We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality

Hotels.comUS$ 69*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 82*
US$ 69*
US$ 70*
US$ 82*
US$ 69*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

598 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality
See the most recent reviews
Showing 573: English reviews
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2015

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marywG3062ET
BSHE1, Front Office Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Kempston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2015 via mobile

Having stayed here with a group of friends, the overall quality is based on what you pay. Bit disappointed that we had views of the bins, whereas friends paying same price had lovely sea views. Probably good to check when booking what the view is. Staff were friendly and polite. Room is basic, clean, but in need of a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kevfrost8
BSHE1, Front Office Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear kevfrost8, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad that you liked the hotel and staff. Although the hotel is located on seafront the sea view cannot be guaranteed with standard rooms and rooms are...

Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2015

Booked the Big Sleep online for a short break. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. It is in a good location with an easy walk into town and the shops. Nearby is the Winter Gardens and Congress Theatre. Plus a small parade of coffee shops and restaurants nearby in Carlisle Road. We had a twin room with wonderful views...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leena P
BSHE1, Front Office Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear Leena P, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am glad that you liked the hotels location, bed and continental breakfast. I note your commets about staff. Thank you for your kind words and hope we...

Sherington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2015

Booking the Big Sleep at the last minute was booking in the dark. (No pun intended). I didn't know Eastbourne at all and assumed all hotels in a prominent position on the sea front would be pretty premium standard. However, the Big Sleep's name (as opposed to The Cavendish and The View etc) should have indicated to me that it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillyscarlett
BSHE1, Front Office Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear Gillyscarlett, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I appreciate you booked the hotel without knowing it but most of our guests book the same way although we do have returning guests too or people booking on...

London
Reviewed 7 October 2015

Booked a suite. Consisted of one double aspect room large room (with views out to sea) with a king bed, a chaise longue, desk and chair, couple of other chairs, a table and wide screen TV. Bathroom was spacious with a large walk in shower and a separate bath. As often the case, the mirror above the basin was too...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank eBatch
BSHE1, Front Office Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Dear eBatch, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am happy to read that the hotels location, bed and continental breakfast was to your liking. I note your comments on the fur curtains and appreciate they are...

Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2015

Stayed here with a friend (Our annual break from the family) for 5 nights I booked 2 single rooms expecting them to be near each other as they where booked on the same booking but they where not, not even on the same floor The room was quite small and very little storage space for my clothes, there was only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lynn D
BSHE1, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am sorry to read that you were not impressed by your stay at the hotel. We cannot guarantee that rooms are close together or on the same floor even if...

Faversham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2015

The hotel is situated in a convenient location on the sea front and near to the Theatres. The room was functionally very good and it had a nice, comfortable bed. The continental breakfast was tasty with a variety of options (a full English was available at an additional cost). The front desk were helpful and friendly, both on arrival and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Derek B
BSHE1, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it positive or constructive. I am happy to read that the hotels location, bed and continental breakfast was to your liking. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

UCKFIELD
Reviewed 18 September 2015

We found this hotel to be perfect for a basic 1 night stay after an evening performance at the Congress theatre. This was no better or worse than we expected at the very reasonable price we paid.The room was clean, bed very comfortable and the buffet breakfast was good.

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rita C
BSHE1, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests’ feedback whether it is positive or constructive. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your room was clean and your bed was comfy. I do hope we can welcome you...

Sydney
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

We saw good online reviews for this hotel on another well known site so booked it online without seeing it in person. What a mistake this was, and because they wouldn't give a refund we checked out anyway at a nights cost to ourselves. This was preferable to staying another minute. In our opinion the hotel was offensive to the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank O2Bubbler
BSHE1, Front Office Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests’ feedback whether it is positive or constructive. I am unsure as to the bleach smell you claim to have been used, the hotel does not permit the use of bleach. The only odour containing chemical we use...

Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

We had a great night at the big sleep, helpful staff and a massive 'suite' with a sea view, loved the furry curtains (might even get some at home ) my only crtiism would be that the bathroom has a full length window looking out onto the street with only a net curtain which made me feel a bit exposed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda H
BSHE1, Front Office Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel. We always appreciate guests' feedback whether it is positive or constructive. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry you didnt like floor to the ceiling windows in the bathroom, they have been like this ever since...

178 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (140)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.4 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#25 of 41 in Eastbourne
1,250 reviews
0.2 km away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 41 in Eastbourne
2,791 reviews
0.3 km away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#10 of 41 in Eastbourne
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#14 of 41 in Eastbourne
847 reviews
0.3 km away
Congress Apartments
Congress Apartments
#31 of 41 in Eastbourne
128 reviews
1.4 km away
Best Western York House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A 50 bedroom designer limited service hotel on Eastbourne's seafront, offering fantastic value for money, great sea views and exciting new horizons in interior design. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality

Address: King Edwards Parade | King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range: ₹ 3,875 - ₹ 9,151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Eastbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Big Sleep Hotel Eastbourne by Compass Hospitality staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we chose a suit facing the sea and still very cheap, if you want the bath in the room you have to request it as only one room has it”
granny1943, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front of the hotel, all will have sea view”
swanvesta63, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for seaview”
bodilh700, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sea view are great”
Malachite11_13, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sea view suite would be my choice again.”
Paulrich150, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$ 69* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 70
TravelocityUS$ 69
TripAdvisorUS$ 70
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates