We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Restaurant Le Lion d'Or

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Hotel Restaurant Le Lion d\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 10: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Restaurant Le Lion d'Or
 Click to rate
Reviewed 19 April 2017

The restaurant was empty but our food still came out cold, it was also not very nice despite being very overpriced. I ordered the chocolate mouse and it had gelatine flakes in it. The waiter was also very rude and unhelpful, when we said the food was cold he looked at us as if to say "What am I supposed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holly J
Pierre Emmanuel C, Gérant at Hotel Restaurant Le Lion d'Or, responded to this review

Dear guest, I am very surprised about your review and apologise about your bad experience in our restaurant. However I am wondering if there is not a mistake on the restaurant as I can not even remember the last time we did "mousse au chocolat", and secondly because we have only a 14€ menu (3 courses) what can't be said...

Thame, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Our family and friend's family enjoyed a relaxed evening meal at the Lion d'Or, great service and a good value three course menu. Sea bass was nicely cooked as was my wife's steak. We ate outside in the courtyard which helped considering our children can be quite noisy (we had a total of five children under five yrs). They also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 12teas
NL
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

We stopped and the Hotel restaurant Le Lion d'Or in Gemozac on our way to Spain. Location: very close to the highway. We booked a family room which was absolutely fine. The hotel is in the middle of the village centre. Large bathroom, comfortable beds. Bonus for a was the restaurant that belonged to the hotel. It served excellent food,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank knufje
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2016

Alternative venue, suggested by our usual stopover in Pons, that was closed for maintenance. Could not have been better. Close to motorway, ample parking opposite, and Pierre, a very welcoming, English speaking host. Room was lovely. Everything one needed plus more. Dinner and breakfast more than adequate. A very good recommendation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MickG73
boston
Reviewed 30 September 2015

I'd driven by Le Lion d'Or many times and always imagined a sleepy little dive within so I was very surprised when I finally walked inside. It's modern with a lot of red and very clean. We went for lunch on a Monday in late September. I liked that they were seating people until at least 1:35 which is sometimes...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BostonGourmande
Reviewed 13 September 2015 via mobile

I have been to the Lion d'or many times over the last few years! And my recent trip for the last fortnight was no Exception.. Me and my partner had a great few hours with a chilled beer in the Sun... Plus I took my partner and parents for lunch on Friday afternoon just gone, And I have to say...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank paulfenney
Tillac, France
Reviewed 28 May 2015

Very comfortable good sized room. Friendly attentive staff Good restaurant and excellent food. Look forward to the courtyard restaurant being open in the summer. Only minutes from the motorway so perfect for a stopover. Plenty of parking in the square right by the Hotel. Will certainly stay there again on our next trip to the UK.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ellie32170
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stayed in St-Caprais from 31/09-15/09 and I went To "Lion D Or Bar/Hotel Virtually everyday apart from When I was Closed.. The Staff are the Most Attentive and Relaxing!! And They always give you The Best Customer Service.. The 2 Guy's who worked the Most when me and my Father Visited the Bar on a Evening where always there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank paulfenney
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Cannot complain about the quality of the food. Very nice 3 course meal for three in a lovely courtyard setting. Very friendly and efficient waitress. Just had a bit of a shock when the bill arrived (over 140 euros). Free wi-fi was a bonus though as our football team, Wolverhampton Wanderers, was playing that night. A victory helped soften the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank GrahamJ451
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We were looking for a stopover hotel on the way from Cherbourg to the Costa Blanca. Gemozac is just 7 minutes from the motorway. The Lion D'or is in the middle of the town and is a nice bar/restaurant/hotel. Three course meal cost 15 euros and breakfast around 7. Very friendly owner

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank EamonJ

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gemozac
23.4 km away
Hotel de l'Ecu
Hotel de l'Ecu
#1 of 4 in Jonzac
92 reviews
10.3 km away
Hotel de Bordeaux
Hotel de Bordeaux
#1 of 1 in Pons
55 reviews
4.1 km away
Chateau de la Tillade
Chateau de la Tillade
#1 of 1 in St Simon de Pellouaille
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 km away
Chateau des Salles
Chateau des Salles
#1 of 1 in Saint Fort sur Gironde
46 reviews
15.1 km away
Hotel du Moulin du Val de Seugne
23.1 km away
Chateau de Mirambeau
Chateau de Mirambeau
#1 of 1 in Mirambeau
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Le Lion d'Or

Address: 2 Place Saint Pierre, 17260 Gemozac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Gemozac
Price Range: ₹ 4,201 - ₹ 5,235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Restaurant Le Lion d'Or 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Le Lion d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Restaurant Le Lion d'Or staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Bristol, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Restaurant Le Lion d'Or staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Superior Room 9, at back of hotel. Very quiet and comfortable.”
MickG73, 7 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Superior Room”
Ellie32170, 27 May 2015 | Read review
“Never stayed @ The Hotel ..”
paulfenney, 17 Sep 2013 | Read review
3 of 3
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates