We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

488 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof
See the most recent reviews
Showing 228: English reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2016

This is a no frills kind of place that offers clean rooms at a reasonable price. The all of the staff members I encountered here are very friendly and go out of their way to be of assistance. Keep in mind that it mainly caters to the youth demographic--this is not really a place for families. The breakfast was fine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank N. D
MEININGERHotels, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you very much for your rating! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again for your next trip to Vienna. Kind regards, the Meininger Team

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

The hostel has great en suite dorm rooms, very comfy and spacious, and felt very clean and safe. It is really out the way from the city centre and so you have to catch the metro, and I found it wasn't the best for socialising. Make sure you bring your own padlocks for the lockers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarmiteBoosh
MEININGERHotels, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Hi! Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are glad that all in all you had a good stay with us. If you dont like to take the metro it`s only a 30 minutes walk trough the nice and aspiring 10th and 4th district, with all it's nice parks and restaurants/cafes. We hope to welcome you again in this or...

Reviewed 8 September 2016

Meininger properties are all about the location and this one was no different at barely 100 metres from the U-Bahn station Keplerplatz. Suffice it to say it's an absolute stroll to arrive at this hostel using public transport from wherever you are. We'd booked for 3 nights and had to cancel on the 3rd night entirely due to a change...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jkysharma
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for the gret review. We are happy that you enjoyed your time here at Meininger Central Sttion and looking forward to see you again soon. Cheers! Your Meininger Tem from Vienna

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 31 August 2016

This is a budget hotel that caters to a youth demographic, not couples or people seeking simple accommodations during their vacations. The upside of this hotel is that the staff are very helpful, but the downside is that you will have to put up with young people who yell and act rather immaturely in the hobby or wherever loitering is...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank OutMosquitoMe
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for the feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to see you again soon. As you mentioned it we are a mixture of a hotel and hostel. And the surrounding area is pretty international. Rough is not the right word. Your Meininger Team from Vienn

Reviewed 31 August 2016

Unfortunately I'm leaving a negative review because after staying at this hostel I have small bug bites all over my hands and body. Another individual in my dorm also shared that his body was itching all over due to bed bugs. Our dorm also had issues with our sink and shower draining, which it didn't. Thus we'd be in the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Martin B
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear Martin Thank you for your review. We checked both rooms you stayed in and we can't find single bug. The MEININGER Hotels are working together with the best pest control companies in Vienna as we take every possible occurence of insects very serious. We know bed bugs are getting a bigger problem in europe and we invest a lot...

Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Comfy, clean and friendly. Seema like a hotel, as you can have one card as the keys and you also have air conditioner in all rooms. The best thing about the hostel are two things: 1) the bathroom, single one, with hot water and 2) the bar downstairs. The location is good as well, once is right in front the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank victoralexandrino
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for the recommendation. We are very happy that you had a great stay here at Meininger Central Station and looking forward to see you again soon. As you mentioned it we do not have an AC in our rooms but we provide fans at the reception. Your Meininger Team from Vienna

Ramnicu Valcea, Romania
Reviewed 23 August 2016

good hotel, close to metro breakfast ok, underground parking, value for money, large rooms, cleanliness, recommended hotel for visiting Vienna, no air conditioning which can be a problem in summer months

 Report
Helpful?
Thank edwardsU8467LJ
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for rating us. We are happy that you enjoyed your time in Vienna and looking forward to the next time. As you mentioned it we do not have an AC but you can rent a fan at the reception. Your Meininger Team from Vienna

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 22 August 2016

The good thing about this hostel is that it is really close to a Metro station so commuting is sorted. The rooms & washrooms are clean. It isn't situated in the city centre, which is always better because you can see the real side of the city as well. Some staff members are good, some aren't. I faced a unique...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank thisIsAbhishek
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for the review. We feel sorry for the inconvinience you had. This is not the way we want to handle our guests. We spoke to our staff to avoid these situations in furture. Nevertheless we hope to see you again. Your Meininger Team from Vienna

Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

But the whole place wreaked of cigarette smoke. The room was clean and there was plenty of room for our family of five. The parking garage underneath the Hotel/Hostel was convenient but only if you have a tiny car. We however had a large 9 seater van. The hotel/hostel served its purpose. The breakfast was typical German fare, but a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank presleytulsa
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for sharing your feedback. We are glad that you stayed with us but feel sorry that you didi not enjoy your stay like our other guests. We are very sorry for cigarette smoke. Cause we are a nonsmoking house. If your car does not fit in the garage you can park for free in the surrounding...

Reviewed 13 August 2016

Very convenient location close to a tube station and reasonably priced. Rooms are basic but it's a budget hotel. Only real issue was that many youthful people either from the hotel itself or who just happen to congregate there regularly disturb the peace of night. There is no a.c. so if you leave the window open (it was warm when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chevy J
MEININGERHotels, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for sharing some feedback. We are glad that you stayed with us and will welcome you the next time. As you mention it we do not have an AC but you cant rent a fan at the reception. We are sorry about the noise, if there is anything disturbing you do not hesitate to contact our...

140 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (125)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Hotel Schani Wien
#35 of 367 in Vienna
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Wieden
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof
#28 of 201 in Vienna
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The MEININGER Hotel Vienna Central Station is situated in the heart of Vienna, directly by Hauptbahnhof station, Vienna's former South Station. The baroque palace Belvedere and the Karlsplatz are only round the corner. It's just a 10-minute train ride to the city centre. In addition to modern rooms, the hotel also offers free WiFi throughout the hotel, a bar and a gamesroom. ... more   less 

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof

Address: Columbusgasse 16, Vienna 1100, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Price Range: ₹ 2,335 - ₹ 7,428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hostel And Hotel Vienna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Rawang, Malaysia
over a year ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from MEININGER Hotel Wien Hauptbahnhof staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a private room.”
 of 5 bubbles 608nd, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“They have the card system wherein your card gives access to both your floor and room so anyone going out needs to have the card on them.”
 of 5 bubbles jkysharma, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay on one of the lower floors. Slow elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles OutMosquitoMe, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the court yard.”
 of 5 bubbles Gastronome19, 29 May 2016 | Read review
“Just find a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Orli-Hidai, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5