We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

THE THIEF

Save
Share
Landgangen 1, Oslo 0252 Norway
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
eDreams
Hotels.com
US$ 504
US$ 434
View deal
SAVE US$ 70
Free cancellation until 29/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Travelocity
PricelineUS$ 504
Orbitz.com
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1189)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (484)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 102 hotels in Oslo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Stepping into THE THIEF is sure to rob you of something. Something familiar and shall we say, enslaving at times. And the thing is that the hotel is so good at it… that you might not notice until the end. You suddenly find yourself engaged in a world of new impressions: cutting-edge art, architecture and world-class gastronomy.And then it hits you, what’s been stolen from you…you haven’t had a single thought about your very long to-do list, the responsibilities at home, the everyday worries.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Nightclub / DJ
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Paid private parking nearby
Car park
Wifi
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Rooftop bar
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Steam room
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Soundproof rooms
Room service
Safe
Laptop safe
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Norwegian, Swedish
2,386Reviews20Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,748
  • 419
  • 142
  • 49
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
MarielleGrant wrote a review 9 Apr
1 contribution
Since there’s no traveling these days this super safe mini trip to The Thief was much needed. We felt so relaxed and taking cared of. Everything was at a high level of comfort and the food was amazing. Felt really renewed and well after our trip. So worth it!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Dominic Gorham, General Manager at THE THIEF
Responded yesterday
Greetings and many thanks for your review of our property. Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay . As you mentioned the “ staycation “ has become the perfect remedy to these challenging times. We have paid particular attention to the well-being of our gusts whilst providing the comfort we are renowned for . Glad you took the time to explore our restaurant as Chef Tim takes great pride in our locally sourced, seasonal and organic Norwegian fare Wishing you a warm, colourful Spring and looking forward to your return Dominic GRM The Thief
Read more
Eva wrote a review 7 Apr
Oslo, Norway83 contributions13 helpful votes
The Thief hotel is really amazing! The room was perfect, especially with the view on the fjords. About the breakfast, it was really delicious! I highly recommend a stay at The Thief Hotel. Thank you to the staff!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Dominic Gorham, General Manager at THE THIEF
Responded 3 days ago
Greetings and many thanks for your review of our property. Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay. As you mentioned we have some stunning views across the beautiful Oslo Fjord especially from our rooftop Bar / Restaurant. I’d like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts as your feedback is invaluable to us. I’ll be sharing your thoughts with my fellow Thieves. Wishing you a warm, colorful Spring and looking forward to your return Dominic GRM The Thief
Read more
nilslyseng wrote a review 3 Apr
Oslo, Norway104 contributions44 helpful votes
I had heard about this hotel and was intrigued to try it. During COVID-19 now the Thief has been popping up on my feed on Facebook with special offering. That is why me and my wife ended up here this Easter to try it out. We got a room and we upgraded with an additional 300 bucks. We got a giant tub and rain-shower. Which we both enjoyed during our stay. To relax and take it easy our room. The bed was big and had massive amount of pillows. There was even more stationed in one of the closets. The mini-bar had dozens of variety. The same with the "kiosk" inside too. With both useful items and luxourious ones. The first hotel to have disigner magazines, but no bible. That really says a lot. The was mirrors everywhere. Another dimension of lightning and control of tempretur of the room. A nespresso machine, but all capsuls was decaf except for two of them. So, was drinking the two with ordinary coffee. No watercooker, but staff came with complementary hot-water during the stay. Which we first thought we was paying additional, but actually was free. A pleasant surprise in the check-out. The room was well lit and the amount of space was swell. We had a view and could see from the small "balcony" the port and out to the fjord. Just a little glimses, but not much. Also easy to go to the tip from the outside of the hotel. It is a modern hotel and that shows. They have also tailormade everything and you could have "the Thief" this and that, if you wanted. After sleeping and figuring out the buttons to make it dark. We wake up and went down to the second floor to eat breakfast. The Breakfast an upgraded Scandinavian breakfast. They have variety of eggs. Friendly staff serving coffee and tea. Though the filtering of the coffee needs an adjustment. The ground coffee is coming with every cup and it was also very thin. Seemingly, either not taking to much or not cleaning the fitlers. I don't know, but that was the only set-back in either a spotless breakfast. The breakfast had plenty of eggs. It had nicely cut bacon. It had sauceges and baked beans. There was mixed breads, spread and other pieces of pleasentries. There was American fat-pancakes with syrup. There was overnight oats and healthy shots of vegetables. There was a huge buffet and worthy of such. They showed the quality and the amount of different choices in the morning. It was good to take a small break and enjoy our breakfast here. The Thief really showed class with the breakfast. Though I don't know If I was only unlucky with the coffee. My wife was super happy with the tea and the quality of the tea. As she had her own little maker on the table and it was a splendid flavour. We both enjoyed our stay and could return at another time. The overnight sleep in a room like that was a nice Stay-Cation for us. We really had a nice time and could rest a minute outside our own home.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: We would say - Ask for a tub and enjoy the perks of one you can be two in. It is such a luxury.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Dominic Gorham, General Manager at THE THIEF
Responded 1 week ago
Greetings and many thanks for your very detailed review of our property . Great to read you had such an enjoyable stay. As you mentioned , these are challenging times and the "staycation" has been a very important part of providing an moment of peace and complete relaxation . As we´re located on and Island in the beautiful Oslo Fjord we have been the choice of many .The peace and tranquility of the area has being greatly appreciated . . Glad that you enjoyed breakfast as Chef Tim takes great pride in our locally sourced , seasonal and organic Norwegian fare . Your description of of our buffet with "mixed breads and other pleasantries" was one of the best I´ve ever read . I´ll be sharing your thoughts with my fellow Thieves . Wishing you a warm , colourful Spring and looking forward to your return Dominic GRM The Thief
Read more
Gray S wrote a review Mar 2021
Knoxville, Tennessee4 contributions1 helpful vote
I don’t often write reviews but decided to review The Thief because we loved our stay there. We were there in June 2019, pre pandemic, to begin our cruise of Norway. Everything in the hotel, including the area around where it was built, was clean and beautiful. We were greeted warmly by the staff on arrival and every time we needed info about the hotel or Oslo, they seemed pleased to help us. Our deluxe room was large and well designed and the bed extremely comfortable. There were several nice restaurants around the hotel. The included breakfast was outstanding. The view from the terrace was great and the food up there was fine. Being from the United States and not knowing a word in Norwegian was never a problem. We would stay there again if ever have the opportunity to visit Oslo.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Dominic Gorham, General Manager at THE THIEF
Responded 3 weeks ago
Greetings and many thanks for your review of our property . Great to read you had such an enjoyable say . As you mentioned you stayed withy us pre pandemic and I´m sure you´ll be happy to hear that we have never closed . There have been a few grey days but all in all we´re still doing well . Glad that you enjoyed breakfast as Chef David takes great pride in our local sourced , seasonal and organic Norwegian fare . Your comments concerning the staff and service were a pleasure to read and I´ll be sharing your thoughts with my fellow Thieves . Wishing you a warm , colourful Spring and looking forward to your return Dominic GRM The Thief
Read more
Aurélie.S wrote a review Feb 2021
Sandefjord, Norway3 contributions
We stayed at the thief on the 14th february we been waiting for this stay after all the time we wanted to go at the thief.. We got an offer on the room so we took the occasion to go for it. We did stay in a deluxe room. Let's just say it have being quite disapointing, check-in was fine, when we arrived to the bedroom the cleaning staff was almost done and was just going out of the room. The room was clean but the commun area of the hotel, was not we did saw some dirty masks in the corridor of our floor. The remote of the room was working hardly we took almost 15min logging in our netflix account. The bed was comfy but the duvet is way too short for thoses king size bed we had to fight for it and woke up multiples times because of this. The sound isolation is poor, we were woke up monday morning by all the deliveries and the evening heard people and dog from the street, for the corridor we heard every people passing by when they talked or walked.. Breakfast was good tho. Conclusion hotel room looked nice but it definitely haven't give us the five star feeling.. and we definitely think that it didn't worth more than the price paid with the offer. We stayed at other five star and it was way better. We have a stay booked for my birthday in march but right now we are considering cancelling..
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Dominic Gorham, General Manager at THE THIEF
Responded 18 Feb 2021
Greetings and many thanks for your review of our property . As i can see from your review your stay was far from optimal . I must admit that I´m surprised by some of your comments as the property is well known for it´s peaceful and tranquil profile in a car / traffic free peninsular on an Island in the Oslo Fjord .However I´d like it thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts as your feedback in invaluable to us . I´ll be looking into your comments and contacting you directly Wishing you a crisp , snowy Winter and you will be hearing from me shortly Dominic GRM The Thief
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$348 - US$464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NorwayEastern NorwayOslo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
114
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about THE THIEF
Which popular attractions are close to THE THIEF?
Nearby attractions include Tjuvholmen Sculpture Park (0.2 km), Tjuvholmen Neighbourhood (0.06 km), and Astrup Fearnley Museet (0.10 km).
What are some of the property amenities at THE THIEF?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at THE THIEF?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at THE THIEF?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at THE THIEF?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to THE THIEF?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Salmon, Dognvill Burger Tjuvholmen, and Hanami.
Are there opportunities to exercise at THE THIEF?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does THE THIEF have an airport shuttle?
Yes, THE THIEF offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at THE THIEF?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at THE THIEF?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does THE THIEF offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.