We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Scandic Nidelven

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Scandic Nidelven
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 465: English reviews
Oslo
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Yes, nice view and the breakfast is good - but that's it. It's not luxury, but ok. The prizes is way to high and Trondheim has better hotels to offer. We ate supper and lunch in the Bar. A disaster. No bread served to the salads and the chef had lost the salt shaker in the scallopssoup. Not impressed. Expensive... More 

Helpful?
Thank NaMaEh
1 review
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We where lucky to get a free upgrade due to our class being full. We got the next best room the hotel have and man, it was a blast! Twin-sized bathtub, huge shower cabin, 2,20x2 meter bed, two sets of tv, large group of sofas. Huge balcony with a view of town/sea. We had the most terrible weather though so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marcus Z
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Right.. They'd tell me about this hotel. You gonna be impressed by the location and the view by the river.. The hotel is brand new and has the best breakfast i Norway, possibly in Europe.. Service is perfect.. Bla bla bla.. And you know what? They were totaly right! What a great place to be! The breafast is really like... More 

Helpful?
Thank franckor2015
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
70 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were told this was the biggest and most overwhelming breakfast buffet in Norway and that we shouldn't miss it- unfortunately the hotel was fully booked and so we stayed at another Scandic hotel, but were allowed to eat at Scandic Nidelven without any extra charges- and it was just super delicious and overwhelmingly amazing!! I'll definitely advise anyone that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin K
Kjetil V, General Manager at Scandic Nidelven, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your very nice and kind feedback to us! We are really happy that you appreciate our famous breakfast as much as you did! I wish you all the best, and hope to see you again at Scandic Nidelven soon. Best regards Kjetil Vassdal GM More 

Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016

People normally prefer this hotel due to location and breakfast. The location close to the river is nice, but most rooms has a limited view. Rooms are good sized, modern, but sterile. Not a place you feel at home. The breakfast is excellent with lots of variations. You'll find a barista, an omelet chef and others there. Tends to be... More 

Helpful?
Thank FlemingSorensen
Kjetil V, General Manager at Scandic Nidelven, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your very nice and kind feedback to us! I wish you all the best, and hope to see you again in our hotel soon. Best regards Kjetil Vassdal GM More 

oslo
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Good service in general and serviceminded staff. Small beds even in superior rooms (double bed is 150cm!). Very good location and an absolutely fantastic breakfast - it's worth a stay in itself! And Trondheim, it is beautiful :-)

Helpful?
Thank valdres
Kjetil V, General Manager at Scandic Nidelven, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your very nice and kind feedback to us! I wish you all the best, and hope to see you again in our hotel soon. Best regards Kjetil Vassdal GM More 

Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016

This hotel is famous for its breakfast and it sure is good!! The hotel has a good location, walking distance to almost everything. It is a busy hotel on weekdays, always a lot of people so it is a bit crowded at breakfast and lunch. Rooms are nice, beds very comfortable. Some rooms a bit more noisy, depending on which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nina B
Kjetil V, General Manager at Scandic Nidelven, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your very nice and kind feedback to us! I wish you all the best, and hope to see you again in our hotel soon. Best regards Kjetil Vassdal GM More 

Molde, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Last time I was in Nidelven I was not all so happy - but this time it was more than excellent. The room where clean, the service both in the restaurant, bar, at breakfast and in the lobby quit as good as it gets and a bit more. Last time I created a review I did complain about the breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Armann H
Kjetil V, General Manager at Scandic Nidelven, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your very nice and kind feedback to us! I wish you all the best, and hope to see you again in our hotel soon. Best regards Kjetil Vassdal GM More 

Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2016

I spent two nights at this hotel, andI can not find anything to complain about. Great service in the reception, lovely room. Even though, I changed the booking upon arrival, I got a very good price! I think you should stay here, just for the breakfast! There is a HUGE selection of food, from local Norwegian specialities to the 'standard'... More 

Helpful?
Thank Halvlars
Kjetil V, General Manager at Scandic Nidelven, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your very nice and kind feedback to us! I wish you all the best, and hope to see you again in our hotel soon. Best regards Kjetil Vassdal GM More 

1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2016

I stayed at the hotel for 1 week with my wife and 8 month old daughter. The first night we quickly realized the airconditioner was causing a clearly uncomfortable breeze, and that the dial in the room did not enable us to reduce it. When reception was notified that the 3 of us (infant included), were freezing, the respons was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin b
Kjetil V, General Manager at Scandic Nidelven, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your feedback to us, witch I will follow up with my staff. I wish you all the best, and hope to see you again in our hotel soon. Best regards Kjetil Vassdal GM More 

743 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (242)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (113)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (479)
Viewed
Amenities (105)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (53)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (Corner) (54)
Viewed
Dining (172)
Viewed
Standard Room (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trondheim hotels
0.4 km away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Trondheim
0.4 km away
Scandic Bakklandet
Scandic Bakklandet
#4 of 25 in Trondheim
626 reviews
0.2 km away
Radisson Blu Royal Garden Hotel, Trondheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Clarion Collection Grand Olav
0.4 km away
Scandic Solsiden
Scandic Solsiden
#9 of 25 in Trondheim
326 reviews
0.4 km away
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
Comfort Hotel Trondheim
#6 of 25 in Trondheim
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Scandic Nidelven hotel is one of Trondheim's largest and most modern hotels. It's close to the city centre with sights and attractions within walking distance. The Restaurant Nidelven has been awarded Norway's best hotel breakfast the past 9 years and serve brunch on the weekend. The restaurant offers a modern inspired by the international trends within culinary arts. Our Broen Bar has a great view of Nidelven and the bridge over to Solsiden. We have 18 meeting rooms all with windows and natural daylight and can organize everything from small meetings to conventions, parties, banquets and concerts. If you want to keep in shape during your stay, please visit our gym. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Scandic Nidelven

Address: Havnegaten 1-3 | P.O. Box 101, Trondheim 7400, Norway (Formerly Rica Nidelven Hotel)
Region: Norway > Central Norway > Sor-Trondelag > Trondheim Municipality > Trondheim
Price Range: ₹ 9,000 - ₹ 13,910 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Nidelven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 343
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Scandic Nidelven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Nidelven Trondheim
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Trondheim
#2 Business Hotel in Trondheim
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trondheim
#2 Family Hotel in Trondheim
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scandic Nidelven staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
San Francisco, California

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Scandic Nidelven staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“6th floor. 2 types of rooms there.”
 of 5 bubbles marcusz224, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for rooms on the river side, possibly upper floors”
 of 5 bubbles franckor2015, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to get rooms on the water side not at the road side. They tend to be a bit noisy if you like to have open window during the night”
 of 5 bubbles armannh2013, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with the 'new key system'. (Wireless)”
 of 5 bubbles Halvlars, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room facing Nidelven river.”
 of 5 bubbles 392rayh, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay