We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Thon Hotel Tromso

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Thon Hotel Tromso
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

389 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Thon Hotel Tromso
See the most recent reviews
Showing 197: English reviews
Turin, Italy
Reviewed 25 February 2015

Strategically located in the middle of Tromsø. Professional and kind staff, clean and comfortable rooms at fair rates Breakfast is great, homemade bread is a plus. Nespresso coffee free at the lobby, cool! Takk!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Figaro_AB
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review

We thank you for your positive evaluation of your stay with us at the Thon Hotel Tromsø. We are pleased to see you had an enjoyable stay and that you value our location, our infrastructure and especially the service which your received from our staff. We will definitely share your feedback with them.

Royston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2015

The Thon (Ton) is centrally based for anywhere in Tromso, with airport 15 minutes max away by taxi (NOK200-220). The clean efficient hotel is comfortable and clean. It is not an expensive hotel and so does not have the facilities to match, no bar, small reception and no restaurant. But it does not boast these and people should expect these...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BillDewberry
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review

We appreciate you took the time to evaluate your stay with us at the Thon Hotel Tromsø. At our breakfast we offer a wide variety of fresh and local products and we have both a hot and cold buffet available. We are happy to read that you appreciated the offer. We hope to see you back again in the near...

Reviewed 23 February 2015

Thon hotel is a great choice if visiting Tromso. It is located just off the main street, not too far from the main attractions or transit routes in the city. Hotel is clean, staff friendly and helpful, and breakfast is excellent!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bryan C
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted to hear that your stay was such a success, and hope to see you back again in the near future!

Stathelle, Norway
Reviewed 22 February 2015 via mobile

Lack of facilities make this hotel just a hotel. But the rooms are okay, it's clean and breakfast is okay. In a cold winters day it would be nice with a sauna. Parking next door, and close to everything. No in-house restaurant, but there are several in walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Harald D
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review

Dear traveler, We appreciate you took the time to evaluate your stay with us at the Thon Hotel Tromsø. We hope to see you back again in the near future.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2015

Not a seafront location, but comfortable, modern and clean. Short walk from the Flybussen stop at Grand Hotel. Room was a bit cramped but comfortable beds. Nice buffet breakfast, although busy. Front desk often had queues. Free WiFi. We were happy enough with this choice, but would probably opt for a quayside hotel if we visit again, although expect these...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George R
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review

Dear traveler, We appreciate you took the time to evaluate your stay with us at the Thon Hotel Tromsø. We hope to see you back again in the near future.

Kent
Reviewed 8 February 2015 via mobile

We paid in advance for our hotel (no cancellation etc) about 2 weeks before we went and got it half price. This made it cheaper than even the budget hotels we'd been looking at. Staff are really helpful and friendly, breakfast has a big selection. For those wondering, yes, it included fried eggs, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, baked beans and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank emma3554
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review

We thank you for your positive evaluation of your stay with us at the Thon Hotel Tromsø. We are pleased to see you had an enjoyable stay and that you value our location, our infrastructure and especially the service which your received from our staff. We will definitely share your feedback with them.

kent
Reviewed 7 February 2015

Nice clean efficient friendly hotel close to the city centre and lots of restaurants, a great location. Brilliant breakfast! Hotel staff were really friendly and helped point us towards a nice restaurant on the first night

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lucyf32
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us. We hope to see you back again in the near future Welcome back!

London
Reviewed 7 February 2015

Welcoming staff and excellent breakfast, with highlight of free nespresso coffee in reception and good wi-fi. The room we had offered little in the way of storage space except for hangers - certainly no drawers and hardly any shelves - so not recommended for a stay of more than a couple of nights. My bed-head light was not working on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Winklight
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review

We were happy to hear that the overall impression of your stay was good. However, we are not satisfied with the lack of welcoming atmosphere you experienced with us. This is extremely important to us and we offer you our apologies. I can assure that this is not representative of the general guest experience at Thon Tromsø, and it will...

Milan, Italy
Reviewed 6 February 2015 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights,very confortable hotel with an amazing breakfast with a bih choice of fresh products:bread,eggs,waffles,fish,ham,juices.Staff is very kind.Good located in the city center,my twin room was clean and spacious.I strongly suggest it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lllaura1981
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review

We thank you for your positive evaluation of your stay with us at the Thon Hotel Tromsø. We are pleased to see you had an enjoyable stay and that you value our location, our infrastructure and especially the service which your received from our staff. We will definitely share your feedback with them.

Mumbai, India
Reviewed 29 January 2015 via mobile

The Thon Hotel Tromso is quite affordable and is very nicely located in the city centre. The staff is very helpful. The breakfast spread is also decently big and has options for vegeterians. But, the only issue is the rooms are pretty small especially the bathrooms. I would rather pay a little more and stay at the radisson blu or...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SmritiBajajGupta
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review

Dear traveler, We appreciate you took the time to evaluate your stay with us at the Thon Hotel Tromsø. We hope to see you back again in the near future.

115 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 km away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.3 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.2 km away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#4 of 18 in Tromso
603 reviews
0.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.3 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Tromso

Address: Groennegata 50, Tromso 9008, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Price Range: ₹ 9,346 - ₹ 14,121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Tromso 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Thon Hotel Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Tromso
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thon Hotel Tromso staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Thon Hotel Tromso staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room on top floor (6) have balconies! Room 621 great :)”
 of 5 bubbles NataschaDerese, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms can be very warm, they do have windows but ask reception if the temperature can be adjusted.”
 of 5 bubbles 78andrewg, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Best views from upper floors on south side.”
 of 5 bubbles 18Stephen90, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The higher you are the quieter it is plus, we got a fantastic Northern lights show from our window on 6th floor.”
 of 5 bubbles NormaJames, 8 Feb 2016 | Read review
“No coffee or hot water in room but available in lobby”
 of 5 bubbles 99derrickn, 15 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay