MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz

MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz

Traveller (357)
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz, Doppelzimmer
Room & Suite (166)
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#191 of 380 hotels in Vienna
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Booking is subject to availability. The MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz is in Vienna's second district of Leopoldstadt between Augarten and the Danube canal. The Karmeliter market with its many delicacies and Vienna's Old Town are just around the corner. The Franz hotel with its functional and modern design is ideal for city breaks that call for simplicity and precision. With services such as free WiFi, guest kitchen, bar and gaming area... holidaying with MEININGER is more than just low-cost accommodation. Our rooms are professionally cleaned and disinfected before every arrival. Please note: With our initiative "Mindful by nature" your room is only being cleaned upon request during your stay. If you wish to have your room cleaned, simply let us know at reception. Shared rooms are being cleaned daily.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Billiards
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Snack bar
Vending machine
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
City View
Languages Spoken
English, German
Hotel links
Special Price:Book direct & save up to 20%

Location

Rembrandtstrasse 21, Vienna 1020 Austria
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 83 out of 100
83
Vienna Intl Airport
18.9 km
See all flights
Ivanka Airport
Roßauer Lände
4 minVienna U-Bahn
1,285Review30Q+A62Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 388
  • 565
  • 217
  • 60
  • 55
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Evlalía K wrote a review Nov 2022
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Meininger Hostel is perfect! I've stayed there twice now, once in 2017 and once now in 2022. The staff is very polite and helpful. The location is great, you can either walk to the downtown or take a train, the trainstation is very near. The rooms are clean and very comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MEININGER Downtown Franz, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Responded 20 May 2024
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your kind words and for choosing Meininger Hostel for your stay in Vienna, both in 2017 and now in 2022. We're thrilled to hear that you've had positive experiences with us and that you find our staff polite and helpful. It's fantastic to know that you appreciate our convenient location, allowing easy access to downtown Vienna either by walking or taking the nearby train. We strive to maintain clean and comfortable rooms for all our guests, so it's wonderful to hear that you found them to your satisfaction. We truly value your continued support and loyalty, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another fantastic stay whenever your travels bring you to Vienna again. Warm regards, Your Meininger Hostel Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Selim Imre wrote a review Jan 2020
Antalya, Türkiye
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It is a compact hotel, located close to the center. Concept is kind of a smart hostel - I would say. It is very close to the U-Bahn station. We used train from bus stop and to the airport. Location was very convenient. I didn't use but I see that it has a autopark which I think something very useful in Vienna.

Reception staff was always very warm, helpful and responsive. Although reception was busy, during checkin we received a detailed info about hotel and surroundings. We got very fulfilling answers to our questions regarding Vienna and other tourist related things. Also during our stay, reception staff gave us extraordinary tips which made us stay in Vienna more convenient, avoid tourist traps and comfortable. They were always with a smile and helpful manner.

Breakfast was nice With the €7.9 price, it is almost a coffee+croissant price in Vienna but you get a full open buffet breakfast. It is a very nutritious and convenient way to start your day in Vienna. One must buy this breakfast.

Room was modest which you would expect from a Vienna city hotel. Design is modern. I liked the idea of "green stay" which means you opt-out room cleaning during your stay (to save water, energy and detergent use) and you get a free drinks coupon.

I recommend this hotel and I would choose it again when I visit Vienna.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Online Marketing, Owner at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Responded 20 Feb 2020
Dear guest, first of all let me thank you for the time you took for this detailed feedback. We are thrilled to hear that your onsite experience was everything you had hoped for. What means the most to us is knowing that you felt well cared for by our team of professionals who helped create an outstanding experience during your time with us. We are also very happy to read that you appreciate our "green stay" project, which allows us to do something for our planet with the help of opur guests! We are looking forward to welcome you back soon to one of our MEININGER houses throughout Europe, maybe in Rome next time? Best wishes, Sara
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Samantha H wrote a review Jul 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Unfortuntely there were things that could not be ignored for this Price. Normally I would not expect a lot of service if i paid 20€ per Night, but we paid the same Price as Almost every other budget Hotel in Vienna offered.
First of all the room had a terrible smell and their AC is not existant - After showering it was all Hidden in Steam, again, the AC is not there.
In General it was Cold in the room and we had our stay in July, so that says a lot. I don't care about that, but the TV mostly doesn't work, some of the Austrian Programms do, but then again, english channels not available. The common Kitchen is so Small that it Almost loses the concept of the hostel, it is impossible to use it for cooking.
Noise cancellation non existant, we Heard everything what happened in a room above us. We Took a private room, not a shared dorm. The room in General was very average, no signs of coziness whatsoever.
And finally, it is a bit outside of all the main Vienna streets, the connection is average, so the Price for such izolated location could be lower.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CassieOnTour wrote a review Jan 2020
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Quite possibly the worst place I’ve ever stayed. I originally paid for a 6 bed room but when I arrived I was told I had been moved to a 4 bed room. I thought okay no problem. But when I went upstairs to the room, it was a tiny, previous hotel double or twin room, that they had stuck a bunk bed in the corner. The bunk bed was 30cm, at most, away from the first bed on the floor. Which btw was classed as 2 separate beds but were out together as if a couple could stay in them!? Now most backpackers travel solo and I can’t imagine they’d want to sleep that close to somebody!?
I went back downstairs to reception and asked why I had been moved and if I could please go back to a 6 bed room (as they appeared bigger on the photos). I was told they were fully booked but they did some shuffling so I could be moved... thank you for honouring what I actually booked in the first place. (Notice the sarcasm).
This room was better layed out and more acceptable. However, I have never stayed in a hostel where you have to make your own bed. Nor I have ever stayed on such an uncomfortable mattress, with springs quite literally poking out. It was uncomfortable to say the least. During my stay, other than a quick mop of the floor and the emptying of bins, the room was never cleaned. Stains in the sinks, shower and toilet that were present on the first day remained on my last day. Which is quite honestly disgusting considering I was there for 3 nights.
I paid around €18 per night, which for Vienna is reasonable. But for the conditions is extortionate. To me it seemed that the hotel was not doing so well with business, as a hotel, that they decided to convert some of the rooms to seem like a hostel... to attract backpackers & earn more money. But it was done awfully. I would never book to stay with Meininger again and I would strong advise anybody not to waste their money with them either.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MEININGERhotels, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Dear guest, please allow us to begin by thanking you for choosing us as your accommodation during this recent trip to the Vienna. We are terribly sorry to read of the disappointing stay you had and appreciate you taking the time to share further details in regards to the areas, where we failed to live up to your needs and expectations. We are sorry that you have been allocated in a 4bed dormitory without being informed previously. This should of course not be the case and we appreciate your valued feedback, which will be further discussed with the management team. With this being said, I would like to note, that in most hostels all over Europe, you have to make the bed by yourself, we however, provide clean bedsheets and hotel standards. Please, also consider the low price we offer for one of the most expensive cities in Europe in a very central area. In addition, we do wish to note that MEININGER is not a hotel turned into a hostel, since a hybrid concept, which is what makes MEININGER quite unique and in which we pride ourselves as it allows as to welcome every type of guest and offer the best of both parts! Nevertheless, we thank you for your valued and detailed review; your feedback is important to us, because it helps us to grow and reach new levels of quality service. We do hope to have the chance to earn back your trust and to give you the great experience that so many of our guests have grown fond of. Kind regards, Sara
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hanna wrote a review Aug 2022
Utrecht
3.0 of 5 bubbles
When I checked in, they said they were overbooked and the bed I had booked wasn't free for the nights I had booked it. They then said they would upgrade me to a private room, but I was put in a small room that said staff personal room on the door. The room wasn't set up like a hotel room, but more like a crash/chill room for staff members. It was fine, as I was happy to have a place to sleep and I was out most of the time anyway. Then on the third night I came back late from a concert and opened my door to find some else sleeping in there, in the other bed. I went downstairs and they said this person had the same issue with overbooking as I did and they put them with me for the night. It was too small of a room to share with a stranger, especially as I was told it would be a private room. My personal stuff was everywhere and I felt uncomfortable with sharing this small room. If it was a domitory shared room with bunkbeds it would have been fine, but it wasn't set up to share with a stranger. The staff member didn't give us any other option and told me it could happen again any of the next nights. It wasn't a nice experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Salwa T wrote a review Apr 2023
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The bed had a very uncomfortable mattress, you could feel the springs in the mattress; I woke up with back and shoulder pain both mornings (stayed 2 nights). The dorm rooms have digital key cards on the door, and one card had to be inserted into a slot in the room by the door in order to have electricity in the room, which is not efficient in a dormitory as people accidentally take your key, thinking it's theirs. The reception staff are unprofessional and not at all helpful, some were downright rude. There was no toilet paper in the room on the 2nd day, I had to ask twice for some to be sent up. They don't accept any cash payments. The elevator was broken. The toilets by the lobby were actually in the basement, and one of the two sinks there was leaking water onto the floor. There were 3 large groups of teenagers (30-40 teenagers per group) staying at the hotel on a school trip, being very loud. Horrible hotel, was very glad to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Avoid this place, no matter how cheap the rooms are, it's not worth it.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MEININGER Downtown Franz, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Responded 29 Jun 2023
Dear guest, We sincerely apologize for the discomfort you experienced with the mattress during your stay. We will address this issue promptly to ensure that our guests have a comfortable and restful sleep. Regarding the digital key cards in the dorm rooms, we understand your concerns about accidental key card mix-ups. We will review the efficiency of our current system to minimize any inconvenience caused. We are deeply sorry to hear about your negative interactions with our reception staff. Providing professional and helpful service is of utmost importance to us, and we will address this matter internally to ensure all our staff members uphold our standards of professionalism. We apologize for the lack of toilet paper in your room and any inconvenience it caused. We will investigate this issue to improve our housekeeping procedures and ensure that essential amenities are readily available to our guests. Please note that we have made the decision to only accept electronic payments for various reasons, including security and efficiency. However, we appreciate your feedback and will consider alternative payment options in the future. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the broken elevator. Our maintenance team is working diligently to resolve this issue as quickly as possible. We regret any inconvenience caused by the location of the lobby toilets and the leaking sink. Our housekeeping and maintenance teams will address these concerns promptly to provide a better experience for our guests. We apologize for the disturbance caused by the large groups of teenagers during your stay. We understand that a peaceful environment is crucial, and we will take measures to ensure that such incidents are minimized in the future. We genuinely regret that your overall experience was negative, and we appreciate your feedback. We take your comments seriously and will use them to improve our services and facilities. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. Best regards, Your MEININGER Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vivienne D wrote a review Sept 2023
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in a 4-bed mixed dorm whilst traveling in Vienna. The location is pretty good if you use the metro as it is a bit of a walk to the main attractions. Some staff at the front desk were pleasant and some weren't. We had an issue with not being able to lock our lockers with the standard locker locks we had brought with us traveling. They said our locks were too small and that's why the lock didn't work. I'm not sure why that was the case as they had worked in other hostels we stayed at but the staff gave us a different locker instead which was helpful. The room was small but very clean with a great clean bathroom. There are laundry facilities in the shared communal kitchen which was great. If you can overlook how dirty the communal kitchen is it is a great amenity also and one of the few kitchens we encountered in hostels that has an oven. We knew from the reviews and photos that the room would have 1 bunk bed and 2 single beds pushed together to form a double. We did not mind this much as we just took the bunk beds but it is something to be aware of maybe if you are solo-travelling that you may need to share a bed with a stranger. Overall had a good stay here and would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MEININGER Downtown Franz, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Responded 16 Sept 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us in Vienna. We appreciate your detailed review, as it helps us improve our services and address any concerns. We're delighted to hear that you had a nice stay overall and that you found the location convenient for accessing the metro. We understand that the distance from the main attractions may have been a slight inconvenience, and we'll continue to strive for ways to enhance the guest experience in this regard. Regarding the issue with the lockers, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. Our intention is to provide a secure environment for our guests, and we appreciate your understanding as we resolved the matter by offering you an alternative locker. We will look into the compatibility of standard locker locks to ensure a smoother experience for future guests. We're pleased that you found the room clean and the bathroom well-maintained. We also appreciate your feedback about the communal kitchen and will work on improving its cleanliness. It's good to know that you found the laundry facilities and the availability of an oven in the kitchen to be beneficial. Lastly, we understand your comment about the double bed in the four-bed mixed room. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We'll make sure to clarify this in our descriptions for future guests to avoid any surprises. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to hosting you again in the future. If you have any further comments or suggestions, please feel free to share them with us. Safe travels! Your MEININGER Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alberto P wrote a review Nov 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked with them one month ago to spend our holidays in Viena, but because of the new lockdown in Austria we couldn't go, the whole country was closed. We tried to get our money back but they dind't care just a bit. They didn't understand our situation, like if nothing was happening in Austria, they just took the money and behaved like real pigs. They didn't even offer us the opportunity of retrieving our money back paying a small charge...

I repeat, never book with this hotel or franchise in your whole life.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FrustratedWolff wrote a review Sept 2022
Los Angeles, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
First time we’ve stayed at a Hostal type Hotel. We reserved a room just for us. Spacious, clean, quiet. No toiletries, but we were provided with shampoo/body wash and hand soap. The area is pretty quiet. Safe close to Stehansplatz. Metro nearby. Couple of places to eat nearby. Great place to stay as everything is within european walking distance.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Francesco D. wrote a review Aug 2020
Udine, Italy
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a nice hotel for who wants to stop in Wien, with clean rooms and with all comforts. Breakfast is not included in room price. A few meters far away we can reach easily the local underground station.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MEININGER Hotels, Owner at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Responded 23 Aug 2020
Dear guest, thank you very much for your review and rating. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the cleanliness and the location. We hope to welcome you back soon to one of our MEININGER houses all over Europe! Best wishes, Sara
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter J C asked a question May 2018
Freemans Reach, Australia272 contributions62 helpful votes
How much is your parking per day now ?
Answer from Elena Costea
Brasov, Romania24 contributions4 helpful votes
I took a cab there , but I suppose they have a parking lot , but you can check at the reception .
Answer from Vekster
Ipswich, United Kingdom101 contributions27 helpful votes
Our room had cupboards that you can lock with your own padlock.
Erhan B asked a question May 2015
Hello, Is there any parking
Answer from MEININGER Hotels
Berlin, Germany117 contributions4 helpful votes
Hi, there is an underground parking for underground parking 19,50 € per day. Best, the MEININGER team
Answer from Kamo P
Moscow, Russia1,640 contribution93 helpful votes
Parking is possible along the street providing that there is any place. Nevertheless it's possible because there are two or three other dead end streets.
Antonio R wrote a tip Jun 2023
6 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The location is good. Just make sure to check that the bed is not broken, unlike ours."
Read full review
Salwa T wrote a tip Apr 2023
7 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this place, no matter how cheap the rooms are, it's not worth it."
Read full review
Alyona I. wrote a tip Sept 2021
Tallinn, Estonia16 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you are not the only person of your gender in your room (like 5 men and 1 girl) when it is supposed to be a mixed room."
Read full review
Yavaskesrhar wrote a tip Nov 2019
3 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking and WIFI"
Read full review
anjum haque wrote a tip Oct 2019
2 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"it doesn't matter which floor your in or room you have , its always quiet."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Vienna area.
PRICE RANGE
₹3,933 - ₹10,460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustriaVienna RegionViennaLeopoldstadt
NUMBER OF ROOMS
131
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MEININGER HOTEL WIEN DOWNTOWN FRANZ (Vienna) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Which popular attractions are close to MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz?
Nearby attractions include Time-Busters (0.08 km), Pocelain Manufactory Augarten (0.4 km), and Marienstatue (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and reduced mobility rooms.
What food & drink options are available at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz?
Conveniently located restaurants include Skopik & Lohn, Pizza Mari', and Stomach.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and German.
Are there any historical sites close to MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Belvedere Museum (3.4 km), Ringstrasse (1.2 km), and Votivkirche (1.2 km).
Does MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Vienna HotelsVienna Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ViennaHotels near MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire