We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Royal

Traveller (345)
360
Panoramas (10)
Dining (96)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Property amenities
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Room Service
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Minibar
Non-Smoking Rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Historic Hotel
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
439Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
221Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Neighbourhood
Inner City
In Vienna's best-known district, pedestrian boulevards Kärntner Strasse and Graben connect you with landmarks such as the Wiener Staatsoper (Vienna State Opera), Vienna’s iconic Stephansdom (St. Stephen’s Cathedral) and the vast compound of Hofburg, the Habsburgs’ former Imperial Palace. Peek down side streets such as Annagasse and Weihburggasse, and Graben’s Seilergasse and Habsburggasse, to get a feel for the centre. The Imperial Apartments and the refreshingly demystifying Sissi Museum are must-dos at Hofburg. Spacious squares such as Am Hof and Freyung often host beautiful seasonal and antiques markets.
Read more
See all nearby hotels
989Reviews
597Photos
27Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 328
  • 451
  • 110
  • 45
  • 55
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
My poor opinion of this hotel is based only on the poor service we received at check-in. The hotel is in a great location, is clean and offers a great breakfast. We stayed here on 2 occasions this in the space of 2 weeks. Our first visit was very satisfactory and we looked
Read more
The Hotel Royal is basically located on Stephansplatz , central Vienna. Kartner Straße is 40 steps away, as is Stephansplatz Underground Station which is most convenient. Every convenience store you will require from a Bila Supermarket to Souvenir outlets are on their doorstep
Read more
Response from FamilieKremslehner, Manager at Hotel Royal
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Wayne, thank you very much for your comment about your stay at the Hotel Royal. We are pleased to read, that you had a nice experience at our hotel and with our staff. I will forward your compliments to our staff. Looking forwards to welcoming you soon again. With best regards The Kremslehner family on behalf of the Hotel Royal Team
Read more
Not even close to four stars. Lousy rooms, furniture that was minimum thirty years old, and, what was even worse, unfriendly staff that treats guests like they are doing them a great favour, by talking to them.
Read more
Response from FamilieKremslehner, Direktion at Hotel Royal
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your past experience at Hotel Royal. We are terribly sorry to hear, that you did not like the room, you were assigned to. We want to point out, that the rooms at Hotel Royal are mainly furnished with Art Nouveau furnishing and period furniture, and respect the strict guidelines of a traditional 4* city hotel. Regarding our staff, we are very sorry to hear that you felt so unwelcome. We assure you, that this is certainly not our way of standard. With each guest comment received we strive to put into effect those suggestions that will make our guest’s stay with us a more pleasing and memorable. Thank you again for providing your constructive feedback and we do hope that you would give us a chance, once again to welcome you at our hotel! We remain with kindest regards from Vienna, The Kremslehner family on behalf of the Hotel Royal
Read more
We stayed 4 nights in a deluxe room at the royal hotel. Best thing is its prime location. But what about all the rest? The hotel pretends to be a 4 star hotel, but almost all facilities did not meet minimal expectations. First of all - the toilet of 2-3 room we checked had a
Read more
Response from FamilieKremslehner, Direktion at Hotel Royal
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear guest, first, we would like to thank you once again for taking the time and leaving a review also on TripAdvisor. As already described within our detailed statement via email, we would like to apologize once again for all caused inconveniences. We hope our mail was sufficient for clarification. In the meantime, we remain with my best regards, The Kremslehner family on behalf of the Hotel Royal Team
Read more
Fabulous location but from there it was downhill. We found that the staff (bar one lady who was Polish) were very disinterested in us as their guests (and at times quite condescending). They paid more attention to guests staying in higher levelled room than hours. Hot food at
Read more
Response from FamilieKremslehner, Direktion at Hotel Royal
Responded 8 Jan 2019
Dear guest, we would like to thank you very much that you took the time to send us your review. We are ever so sorry, but also a bit surprised to hear that you were so unhappy with the experienced performance not only with our Restaurant, but also with the whole Hotel. We apologize very much that you felt so unwelcome from our staff, as well as that you did not enjoy the food served - which was cold as well! Please be so kind and address your complaint about cold food immediately on-site, so that we could have the chance to make it better! We want to assure you that we are going to talk to our staff about this, as it is so important for us to have a caring and respectful interaction with all of our guests! We are terribly sorry to hear, that you did not like the room, you were assigned to. Unfortunately you did not come to complain at our reception. Of course we would have proposed to you another room, if we would have known about your disappointment during your stay. Anyway, we want to point out, that the rooms at Hotel Royal are all different and are mainly furnished with Art Nouveau and period furniture, and respects the strict guidelines of a traditional 4* city hotel. Again, we are sorry for the incoveniences we have caused and we hope, that maybe we get a second chance to welcome you in our Restaurant and Hotel and remain in the meantime, with best regards, The Kremslehner family on behalf of the Hotel Royal team
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel Royal
The Deluxe Quadruple Room at the Hotel Royal
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel Royal
The Deluxe Room at the Hotel Royal
Photo provided by managementHotel Royal
Hotel Royal Guest Room
Photo provided by managementHotel Royal
PreviousNext
12345660
Can’t remember exactly.i think 7-10
0 votes
Show all answers
Take the CAT to the main underground then it is two stops to stephanplatz underground
0 votes
Show all answers
Sorry I don't know. We didn't have a car.
0 votes
Show all answers
Sorry, but I have not been I Zagreb.
0 votes
Show all answers
Either you try one of our in house restaurants - Firenze or Settimo Cielo - we would go for the Firenze , because it offers traditional Italian food or we could recommend Trattoria Santo Stefano in Dorotheergasse 3 - just 2 minutes walk which offers Pizza as well. Best greetings your Family Kremslehner
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123456
"first or second floors facing singerstrasse are too noisy"
"go to lower floors in warm weather"
"Rooms at the back,top floor, possibly the quieter ones."
"Rooms higher up are probably quieter since this is a pretty busy, noisy district."
"room 37 was spacious, clean and had a city view"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$ 106 - US$ 244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
vienna royal hotelroyal hotel viennahotel royal vienna
LOCATION
AustriaVienna RegionViennaInner City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
88
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing