member in the hall to ask when it’s reopening and she didn’t know. Really disappointing, we are now going to have to drive out which means one of us is on the soft drinks. Sounds petty but when that was what you wanted from your weekend stay it is actually really annoying.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VickiAngel85 wrote a review Aug 2020
Rotherham, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here so that we could visit grandparents in Stevenage safety. It’s in the perfect location and you cannot hear the motorway from where the hotel is positioned unless you have the window open. Air con is available in the room so it’s ok.

The room was clean and tidy. It follows the covid secure guidelines. Our tea and coffee facilities were handed over at reception. We had a shower, no bath. Some areas looked a bit worn in the room and coffee splatters or something were on left on the wall but it wasn’t off putting. Bedding etc was clean and fresh.

Breakfast was disappointing and even though we were able to select things for our ‘grab bag’ nothing that we actually ordered was in there. For example we ordered orange juice and we were given apple juice. We asked for cereal but we got porridge.

Check out was quick and easy. A pleasant stay was had.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Responded 21 Oct 2020
Dear Vicki Thank you for your review we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us Kind regards Reception
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sexagenarian wrote a review Sept 2020
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Our initial impression of this hotel started with the cigarette ends littering the entrance (see picture) and over 2 days sank even lower. The only part of the stay that was anywhere near acceptable was the hard work of the few staff that were in attendance.

The main difference between a 1 star and 4 star hotel is the facilities available and the level of service you can expect. Under the guise of "COVID 19 measures" it seems that someone in the corporate hierarchy has decided to reduce the facilities here to a level below what is acceptable in a 1 star hotel without reducing their prices. I assume there will be a bonus for increased profits.

Housekeeping has been abandoned. There is no restaurant or bar and any meals are "take away". "Take away" in this case means "what is the minimum we can provide in a box without actually making the guests physically sick". If the closed restaurant and bar were justified we would probably have accepted it but pubs and restaurants around the Novotel are open and able to provide acceptable levels of distancing and service.

All in all an unpleasant stay in a -1 star hotel at 4 star prices
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Responded 21 Oct 2020
Dear Sexagenarian Thank you for your review We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay Unfortunately we have less staff and facilities available at this time as per our Covid-19 protocols Our main aim to provide a safe environment. Kind regards Reception
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
smithtdg22 wrote a review Feb 2020
Royston, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my friend stayed here in February. We booked a queen size bed and a sofa bed. We had to asked to move rooms because there was no sofa bed in our room. The second room had no bedding on the sofa bed either and the phone to reception did not work.

The breakfast was terrible. Pressure sold into booking it the day before due to a drastic price increase when booking the same day. Which is potentially breaking the Consumer Protection from Unfair Trading Regulations 2008. The hot food breakfast was greasy, tasteless and wholly inadequate. The continental was bland and tasteless.

