We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thon Hotel Spectrum

CancelonUS$ 161*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 184*
US$ 161*
Great Deal
US$ 184*
US$ 184*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Thon Hotel Spectrum
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

461 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 157: English reviews
Start your review of Thon Hotel Spectrum
 Click to rate
Porsgrunn, Norway
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I went to Oslo to attend a conference. The conference is located at the suburb area but it has the transportation connection. The hotel is located at the town centre. It is close to two Metro station, tram and bus stop. The hotel is also close to the food street.

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tjandra2017
Michigan City
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Thon Hotel with refurbished rooms. Great breakfast. Very friendly staff. Good deals on the web. Quiet, clean hotel. Centrally located. Good reward programme. Highly recommended and one of the good value-for-money hotels in Oslo!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mathis A H
Monica V, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Spectrum, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a nice review, it is highly appreciated! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion. Best regards Monica Vestad Hotel Manager

Paris, France
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

A couple of nights here in March, very cold out and toasty warm in. Major renovation going on so a few challenges, couldn't open the curtains as there were workmen on scaffolding outside in the morning so missed the sun. And the dining room closed so a short walk to nearby cafe instead, ok but not perfect. I booked here...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pip T
Monica V, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Spectrum, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are sorry that you were affected by the construction work going on outside. We are currently changing the windows, so for some rooms this can unfortunately be disturbing. The arrangement with breakfast at the café is temporary, we expect our own breakfast room to be ready...

Norway
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Convenient hotel close to Oslo Spectrum. Hotel was under renovation during our visit and they started to work 06.50 in the morning, so no more sleep for us. We were not informed in advance about this and it interupted the whole impression of a good night sleep after a shownigh. The room was very nice,large and modern. Facilities for making...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lalina_Norway
Monica V, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Spectrum, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review after your stay with us. I am sorry that you were woken up early in the morning. The construction workers are informed that no noisy work should be done before 10:00 in the morning, and we will check up what has happened here. I am sorry that...

Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

The hotel was currently under renovation as of the wed night I stayed 22 FEB 2017. The room was nice and comfortable, however I was woken up at 0100 by loud screaming. There is a bar right next to the hotel. I'm not sure if that was the cause, but the loud yelling and screaming back and forth continued on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John R
Monica V, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Spectrum, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am sorry that you were unable to sleep. The street outside is a busy pedestrian street, so some noise from people can unfortunately occur. This week it has been winter holidays in Norway, so I can imagine that there were more people out than normal on...

Solna, Sweden
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Nice and clean hotel close to the city center, central station and communications. They were renovating rooms and restaurant, so breakfast was served at a nearby cafe. They don't have a gym, nor do they cooperate with any which is a shame. I went to nearby SATS Spektrum and paid 200 NOK for 24 hour pass. It's a very basic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zebban
Monica V, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Spectrum, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for your review, it is highly appreciated! We are glad that you found the hotel to be nice and clean, and centrally located. As you say, we are currently renovating the hotel. In addition to renovating all the hotel rooms, we are building a gym, a breakfast room and a lounge - so this...

Fairbanks, Alaska
Reviewed 31 January 2017

My son and I went to Oslo to see Green Day in concert. I chose this because of the location to the Spectrum. To say it was close to everything is an understatement. It was an easy to walk to Karl Johan's Gate, there is a large mall called Oslo City very nearby, there are good places to eat. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jfayaz
Monica V, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Spectrum, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to send us a review. We are glad to see that you were happy with our location, and that you liked the room! Thon Hotels is doing a major renovation on many of the hotels now, and our goal is to present the hotels as colourful and inviting - hence...

Reviewed 24 January 2017

Stayed in a nice, newly renovated room. Beds are really comfortable, so in general the comfort of the room itself is great. However, the breakfast is served in a nearby café as the breakfast area of the Hotel is under renovation. I must say, that the breakfast is quite possibly the worst Hotel breakfast I have ever been served. If...

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erik S
Monica V, Hotel Manager at Thon Hotel Spectrum, responded to this review

Dear Erik, Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed by the breakfast, and can assure you that we are working continuously with the Café to increase the standard of the breakfast product. As you know, this is temporary, and our own breakfast room will be ready for use during...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 4 December 2016

The hotel is going through a renovation and we had one of the new rooms. Rooms are very spacious, modern and comfortable. Very centrally located, close to the Oslo S train station and Karl Johan street (all walking distance). The front desk staff were extremely helpful in giving us directions on how to get to places. Pastries and coffee available...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dgarcia718
Monica V, Reservations Manager at Thon Hotel Spectrum, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a review. We are happy to hear that you liked the hotel and that the front desk staff took good care of you during your stay. We hope to be able to welcome you to Thon Hotel Spectrum again on another occasion. Best regards Monica Vestad Reservations...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 19 November 2016

Had a nice balcony which I enjoyed. Room was a bit tight though getting around. Staff was friendly. The location was OK. The price was more reasonable than some of the others downtown so I went with it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TopBloke999
Monica V, Reservations Manager at Thon Hotel Spectrum, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. However, I think you might have reviewed the wrong hotel? We do not have any rooms with balcony at Thon Hotel Spectrum. As there are 15 Thon - hotels in Oslo, it is easy to make the mistake of choosing the wrong Thon - hotel to review....

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (93)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Terminus
Thon Hotel Terminus
#10 of 100 in Oslo
741 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#19 of 100 in Oslo
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Oslo City
Scandic Oslo City
#37 of 100 in Oslo
618 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Astoria
Thon Hotel Astoria
#59 of 100 in Oslo
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Spectrum

Address: Brugata 7, Oslo 0186, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Price Range: ₹ 9,627 - ₹ 15,250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Spectrum 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Spectrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Oslo
Thon Hotel Oslo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thon Hotel Spectrum staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Thon Hotel Spectrum staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No special recommendation”
Lalina_Norway, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If arriving through the train station, finding the hotel and Brugata street could be tricky.”
dgarcia718, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Request for rooms facing inner court for better sleep”
footsteps333, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“My room, room 406, while facing a car park was quiet in terms of traffic noise 'compensated' by a resident noisy seagull.”
johnrichardm2016, 24 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Corner suites are large sunny”
trulsroste, 4 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$ 161* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 184
Hotels.comUS$ 184
TripAdvisorUS$ 184
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates