We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Citybox Bergen

02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Citybox Bergen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

308 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Citybox Bergen
See the most recent reviews
Showing 156: English reviews
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 27 September 2014

If you ever visit Bergen, I suggest you NOT to stay at the Citybox Hotel. Unfortunately I had a very reasonable experience during the last two days I stayed there (September 2014). 1. Internet: without any previous information after I made my reservation, I was not told that the Internet had connection problems in the rooms. This information was given...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liebrecht
Rose-Marie H, Front Office Manager at Citybox Bergen, responded to this review

Dear Liebrecht thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts about Citybox Bergen. 1. I can see that you stayed with us from the 24th until the 26th of September, and it is true that we had internet troubles on the day of your arrival. This was due to problems with our internet provider, and it was our...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2014

First the slight annoyance, the WiFi was not working in the room so you had to use the lobby reception one. Now for the real issue which is unforgivable. I left room at 7:30am to move car to 24 hour car park. On return key card stopped working. Girlfriend came down from room to let me in but of course...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Gary B
Montevideo Department, Uruguay
Reviewed 9 September 2014

Very nice place,5 minutes walk from bus and train station,supermarkets nearby,comon kitchen very good and well equipped. Highly recommended. Rooms are we nice and bedrooms are confortable,Bathroom is chared but thry are very clean and not crowdy.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank anF23590J
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 5 September 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights and almost everything was okay. Good things: location is good, a few blocks away from the railway station. The double room is spacious (ok, that seems almost obvious) and the beds are comfortable. Naturally, sheets and towels are included in the price - not changed daily for stays shorter than a week, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gorg0
Reviewed 4 September 2014 via mobile

The hotel is really in center. 5 minutes walk from bus or train central station. 5 minutes from the lake and center. It's cheap compare to the prices in bergen. There is no breakfast there. For us it was ideal because we had to leave to airport at 5 am. Simple just for sleep. No tv at the room, for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tzahilevi
California
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Good location...10 minute walk from the ship terminal and a 10 minute walk from the railway station. A lovely Swedish babe with a Brit accent was very kind to provide the required tips on directions,points of interest and what to avoid..(taste everything but do Not buy anything at the fish market)...shopping street, fish market, Brygge, old restored castle,funicular all close...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank srfyogi
Rose-Marie H, Front Office Manager at Citybox Bergen, responded to this review

Dear srfyogi, thank you for taking the time to write a review. Firstly, thank you fo calling me a "babe", that made my day ;) Secondly, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location. Regarding the comparison you are making between us, and Citybox Oslo: Citybox Bergen is the first, and original Citybox hotel. We have been up...

Reviewed 31 August 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. The location is great and the price is close to a bargain compared to most of the other alternatives in Bergen. The room felt very spacious and modern, and equipped with all essentials needed for a short stay. A big plus to the hotel staff. They were always providing great service with a smile...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elysion
Rose-Marie H, Front Office Manager at Citybox Bergen, responded to this review

Dear Elysion, thank you for that wonderful review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we do hope to see you again someday! :) Best regards Citybox Bergen

Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The hotel is almost a hostel. It offers rooms both with shared and with private bathroom, but be aware that they don't clean the room during your stay and don't change the bed sheets or towells until you leave. They also don't provide shampoo and soap, only liquid soap for washing hands. That being said, the room we stayed at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bruno K
Rose-Marie H, Front Office Manager at Citybox Bergen, responded to this review

Dear Bruno K, thank you for taking the time to write a review. The concept of Citybox is to offer nice, simple and comfortable rooms at a low price. In order for us to be able to do so, we have to scale back on some of our expenses, and daily cleaning of the rooms, breakfast and free toiletries are...

Disneyland Paris, France
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I might start by saying that the place is cheap for Bergen and that it is well located. Apart from that, the computerised check in is probably modern but not my cup of tea. The room was quite big but I do not understand why you would put a kitchen in it if there is nothing to cook with? I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anomnia
Rose-Marie H, Front Office Manager at Citybox Bergen, responded to this review

Dear Anomnia, thank you for taking the time to Wwrite a review. Firstly, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location as well as our prices :) Secondly, we would like to address your comment about the kitchens in the rooms. Some of our double rooms with shared bathrooms, has small kitchens in them. Unfortunately, we are not...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 5 August 2014

What a neat concept; a self-service check-in hotel. Car rental places offer this type of self-service for their VIP members, why not do it for hotels? Good location just a few blocks away from the train station, which links to the airport. Maybe a little confusing to get to, so just pay extra attention to street signs. As you can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KayClifton
Rose-Marie H, Front Office Manager at Citybox Bergen, responded to this review

Dear KayClifton, On behalf of Citybox Oslo, we thank you for your fantastic review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our smart selv-service check-in machine as well as the location of the hotel :) Next time, we hope that you will come and stay with us in Bergen ;) Have a nice day! Best regards Citybox Bergen

113 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
1:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 47 in Bergen
1,083 reviews
Basic Hotel Bergen
#22 of 47 in Bergen
354 reviews
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 47 in Bergen
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 47 in Bergen
448 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#16 of 47 in Bergen
804 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Clarion Hotel Admiral
#6 of 47 in Bergen
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Citybox is a modern economy hotel with low prices.Our rooms are cheap because we keep our overheads down while still offering our guests what they really need: a simple and stylish room with a comfortable bed, a good chair, a desk and a place to hang your clothes. Wireless broadband is available free of charge throughout the hotel.Citybox combines simplicity with comfort and low prices. The hotel is located in the centre of Bergen.If you want to spend your money on something other than a minibar and room service, then Citybox is the place for you. Bergen is full of bars. Why do you need one in your hotel room? ... more   less 

Additional Information about Citybox Bergen

Address: Nygaardsgaten 31, Bergen 5015, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Price Range: ₹ 6,140 - ₹ 12,613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Citybox Bergen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Citybox Bergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citybox Hotel Bergen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Citybox Bergen staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Citybox Bergen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper floors, away from street to avoid any noise”
 of 5 bubbles davcru2015, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher up.”
 of 5 bubbles darrellhilton, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you have a room facing the street if you are visiting in late 2016 to avoid construction noise.”
 of 5 bubbles davep44, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“ask for a quiet room”
  • Room
 of 5 bubbles Carla_MV, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Option for 4 person in Single Room”
 of 5 bubbles nilesh1610, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates