We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oban

Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Oban
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 206: English reviews
Start your review of Oban
 Click to rate
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We Have just returned home from a one night stay at this hotel 22nd of April 2017 and it was an enjoyable stay. The Hotel is in a great location on the seafront and we found parking was easy right outside of the Hotel, and we had a voucher to park for 24 hours for just £1, the general appearance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MauriceIsleofWight
Kent
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night over the weekend in lovely Eastbourne, beautiful weather and the hotel is located at the quiter end of the town right on the seafront opposite some lovely sloping lawns, great for walks. The Manager (Vin) and his team of staff make you feel very welcome indeed and Vin was there on arrival and departure to greet...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gbee60
Swindon, Wiltshire
Reviewed 22 November 2016

The single room was shabby, smelling of cleaning spray,which made my eyes water and my throat itchy , the Owner was rude ,patronizing and when he eventually returned to the Hotel at 9pm I was not confident enough to find another accommodation, therefore I stayed in a backroom, slightly larger but old and shabby , I decided to leave the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ina D
Customerservices_obn, General Manager at Oban, responded to this review

Dear Ina D, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. When you checked in your room you mentioned you were concerned the lift noise would keep you up and that the size of the room was not as you expected (you made no mention about cleaning product smells). Despite our reception staff informing you that the lift...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2016

We booked 3 Rooms at this hotel for the towns yearly Marathon event. All in all a very accommodating hotel. Staff friendly and obliging, rooms spacious and inviting with some quirky features. They brought forward their breakfast time to accommodate all runners and made some scrummy porridge to help us to a good start. Our first time to this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gilliancaine2016
haywards heath
Reviewed 4 October 2016

The staff at this hotel are very good, the manager does a great job and makes you feel very welcome. The room we had 26, was bigger than expected, especially for the price. Breakfast was very good, brought to the table, rather than help yourself. The bar is a bit of a letdown, although we didn't use only seemed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank david b b
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We were warmly welcomed by a charming manager(Owner?) Our rooms were clean, the meals tasty and the young staff seemed to just glide around our tables and were lovely. It had been planned for a disabled friend to be with me, However, she was unable to travel. It was just as well as this hotel would never have been suitable...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 21cyndyc
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Me and my husband love to visit Eastbourne and we try to visit at least twice a year. Unfortunately the hotel we generally visit was full, and Oban was one of the only hotels available. When we arrived there was no one there. A dubious character who struggled to speak English and was extremely crude ultimately checked us in. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jean1942_1
Customerservices_obn, Owner at Oban, responded to this review

Whilst we would like to thank you for posting your review, you have provided little information to identify who you are and say nothing in detail of your stay/services/etc. 1,You mention ‘a dubious / shady character’ who struggled to speak English. All our staff have a very good command of the English language and are polite well mannered and provide...

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We stayed in this hotel for one night last weekend and were very impressed. Charming and very efficient hotelier, very nicely furnished and clean ensuite room, and good breakfast. It is in an excellent position on the seafront and we would definitely return again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flexford
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We came initially for two weeks ... and we are still here. The Oban is superb, the owner (Vin) takes a personal on hands approach and is particular with detail without being instrusive to his guests. His staff are extremely helpful and friendly and take pride in their work. I have to single out "Georgie" - second in command -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank annhurnigosman
Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Spontaneous booking night before stay. Welcomed by all staff throughout time there, Georgie was especially helpful. Exceptionally clean and comfortable accomodation, perfect location, good breakfast and parking permit worked well for us at a pound for 24 hours - plenty close by which is not true for many other seafront hotels. Left refreshed with a smile - would definately come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jarret2014

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.3 km away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#10 of 41 in Eastbourne
429 reviews
0.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
BEST WESTERN Lansdowne Hotel
#9 of 41 in Eastbourne
877 reviews
0.2 km away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
New Wilmington Hotel
New Wilmington Hotel
#11 of 41 in Eastbourne
508 reviews
0.3 km away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 41 in Eastbourne
2,791 reviews
1.4 km away
Waterside Hotel
Waterside Hotel
#29 of 41 in Eastbourne
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Oban

Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range: ₹ 5,606 - ₹ 11,459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Hotel Eastbourne
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Eastbourne
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oban staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Oban staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we had room number 20 on the second floor near the lift”
MauriceIsleofWight, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Sorry I could not recommend any room.”
inad950, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms have basins in the bedroom but separate WC for toilet and shower -small but adequate. The Fantastic sea views sell these rooms!”
gilliancaine2016, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We didn't have a sea view but room 26 was ok”
davidbb298, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We had a room at the back which was very quiet but not sure about the front, although you would have lovely sea views”
flexford, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
Travelocity
Hotwire.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates