We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

First Hotel Marin

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
First Hotel Marin
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,095 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 717: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very nice hotel in the center of everything. We enjoyed walking around the town, the fish market, and good restaurants in the area. Very helpful staff and good breakfast. I can't think of a negative thing to add, good room, good location, and helpful staff is all I need.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 280rayt
Bjørghild F, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear 280rayt, Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at First Hotel Marin. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and felt well taken care of by our staff during your stay with us. I will naturally share this positive feedback with my dear colleagues. I look forward to wish you welcome back...

Horten, Norway
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very central location, close to all attractions and all kinds of communications, busses, bus to airport, train andre different boats. Very polite crew, perfect breakfest and lots of space in the hotel. A place to relax and feel well. Like it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kjolavj
Bjørghild F, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear kjolavj, Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at First Hotel Marin. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and felt well taken care of by our staff during your stay with us. I will naturally share this positive feedback with my dear colleagues. I look forward to wish you welcome back...

Wareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had a night to spend in Bergen before flying home to UK from a HurtigRuten coastal cruise, which was wonderful. We were given the choice of 3 hotels, all reviews said that service wasn't great, so we opted for this one mainly due to its location, which was excellent. Just a short walk to the Bryggen area and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
Bjørghild F, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear Pam M, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us at First Hotel Marin. I really do appreciate that you took the time to evaluate us, and I can assure you that we will focus on improving our routines based on your comments. I am very sorry that you did not have the experience you...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent hotel for location, staff the breakfast is amazing, so many choices and sets you up for the day. Airport is on 30 minutes away and stops 5 minutes walking distance from hotel. Definitely recommend this hotel. Rooms comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graeme G
Bjørghild F, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear Graeme G, Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at First Hotel Marin. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and felt well taken care of by our staff during your stay with us. I will naturally share this positive feedback with my dear colleagues. I look forward to wish you welcome...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was right where we needed to be, two steps from the marina and right around the corner of the funicular. checkin was smooth and the rooms amazing. We had a double and the kids had a family room. The bed in the double was great, the bathroom enormous. We were on the same floor which was good and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aussieannAdelaide
Bjørghild F, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear aussieannAdelaide, Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at First Hotel Marin. Our guests' feedback is very important to us, and I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I can assure you that we will focus on improving our routines based on your comments regarding our breakfast. I look forward to wish...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The first impression is that the hotel is rather dated but it soon becomes clear that this appealing classical style of polished hardwood floors and walnut furniture is the face of a thoroughly modern, efficient and comfortable hotel. Our bed was good, the ensuite bathroom had a full size tub and the WiFi signal was strong and fast. Free coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jon D
Bjørghild F, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear Jon D, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at First Hotel Marin. Our guests' feedback is very important to us, and I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to wish you welcome back to First Hotel Marin. Yours sincerely, Bjørghild Fjellestad General Manager

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

First Hotel Marin is only ok - bed was awful as hard metal coils poked up out of mattress and hurt your back. They only had watered-down milk for breakfast, no proper milk to have with cereal or your tea.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RJGCLO
Bjørghild F, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear RJGCLO, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay at First Hotel Marin. I really do appreciate that you took the time to evaluate us, and I can assure you that we will focus on improving our routines based on your comments. I am very sorry that you did not have the experience you had hoped for...

Reviewed 15 January 2017

We spent two nights at First Marin while attending to some family affairs in town. Arrived after midnight and were checked in swiftly. After a good night's sleep, we were uite disappointed by the breakfast; the selection is less interesting than average, the coffee is not good, the buffet was sloppily attended to and empty of e.g. butter etc., and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steinar V
Bjørghild F, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear Steinar V Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us at First Hotel Marin! I really do appreciate that you took the time to evaluate us, and I can assure you that we will focus on improving our routines regarding your comments about our breakfast. I will work together with our breakfast staff to ensure...

Great Bookham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Really great location right in the heart of Bryggen and worth paying for a harbour view. Breakfasts were tasty with the usual array of hot food, toast, herring, cheese and meats and a waffle maker. Staff were friendly and there wasn't a problem when there was a mix up on room rates on checking out.

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jbisho_211345
Bjørghild F, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear jbisho_211345, Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at First Hotel Marin. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and felt well taken care of by our staff during your stay with us. I will naturally share this positive feedback with my dear colleagues. I look forward to wish you welcome back...

Greater London
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

The hotel is just a street behind Bryggen. I was offered a room upgrade when checking in, and got quite a spacious room with an incredibly good shower. Staff was very helpfull with weather reports and umbrella's. There are free coffee/tea facilities in the hotel. The only negative point is the outdated decor. The hotel looks a bit tired. Luckily...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank adtap
Bjørghild F, General Manager at First Hotel Marin, responded to this review

Dear adtap, Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at First Hotel Marin. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and felt well taken care of by our staff during your stay with us. I will naturally share this positive feedback with my dear colleagues. I look forward to wish you welcome back...

230 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (201)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Vågen
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz
#1 of 46 in Bergen
424 reviews
Vågen
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Bergen
Vågen
Clarion Hotel Admiral
Clarion Hotel Admiral
#6 of 46 in Bergen
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hanseatic Hotel
#7 of 46 in Bergen
559 reviews
Vågen
Clarion Collection Hotel Havnekontoret
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 46 in Bergen
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
First Hotel Marin is a classic hotel situated in the city center of Bergen. The unique location of the hotel is on the famous "Bryggen" in Bergen which is on UNESCOs world-heritage list. Marin have well-equipped rooms, conference facilities as well as steambaths, sauna and a gym. Our rooms are charming and welcoming, some with wonderful views over Bryggen. Treat yourself to a little luxury and enjoy our spacious suites and come home to some extra comfort after a busy day. First Hotel Marin is a perfect match for both business and pleasure. Welcome to First Hotel Marin in Bergen. Centrally located and renovated 2013/2015 Rooms with view of the harbour Parking Free WiFi Free Breakfast ... more   less 

Additional Information about First Hotel Marin

Address: Rosenkrantzgaten 8, Bergen 5003, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Price Range: ₹ 7,592 - ₹ 19,157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Marin 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your First Hotel Marin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Marin
First Hotel Bergen
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bergen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from First Hotel Marin staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from First Hotel Marin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room overlooking the harbor.”
 of 5 bubbles 280rayt, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“good luck with this one”
 of 5 bubbles nolam2016, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The hotel is luxurious but we got it at mid range price. Free parking in street but had to rush before 8:00 am to put coins in the meter.”
 of 5 bubbles 393avip, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book a SmartBed room if you like a firm mattress. Check accessibility - our rooms all had a step up to the bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles brookeo700, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room high up.”
 of 5 bubbles 469larryw, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5