We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Berkeley Guest House

Booking.comUS$ 75*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Berkeley Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

237 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 228: English reviews
Start your review of The Berkeley Guest House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Spent a thoroughly pleasant weekend in Eastbourne staying at the Berkeley. Good quality rooms, lovely breakfast and hosts Dan and Ian ensured we were looked after as usual. Not our first visit and it certainly won't be our last. Happily recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil F
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Exceptionally comfy, cosy and clean. Lovely staff, amazing breakfast selection and little extras like the 'Alice in Wonderland' style 'Eat Me' cupcakes in the lounge really did make a difference - thankyou!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky S
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one night in a single room last week - excellent condition, shower,towels shampoo etc included, tea coffee bottle of water and a lovely cooked breakfast. Staff were really friendly, all in all the best £30 i have spent for ages, will be back if in the area, thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John H
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Was looking for an economic hotel and stumbled across a series of good reviews for this hotel, so booked the Berkely. We were not disappointed. The owner/manager could not have been more helpful and produced hearty full English breakfasts, along with home made muffins and fresh fruit salad, yogurt and granola. Our room was comfortable and well appointed and there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
Fethiye
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This looks just like an ordinary guest house but is a gem i had a double room on the second floor great size en suite clean and comfortable. However breakfast again was top class great food and enough for all fruit, cerial juice

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ncbcoach
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good quality for the money, great freshly cooked breakfast, friendly staff and comfortable room. The location is good too, a few restaurants etc nearby and it's close to the seafront and walking distance from the station.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank burningmatt
Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Fantastic location - check Warm friendly welcome - check Clean , warm room - check Comfy bed - check Helpful , friendly staff - double check Fantastic value for money - check Will be returning - Would be stupid not to !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam W
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

What a beaut.... 50 yards from the beach ( and what a beach ) 10 mins from the town. Parking is £1.00 a day ( voucher from hotel ) Room was clean + comfy, lovely hot power shower, with white fluffy towels.. breakfast was fantastic. Thank you Kim + Neil Trigg

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2017

In Eastbourne for an overnight stay attending a funeral the following day, so wanted something central and economical. Found the Berkeley online and couldn't have done better. Our fourth-floor double was spotlessly clean and comfortable (thanks to chirpy all-rounder Sam). and despite being told we might have poor wi-fi reception up there we experienced no difficultieson that front. Breakfast is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TonyBoshell
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017

This sounded like an amazing little guest house, clean, friendly and everything you could wish for. On the positive side the bed was comfortable and the freshly cooked breakfast was good. On the down side this is the only guesthouse I have ever stayed in where, upon arrival, I was just given the key and told which floor the room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pauline1201
Ian M, Manager at The Berkeley Guest House, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for your review, we appreciate any feedback. When you checked in we gave you the key and started to give you all the information you needed, but you were in such a rush to leave we did not finish what we had to tell you, which also included if you wanted a hand with your luggage....

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.0 km away
The Sherwood
The Sherwood
#32 of 78 in Eastbourne
100 reviews
0.0 km away
The Mowbray
The Mowbray
#14 of 78 in Eastbourne
358 reviews
0.2 km away
The Sheldon
The Sheldon
#24 of 78 in Eastbourne
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Breakers Guest House
Breakers Guest House
#4 of 78 in Eastbourne
256 reviews
0.1 km away
da Vinci Eastbourne
da Vinci Eastbourne
#18 of 78 in Eastbourne
455 reviews
0.3 km away
Ravilious
Ravilious
#8 of 78 in Eastbourne
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Berkeley Guest House

Address: 3 Lascelles Terrace, Eastbourne BN21 4BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range: ₹ 4,331 - ₹ 7,692 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Berkeley Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Berkeley Guest House Hotel Eastbourne
Berkeley Hotel Eastbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Berkeley Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for parking permit can park outside and in surrounding areas in the H zone”
L9249YHjohnh, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There is an attic room - so if stairs are a problem then ask for a lower level”
12samw, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No lift or step-free access and no ground floor bedrooms, so not suitgabkle if you have mobility problems.”
TonyBoshell, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Steep stairs up to the attic room!”
503suec, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“This hotel is on 3 floors so be sure to discuss your requirements in advance if stairs could be a problem for you.”
231derekb, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 75* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$ 75
Expedia.comUS$ 83
Hotwire.comUS$ 83
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates