We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bay County Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Bay County Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

625 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bay County Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 625: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2015

Came here last week with national holidays. The building itself is an old victorian building. It has just one lift for 2 people only. Lots of stairways to floors, with winding corridors. Paid extra for a room with a view but unfortunately was allocated a room with a very small window. Room itself needed painting. Comfortable bed and nice decor...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elke M
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dera ElkeM Thank you for taking the time to post your review which is a real mixed bag. We are constantly painting our rooms to try and maintain them to a high standard but I apologise if we hadn't got to yours. Thank you for the positive comments you make about the service and I am really pleased you had...

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2015

Having booked a coach holiday to Llandudno with Shearings, I thought I would be onto a good deal. Sadly I was mistaken. We had paid a fee for a see view, we had it but it was not one that you could sit in an easy chair to view. There was no easy chair and you had to stand to...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Linc0lnYell0wBelly
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LincionYellowBelly I'm really sorry to read about your dissapointment I take issue with your comments about our cleanliness but I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the food. I do accept that Wales in winter doesn't compare with Turkey or Tunisia but then neither do the prices. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2015

I have never holidayed alone before and was a little anxious but i really should not have been. The hotel sits you with other solo travelers for meals so you soon get chatting and everyone was really friendly and great company. I enjoyed the entertainment and the quiz's and the drinks are reasonably priced. I did pay for a sea...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank possumaly
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Possumaly This is quite possibly the best review I have ever read. When reading your review on Trip Advisor I'm sure it will encourage other solo travellers to try Shearing's Holidays. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager

grimsby
Reviewed 11 April 2015

Arrived on by coach on a Shearings 5 day holiday. Had asked for a low floor , got one in the cellar (only joking, on the lower ground floor which is below the level of the reception and Restaurant which are up a few steps on the 1st floor). We arrived at 2pm but had been warned that our rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ragrut
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ragrut Thank you for sharing your experience at the County I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciate what great value for money we offer. I will definitely put a sign up in room 46 thank you for the suggestion. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager

Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Reviewed 6 April 2015

This was our fourth visit and the hotel continues to upgrade its facilities. We were pleased to find a new flat screen tv in our room and the fact that it had Freeview. Breakfast is as good as ever, but we still find the evening meals somewhat 1980s. The cod we had the first night, for example, was bony and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John M
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JohnM I'm delighted to read that this was your fourth visit and that you enjoyed room 312. I will pass on your comments to Chef regarding the choices on the Menu. I am not aware of any problems with our WIFI but I will look into it. Many thanks for your positive review. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager

Pontefract, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2015

Stayed at the Bay CountyHotel Llandudno last week excellent accommodatioñ very pleasent staff who were very good at their jobs ,especially our waiter Stefan the entertainment was very good meals exellent couldnt find fault with anything ,A special mention to our coach driver Mike his knowledge of Lla ndudno was exceptional he made our holiday very special ,a lovely person...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sandra L
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SandraL Sounds like you had the perfect holiday and Mike will be getting a big head if were not careful. I am really grateful that you took the time to tell us what a wonderful holiday you had with us. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2015

Just returned from Shearings coach trip. Mike our driver was helpful to us above and beyond just being a driver. His knowledge of the area was outstanding. The Hotel Bay County was great the staff from reception to restaurant and housekeeping staff were all very pleasant and helpful, I Rate this trip as being the best so far from Shearings....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Alan L
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AlanL I do agree it can make all the difference when the driver knows the area well. We are very lucky that all our regular drivers live local. Many thanks for all your compliments on the Hotel. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager

southampton
Reviewed 22 March 2015

Stayed at the Bay County in LLandudno last weekend with Shearings the room was quite good for a single and had an excellent Sea View + good bathrooms. The accommodation was very comfortable, the menu offered an excellent choice and food was amble and hot. The turn around by the staff in doing your room, bringing out food and check...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank thomas2279
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Thomas2279 Thank you for your detailed review I do agree with you about some of our TVs they do need updating and we are prioritising them this year. The Promenade outside the hotel offers free parking with no restrictions as do the side streets. Thanks again for your very possitve review. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2015

Stayed at the Bay County in LLandudno last weekend with a very large party from the North West. The accommodation was very comfortable, the menu offered an excellent choice and the staff were extremely friendly, welcoming and courteous. Over all I think this hotel offers excellent value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Linda G
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LindaG It's Monday morning and it's raining but reading your review has cheered me up many thanks for a fantastic review I'm really pleased we made you feel welcome. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager

Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2015

Just returned from a five day coach holiday with national at holidays stayed the county hotel Llandudno Had great time, the food was great, the staff were great, entertainment kind of great A good time was had by all, 47 of us and will stay there again The driver of the coach STEVEN TAYLOR was excellent he knew a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Brian O
TheCountyHotel, General Manager at Bay County Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BrianO I remember your party from the north east was there only 47 of you it seemed like a lot more. You certainly know how to enjoy yourselves and it was a pleasure looking after you. We hope to see you all again someday. Kind Regards Andy Travis General Manager

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Llandudno hotels
0.8 km away
Bay Marine Hotel
Bay Marine Hotel
#35 of 60 in Llandudno
726 reviews
0.0 km away
Llandudno Bay Hotel
Llandudno Bay Hotel
#16 of 60 in Llandudno
564 reviews
1.0 km away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#27 of 60 in Llandudno
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
St. George's Hotel
St. George's Hotel
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
1,248 reviews
0.8 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 60 in Llandudno
1,050 reviews
0.5 km away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#34 of 60 in Llandudno
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoying a magnificent site of the Promenade with stunning views of both of the Ormes, this lovely Victorian hotel offers guests a friendly Welsh welcome. Tastefully furnished throughout, and retaining many of the original Victorian features throughout, the hotel’s bar and lounges provide the ideal locations in which to relax. Laid back days can be spent enjoying the beach, strolling the pier or shopping in the newly opened retail development by the main shops. Alternatively, take a tram ride up the Great Orme or discover the numerous sporting pursuits that are on offer locally, too. For a getaway discovering the very essence of North Wales - a region renowned for its beautiful coastline, Celtic heritage and the grandeur of Snowdonia - you couldn’t be better placed than in Llandudno. A small car park is located at the rear of the hotel, or there is unlimited free parking at the front of the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay County Hotel

Address: East Parade, Llandudno LL30 1BD, Wales (Formerly The County Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Price Range: ₹ 2,565 - ₹ 7,695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Llandudno
County Llandudno
Bay County Hotel Llandudno, Wales
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Llandudno
#30 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay County Hotel staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question
Birmingham, United Kingdom

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Bay County Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“beware of the underground rooms because the noise from up above is intolerable”
 of 5 bubbles fishbine, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 214 had a side sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles Suse1826, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms only have baths not showers, so check if you specifically just want a bath or just want a shower. Ground floor rooms very small.”
 of 5 bubbles N4966VNlisah, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles LynneM253, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There is only one lift and this only takes two people so a lower floor may be advisable.”
 of 5 bubbles chrishI5841BT, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay