We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Post

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Post
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

465 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Post
See the most recent reviews
Showing 196: English reviews
Sutton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

I was revisiting the Hotel Post for the first time in 20 years. The hotel is only 3-4 minutes walk (if that?) from Schwedenplatz metro station, and only one stop on the S4 line away from Landstrase/Wien Mitte station if coming direct from the Airport. From memory, both the lobby area, and the restaurant have undergone some refurbishment. The leather...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _ajnoble1964
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

Fantastic location with many sights within walking distance. I found my room really spacious, well equipped and very comfortable. I stayed here with friends as a cheap option before flying home. I always judge a place on whether I'd book the hotel if I was travelling with my wife. The answer here is a definite yes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ClovaTheWestie
Baku, Azerbaijan
Reviewed 1 November 2016

One of my favorite hotels in Austria. Have been there for 4 times already and am very glad. Hotel is absolutely well located, very close to main city sights, to Schwedenplatz U-1. Of course, it's a little bit expensive for a 3-stars hotel, but anyway it's really good for stay in. The room is very clean every time, the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aygun_Allahverdi
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Stayed recently at the Hotel Post with friends. Our rooms were large & airy, clean & comfortable. The hotel staff were friendly & helpful, & the included breakfast had plenty of choices which were frequently replenished. The hotel is well-located in a quiet road with many restaurants close by. Just a few minutes easy walk away is the pedestrianised area...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sgin21
Porto, Portugal
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Place is very well located, price is good, and service is normal. Good for someone who just needs a room for a few hours. Doors dont actually isolate any sound from the hall, and curtains are to short for the window size, light coming inside in early in the morning. But not a big deal.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AndreMM
Ankara, Turkey
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Close to airport bus and Schwedenplatz U-1 metro station. Old building, not great facilities. No A/C, a bit expensive for a 3-star hotel. Breakfast ok. Single rooms are too small. No fridge. Still convenient either for leisure travelers or business travelers. Close to city center, Stephansplatz and Graben. Bratislava boats take off from Schwedenplatz.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sebnemudum
McLean, Virginia
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Hotel Post is very well located inside the ring on the northern section very near the canal and a few minute walk from sights within the ring. The day after booking I realized our room had a shared bath with the entire hotel floor. Then to break the news to my lovely wife. The hotel was full (another testament to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank William W
Oak Forest
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Overall, this is actually a clean, basic hotel with good prices in a great location. I don't want to trash it because it had many good qualities. I would have given it another star or two but, unfortunately, we had a family room #603 and two of us slept on an uncomfortable fold out couch. (We were traveling with a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank S L
fraihs, Manager at Hotel Post, responded to this review

Dear S L, thank you very much for your comments. We are really sorry to read that, but to whom did you talk because of that, as I'm the manager but you definitaly didn't talk with me? As I don't know when you stayed with us, I also don't know if we were fully booked so no possibility to give...

Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Stayed here in December for 2 nights with my girlfriend. Very good location, in a fairly quiet street, close to the city centre and close to an underground station (Schwedenplatz). The staff were very helpful, receptionist could even speak fluent Hungarian, which my Hungarian girlfriend really appreciated. The rooms were quite basic, but no major problems. Breakfast was generous and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RyanParchie
Porto, Portugal
Reviewed 19 September 2016

The Hotel Post is centrally located in the old part of the town, 1 minute from bus and tram stop and underground station from where you can reach every part of the town, the nearest train station in 2-minutes or the airport in less than half an hour. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The wi-fi is free and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manuel_Porto

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (103)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Old University Quarter
Alma Boutique-Hotel
Alma Boutique-Hotel
#133 of 366 in Vienna
234 reviews
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#189 of 366 in Vienna
313 reviews
Old University Quarter
Kaerntnerhof
Kaerntnerhof
#67 of 366 in Vienna
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#22 of 366 in Vienna
1,169 reviews
Inner City
Pension City
Pension City
#105 of 366 in Vienna
183 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#20 of 366 in Vienna
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old University Quarter

Neighbourhood Profile
Old University Quarter
North of St. Stephen’s Cathedral, Vienna suddenly turns small, winding and medieval, opening up to legendary places such as the Basilisk sculpture at Schönlaterngasse, as well as glamorous baroque façades, courtyards and churches. Take 45 minutes for a casual stroll through Bäckerstrasse, Sonnenfelsgasse, Köllnerhofgasse, Grashofgasse, and Schönlaterngasse. This quarter is packed with stories and legends that will enrich your Vienna experience.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A central location with some nice tradition: Here was formerly the Gasthaus Zum white oxen, it was in later times known as Hotel Zur Stadt London. A house that counted personalities such as Mozart, Joseph Haydn, Friedrich Nietzsche, Richard Wagner, Frédéric Chopin and Leos Janacek to his regulars. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Post

Address: Fleischmarkt 24, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Old University Quarter , Innere Stadt
Price Range: ₹ 4,748 - ₹ 9,638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Post 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel Vienna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Post staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Post staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hotel is situated in a very quiet street so you won't have trouble to sleep after exciting day in Vienna”
 of 5 bubbles MarinaC_bg, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not close to the street”
 of 5 bubbles GabyML1301, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“My room was a the front of the hotel, and Fleischmarkt is fairly quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles _ajnoble1964, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Aygun_Allahverdi, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Family room #603 has a fold out couch that is very uncomfortable... I would avoid it or use it for children only”
 of 5 bubbles 978KevinL, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5