I will not be staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , General Manager at Novotel Stevenage
Responded 19 Feb 2020
Thank you for reviewing the Novotel Stevenage We are sorry to hear that the hotel did not meet your expectation. We have raised your comments with the team and it is our hope that you will give the hotel opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rachaeltimms wrote a review Aug 2021
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a night here 12 weeks ago. On the day of the booking we called the hotel at midday confirming everything was ok and explaining we would be checking in at 11 pm as we would be coming straight from a wedding. At 8 pm the hotel disturbed our celebrations to ask ‘do you still want your room?’ Errrr yes, I think we do considering we booked it 12 weeks in advance and called you 8 hours ago to confirm exactly that. On arrival, we were told by the receptionist that they had to ‘move some rooms around’ cause they were ‘fully booked’. The receptionist explained that booking with the hotel doesn’t actually guarantee a room and they had already ‘turned other people away who had bookings’. Ok, makes sense, seems like a really good system. You book a room but it doesn’t mean you’ve actually booked a room. He then attempted to charge us £13 more than the agreed price. No clear reason why. Fortunately I had the foresight to ask the hotel to send me a confirmation of my booking and the price at the time of the booking that isn’t a booking. The room itself smelt like an ashtray and featured questionable stains! The pillow I was given was so flat that I contemplated replacing it with a sheet of the 1 ply toilet roll from the bathroom. I got approximately 3 hours sleep because of the luxury pillow and the constant noise from the open window. I assume the staff had opened it because they too could smell the stagnant aroma of 20 Lambert & Butlers. Alongside this, the cacophony of creaky doors opening and closing was an acoustic treat to my tired ears. As for the breakfast, I believe there is more nutritional value in the aforementioned 20 Lambert and Butlers, and more flavour in the no expense spared pillow. In summary, book here if you don’t want to book here or get any semblance of sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Responded 16 Aug 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete a survey following your past stay at Novotel Stevenage At Novotel Stevenage we all take great pride in providing our guests with the highest standards of service, therefore I am very sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion; please allow me to express my sincere apologies. Your feedback is very important to us and I wish to assure you that we take all comments seriously and we will address these issues accordingly. Although we may not always enjoy receiving negative feedback, it certainly allows us to continuously review the services we provide and help us to concentrate our training efforts where needed to build the confidence and skills of our colleagues. The feedback that you have left has been passed on to the General Manager & Housekeeping. Once again, please accept my sincere apologies and we hope to have the opportunity of warmly welcome you again to Novotel Stevenage in the near future. Sincerely, Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shark Egg Hunter wrote a review Mar 2022
Pembroke, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was clean and spacious, however the shower had weird white stains all over the walls with a strong unpleasant odour in that room of mouldy cheese and sick. I ended up buying a bottle of bleach to pour down the plug holes and sprayed half a bottle of perfume in the room to remove/cover the smell.
The bed was uncomfortable. I liked the fact there was a fridge in the room as I could make my own breakfast (overnight oats) and store my lunch for the next day in there.
Food choices at the on-site restaurant were limited so ended up either eating out or ordering food in.
The reason I continued to stay here was because it was close to my place of work. Wouldn’t stay here for leisure.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mae 💜 wrote a review Apr 2021
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my partner have been to several hotels over the months as we are NHS workers and locum in different areas. We stayed here the last two weeks for a few days at a time. Honestly, this hotel puts so many others to shame with their remarkably high standards during the COVID-19 pandemic. It is honestly faultless and dealt with so professionally. Everything is sanitised down to the pen you use when filling out forms on arrival, temperatures taken. Then you are asked for proof of scanning in to Track and Trace which my partner works for. They are honestly going above and beyond to comply with the government guidelines and we are so thankful.

The rooms are spotless, bedding fresh and clean. We had fantastic nights sleep and enjoyed all the facilities on offer in the room.

Staff cannot do enough for you at this hotel and are just brilliant.

We look forward to returning soon. Please know your hard work is very much appreciated. It has been an absolute pleasure staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
yourhavingalaugh3 wrote a review Sept 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for a couple of nights on a business trip (not for the first time).
The Good: Easy parking and well located for the motorway. The staff I met were all helpful and friendly (not the chefs!). Wifi was good in my room.
The Bad: Short restaurant hours and when I arrived at the bar at exactly 2046 in the evening I was told the kitchen had closed exactly a minute earlier. I asked if there was anything the chef could make / heat that was quick but the response was 'Kitchen is closed'. This lack of flexibility does not encourage me to return despite being a loyal ALL Accor Diamond member.
The Ugly: The Novotel Stevenage is renowned as having the worst mattresses of all the local hotels (which is why most of us use the Holiday Inn, Holiday Inn Express or Premier Inn in Stevenage) BUT my mattress was like a bag of bones. No mattress protector, padding or the like, just a surface like the Alps that for most people would be unacceptable (yup - it WAS unacceptable and I told them so on both days). The telephone in my room did not work (room 305) and the shower flooded out of the cubicle onto the floor after about 2 minutes of running the water - minor issues compared to the mattress.
Summary: a poor hotel that could do with a lick of paint / new carpets (and the sole lift needs a good scrub / deep clean). I cannot comment on the food as alas I was forced to use Just Eat for my evening meal - but the breakfast was bland and just satisfactory. Location is great if you want to just drive off the motorway but if you do not have a car or want to visit anywhere in the town it is not so good. Compared to most Novotel hotels in the UK this is a very tatty and well below average example and when compared to the other chain hotels in the town it ranks poorly.
Sorry guys but this is a shabby / poor hotel and I am sure the hotel management staff know it!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: September 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Responded 28 Sept 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete a survey following your past stay at Novotel Stevenage At Novotel Stevenage we all take great pride in providing our guests with the highest standards of service, therefore I am very sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion; please allow me to express my sincere apologies. Your feedback is very important to us and I wish to assure you that we take all comments seriously and we will address these issues accordingly. Although we may not always enjoy receiving negative feedback, it certainly allows us to continuously review the services we provide and help us to concentrate our training efforts where needed to build the confidence and skills of our colleagues. The feedback that you have left has been passed on to the General Manager & Housekeeping. Once again, please accept my sincere apologies and we hope to have the opportunity of warmly welcome you again to Novotel Stevenage in the near future. Sincerely, Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
meganevans6376 wrote a review Aug 2021
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 2 night Wednesday 25th August, Room was okay, not as bad as we expected with regards to the recent reviews.
Shout out to Robert at reception who went above & beyond before we even arrived, he was super friendly, helpful & accommodating. Also a lovely young girl who was the bartender, waitress, bit of everything all in one who was doing everything and super rushed off her feet. These staff made our stay, unlike the two other ladies on reception who were super rude, miserable & grumpy!
We checked out the menu online before hand so decided to have food at the hotel on our first night, it was very disappointing, non of the food was homemade & was not very nice at all, seemed as though they were microwave meals, not the menu advertised on the website and no children’s menu.
We travelled as two families, and they paid £15 for a Chicago town pizza!!! Even staff admitted it was from the shop, that is shocking. Don’t advertise at this price for something that is not there. Was a serious disappointment after being in central london the same day and paying £10 for an outstanding Italian pizza. We just had no words, and there was no managers present to complain. The lovely lady behind the bar was very apologetic even though it was not her fault, and was sorry she didn’t have the authority to deduct the bill.
Play area out of use which was one of reasons we went for this hotel, no note to say & no reasoning why.
Not enough tea/coffee/milk toilet roll etc if staying for more than one night, and having to constant ask rude receptionists was not nice (except Robert who was outstanding)
The rooms are dated and could do with some tlc. But for The price the room was good enough for us as we were only using at night & the beds were comfy, nice to have air conditioning. Bathroom ms clean & nice.
There were lots of cons & some pros at the hotel, we would not choose to stay here again.
But would like to thank the 2 staff members who were fab during our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarahsa22 asked a question Jun 2019
London, United Kingdom457 contributions91 helpful votes
Does this hotel offer late check out?
Answer from JohnCNovStev
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Hi Sarahsa22 We do offer late check out this is on a per availability basis. £10 per hour.
Answer from missruth2016
Edinburgh, United Kingdom21 contributions3 helpful votes
Yes £10 per night is the charge for pets. Great grounds for before-breakfast walks. Dont fall down a rabbit hole tho on the last walk when its dark
Answer from H0992
Stevenage2 contributions
Dear Guest, Thank you for your question here. Just to let you know that we based outside the main town of Stevenage and unfortunately there is no pub within the walking distance. Nearest public house is about 5 min drive from us. Kind regards Ruslana Yarmolyuk
Jessica M wrote a tip Jul 2022
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"I’d opt for a cheaper alternative as you’re not getting any more here"
Read full review
PaulWat67 wrote a tip Aug 2021
Beccles, United Kingdom129 contributions29 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid at all costs"
Read full review
Rachel wrote a tip Nov 2020
Sutton, United Kingdom3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great bed night sleep"
Read full review
BN13 wrote a tip Oct 2019
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room away from A1m"
Read full review
469jon wrote a tip May 2019
Tarporley, United Kingdom57 contributions65 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"All very similar"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Stevenage area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
novotel stevenage hotel stevenage, stevenage novotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHertfordshireStevenage
NUMBER OF ROOMS
102
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NOVOTEL STEVENAGE - Hotel Reviews & Photos - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Novotel Stevenage
Which popular attractions are close to Novotel Stevenage?
Nearby attractions include Lamex Stadium (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Novotel Stevenage?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Novotel Stevenage?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Novotel Stevenage?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Novotel Stevenage?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Novotel Stevenage?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nirvana Restaurant, Old Forge Toby Carvery, and The Old Forge.
Are pets allowed at Novotel Stevenage?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Novotel Stevenage offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Novotel Stevenage?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Shaw's Corner (7.7 km).
Is Novotel Stevenage accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Stevenage HotelsStevenage Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in StevenageHotels near Novotel Stevenage
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire