We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

592 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
See the most recent reviews
Showing 568: English reviews
London
Reviewed 29 August 2015 via mobile

Selected this place for its location and quiet location at the end of the sea front. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was basic but suited our needs. Bedroom was fine if a bit dated looking can understand the point other reviewers mention about the fury look to the room and fury curtains. Would stay again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BenLeigh250
BSHE1, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I note your comments on the fur curtains and appreciate they are not to everyone’s taste. Thank you for...

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile

Stay at the big sleep for one night in a double room ,staff friendly but hotel room was a bit shabby and smelly pipe work made a lot of noise and the curtains looked like they were just washed up on beach then hug ,won't be staying again!! Just telling how it was !!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jnorris46
BSHE1, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I note your comments on the fur curtains and appreciate they are not to everyone’s taste. I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your recent stay with us...

Egham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2015

This is our second time - this year, in the big sleep Eastbourne. We stumbled into Eastbourne as Brighton was quite full. Came for one night and stayed a week. Mum enjoyed it so much - we booked for another week. The staff are friendly and very accommodating. My mum is in a wheelchair, I have two kids and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
BSHE1, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words and hope we can welcome you again in the future and Teddy. Once...

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2015

I checked the other reviews for the hotel on here before booking, and thought it would be a modern, cool, and fresh hotel. I was wrong. The hotel looks shabby and outdated from the outside, and this continues as you make your way into the lobby, having to walk over a disability lift and ducking under the metal arms hanging...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SayHelloToDanny
BSHE1, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. The outside of the hotel was recently painted and is in keeping with the local...

County Antrim, Northern Ireland
Reviewed 14 August 2015

Stayed here for 3 nights in July. Check in not until 3 pm so we were able to leave luggage and return. Reception staff were all friendly. Room was clean, little rough around the edges, but was fit for purpose and met our needs. Complimentary shower gel and handwash, tv tea making facilities and hairdryer. Room had a partial sea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 98Jennifer
BSHE1, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words and hope we can welcome you again in the future. I also note...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Just returned from one night at the Big Sleep,but unfortunately there was no Big Sleep to be had.The room wasn't bad just a bit small but it was clean.The problem was the noise of the other guests on the corridor.Banging the main door and the locker doors in the room,as well as shouting.If we had four hours sleep we were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank susan m
BSHE1, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read your recent stay was not as enjoyable as it should have been due to the disturbances from fellow guests. Had my team been aware they...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2015

Four of us, ages between 20s-late 60s, stayed for four nights. We thought the hotel really good value. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Continental breakfast was a good range of basic tasty food to fill up and star the day. The staff friendly and helpful and the whole atmosphere with the carefully chosen quirky interior design was chilled and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PentaBS4
BSHE1, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am glad to read that your stay was enjoyable. I am also pleased to read you found the team here welcoming and friendly. We are lucky to have the...

Eastbourne
Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile

Was really pleased with the hotel. I stayed here with my husband the night of our wedding and they were very helpful. They let us have friends into the room who weren't staying. Great sized room and an amazing view!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jess_bown88
BSHE1, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am glad to read that your stay was enjoyable. Thank you for your kind words and hope we can welcome you again in the future Once again, thank you...

ENGLAND
Reviewed 1 August 2015

Considering location and price of the rooms, we find this hotel meets all our needs. Staff are always helpful - you can purchase a car parking pass for £1 per day, which is very handy. It has a good continental breakfast - which you can upgrade to full english for a very reasonable extra cost. Yes the rooms are basic,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GRANTHAMGRETA
BSHE1, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am glad to read that your stay was enjoyable. I am also pleased to read that the staff were helpful. It is a bonus having sky sports in rooms...

Cranbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 August 2015

Arrived and checked in, got ground floor as requested. It was a lean ensuite, large bed & plenty of room. Staff very helpful, service was good. Our room clean & breakfast good. You could get a hot breakfast if you wished, but had to pay extra.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary E
BSHE1, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am glad to read that your stay was enjoyable. I am also pleased to read that the staff were helpful. Thank you for your kind words and hope we...

177 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (139)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.3 km away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
2,667 reviews
0.4 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#23 of 42 in Eastbourne
1,224 reviews
0.9 km away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#13 of 42 in Eastbourne
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#10 of 42 in Eastbourne
418 reviews
1.4 km away
BEST WESTERN York House Hotel
0.3 km away
Congress Apartments
Congress Apartments
#31 of 42 in Eastbourne
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A 50 bedroom designer limited service hotel on Eastbourne's seafront, offering fantastic value for money, great sea views and exciting new horizons in interior design. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality

Address: King Edwards Parade | King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range: ₹ 3,355 - ₹ 8,019 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the front of the hotel, all will have sea view”
 of 5 bubbles swanvesta63, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for seaview”
 of 5 bubbles bodilh700, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea view are great”
 of 5 bubbles Malachite11_13, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sea view suite would be my choice again.”
 of 5 bubbles Paulrich150, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you have a room with a view expect some traffic noise early in the mornings.”
 of 5 bubbles chrisnS34QV, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5