We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Alexandra Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Alexandra Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Alexandra Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 147: English reviews
Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We only stayed one night at this hotel, and arrived late - so my view of this hotel is only based on approximately a 12 hour stay - 8 of which I was asleep. The staff at this hotel are absolutely fantastic - I can't speak highly enough. My wife is disabled (in a wheelchair) and we weren't expecting the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darren D
Reviewed 29 August 2016

I travelled to Eastbourne with my son to visit relatives and to get my "Eastbourne Fix" as it's my home town. As it was a Bank Holiday weekend I had struggled to find any reasonably priced accommodation, and eventually chose the Alexandra Hotel which had received mixed reviews. On arrival at the hotel it was clear this was a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo A
Alice B, Front Office Manager at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jo A, I was concerned when reading this review because I had spoken to the member of staff that dealt with your compliant and this is a completely different version of events. Upon hearing you did not feel the cleanliness of the bathroom was up to standards a member of staff immediately went to clean the bathroom. Once he...

Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

One of the best budget hotels. Excellent food, service and accommodation. Staff very helpful and luggage taken to and from our rooms. Fabulous views, nothing too much trouble and definitely recommend. A hidden gem on the front. Our room was basic but very clean and lacked nothing. Great value for money

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garner43
Alice B, Front Office Manager at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Garner43, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this great feedback. Here at The Alexandra Hotel we pride ourselves on delivering the best customer service we can and I am glad to hear this is exactly what you received. It is always enjoyable reading nice reviews, it is nice to know what we are doing is appreciated....

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Just had a lovely weekend with my grandaughter we came with a coach trip we had a lovely sea view room and the food and waiting staff were very good .we were disappointed to find there was no entertainment but our coach driver Chris came to the rescue play the keyboard and sing to us he was very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pat g
London
Reviewed 16 August 2016

What a wonderful and pleasurable experience staying at The Alexandra Hotel in Eastbourne is. This is the third year in a row my Mum and I have stayed in The Alexandra Hotel for the Eastbourne Airbourne Airshow. We are already booked to return to The Alexandra Hotel for the 25th Eastbourne Airbourne Airshow 2017. We travel to the lovely sunny...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank crazycamper
Alice B, Front Office Manager at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Crazycamper, Thank you for such a lovely review! We are all just about recovered from the fantastic event here! I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having you all here. At The Alexandra Hotel we pride ourselves on delivering the highest quality customer service to all of our guests and i'm pleased to hear...

Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Sometimes, the heart of what's on offer isn't immediately visible. What appeared to be an average hotel on the seafront turned out to be a real find. The waiting staff were 5 star. I genuinely last saw this kind of individual at a top London hotel I stayed at recently (and reviewed). Awesome. It depends if you want to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glen M
Alice B, Front Office Manager at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Glen, Thank you very much for this fantastic review. I'm glad to hear were doing a great job. It is always nice to know that our hard work and effort isn't going unappreciated. It was a pleasure to have such a brilliant guest and I hope you will return to stay with us in the future for another impressive...

West Midlands
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We were with a coach party we had to wait for an hour and a half for staff to finish cleaning rooms. we had a dirty toilet that didn't flush every time, the shower was black and dirty and no grouting just scum on wall. The fronts fell of the drawers when you tried to open them. The springs from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margaret1646
Alice B, Front Office Manager at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Margaret, Judging by your unfriendly attitude the minute you walked through the door I was fully aware you were going to try to cause as many problems as possible, therefore I am not surprised by this review in the slightest. I believe many of your comments to be fabricated and very debatable and sadly you were the only guest...

Warsaw
Reviewed 28 July 2016

I had an excellent first immersion on phone that is why I had chosen this place. Unfortunately the staff on the reception desk needs a lot of improvements and professional customer service training. I just found it very rude. The room was clean and location was great too. But definitely I won't be back. Apart from that they charged my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dan063
Alice B, Front Office Manager at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dan, We are sorry to know that you were charged for a full English breakfast whilst your friend had just coffee. This is unbelievable because we have a different price for coffee only. A full English breakfast price applies only to the restaurant so if you have taken your friend to the restaurant during breakfast time then our restaurant...

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2016

Travelling on business I was not at all concerned about booking a hotel on the seafront but the Alexandra showed a room for less than £30.00 for the night, bargain. As the website showed no parking on site so I found unrestricted street parking about ten minutes walk away however arriving at reception the helpful girl offered a parking pass...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
Alice B, Front Office Manager at The Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ian, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear about your experience on check out, I believe it was a misunderstanding and I can assure you this doesn't happen regularly. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your room, we like to try to upgrade our guests to nicer rooms when...

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016

The hotel is good value for money but has a very basic menu. The continental breakfast consists of cereals and toast. The hotel is ideally situated on the seafront with shops and theatres close by. No toiletries are provided so don't forget your soap and shampoo etc

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sheila M

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eastbourne hotels
0.0 km away
Oban
Oban
#23 of 42 in Eastbourne
206 reviews
0.4 km away
West Rocks Hotel
West Rocks Hotel
#9 of 42 in Eastbourne
401 reviews
0.2 km away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 42 in Eastbourne
1,392 reviews
1.5 km away
East Beach Hotel
East Beach Hotel
#12 of 42 in Eastbourne
399 reviews
0.1 km away
New Wilmington Hotel
New Wilmington Hotel
#8 of 42 in Eastbourne
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Alexandra Hotel

Address: King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne BN21 4DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range: ₹ 5,363 - ₹ 7,739 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Alexandra Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Alexandra Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Alexandra Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid rooms next to the lift. Inside rooms are quieter (wind noise & seagulls!)”
 of 5 bubbles 907trick, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“try to book a room overlooking sea”
 of 5 bubbles 111brian, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“the sea view rooms have a very good view of the sea”
 of 5 bubbles , 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“rooms with sea view are the best”
 of 5 bubbles phd11, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a sea-view room - the view is great”
 of 5 bubbles 375darrend, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay