We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,320 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 750: English reviews
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This place I booked after a lot of consideration and since a friend had recommended. Turned out to be a very basic place. Just about okay. Dont think I would recommend this place to anyone again.If you have no such fussiness you can book here.

Helpful?
Thank Pallu16
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hostel é confortável, mas... Infelizmente uma das staff, nos atendeu muito mal, tínhamos apenas uma nota de 500 euros para pagar a hospedagem ela disse que não iria receber a nota e teríamos que trocar a mesma para pagar. Sendo que era domingo e estava chovendo, disse que a gente teria de trocar de qualquer forma ou ela não poderia... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pedro B
Wombats V, Manager at wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”, responded to this review

We are very sorry for your experience. In the e-mails you've sent to us you did not tell us what was wrong about your stay, you only had troubles to understand the 14€ charged from your credit card. I'm happy to try and explain it once more: The mistake happened on your behalf when you booked online. You made a... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Maybe the best hostel I ever been. Everything clean, a very beautiful common room and spacious. The bar is also very good but with high prices. The breakfast is excellent, a buffet for 4,5€ with a lot of options. I recommend!

Helpful?
Thank André R
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

One of the best hostels I have been to around Europe, I was in a 4 bed female-dorm, it was very spacious for a dorm, and even bigger than any hostel dorm I have ever been into. The room was clean, they give you fresh sheets on arrival. The bathroom was clean. Power sockets available for each bunk, wifi was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Noha M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at Wombats for 3 nights. I've stayed at other Wombats before and was throughly impressed. So I didn't think staying here was any different. Great location and friendly staff. However, I received a lot of bed bugs bites and now currently treating my room for it. It's a hassle and I'm not all pleased about it!! Probably wouldn't recommended... More 

Helpful?
Thank Doan N
Wombats V, Manager at wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your feedback. I am sorry for the bad experience you had at our hostel, unfortunately bed bugs are currently on the rise all over Europe. Did you tell our reception staff about it? If not, could you please contact us with details of your stay, so we can treat the affected room. Safe Travels! Your WomCrew More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wombats, Nashmarkt, Vienna has been one of the best places that I and my wife have stayed together. We wanted to stay in a hostel during our Euro trip and thanks to Wombats for this great experience. It is centrally located with lots of restaurants around and the main attraction is its just in front of the famous Nashmarkt of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Novel C
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed in Wombat's Naschmarkt for one night. Very close to the city centre, staff are all very friendly and helpful. Rooms are modern and clean. Towels are available to rent for free. Good selection of breakfast, could be a bigger selection but enough for a hostel. Free coffee machine available at breakfast too. Received a drinks token upon arrival at... More 

Helpful?
Thank e21m27
Recife, PE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff are super attentive. The rooms are good and has one bathroom per room, which is better than a toilet in the hallway. The breakfast is paid (4.5 euros), but worth it because it is well served and cheaper than eating out. The hostel's bar is great for drinking a beer before you leave or even stay there.

Helpful?
Thank weslenct
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

General bad experience in the hostel. We booked private room with bedroom inside. Really bad clean and all the night full of noise. The breakfast is poor for the price. Only I should recommend the walking tour because we enjoy with the guide. The staff worker should be car about little detail. No soap in the room.

Helpful?
Thank Antonio Francis... A
Wombats V, Manager at wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your feedback. Our breakfast actually offers way more for the price than you would get in many other places in Vienna, we are sorry you didn't like it. Safe Travels! More 

Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As far as hostels go, this has been my best experience. Everything is super clean, dorm was spacious, lockers were great, and they have worked out good systems for everything. There is loads of comfortable space to hang out around the hostel and meet people. The staff are friendly and super helpful and there's a lot of info about the... More 

Helpful?
Thank stacikambo

444 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (246)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (91)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (198)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Four Person Dorm (21)
Viewed
Four Person Dorm with Street View (19)
Viewed
Panorama Double Room (26)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Six Person Female Dorm (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)
Viewed
Three Person Dorm (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Wieden
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Kaiserhof Wien
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#154 of 366 in Vienna
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 366 in Vienna
1,163 reviews
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 195 in Vienna
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Wieden

Neighbourhood Profile
Wieden
The fourth district combines elegant tradition with contemporary style and relaxed living. More than a dozen town palaces and churches such as St. Charles Borromeo have added glamour to a neighbourhood known for its traditional retail and crafts shops, taverns, cafés. Wieden is also home to Naschmarkt, Vienna’s largest street market. Many bohemian types have found their way to Wieden: meet them in trendy cafés and bars, shop alongside them for vintage items, enjoy Wien Museum’s and Kunsthalle’s modern temporary exhibitions, and hang out with the bees at Vienna’s most beautiful urban garden, Karlsgarten.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”

Address: Rechte Wienzeile 35, Vienna 1040, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Price Range: ₹ 1,371 - ₹ 5,689 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT” reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT” staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT” staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“any room with no bed bugs”
 of 5 bubbles doann167, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for street view and not mixed rooms”
 of 5 bubbles MariannaD_Amore, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Clean rooms, great common area”
 of 5 bubbles 40beckye, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“beware of room 102, i slept on the upper bed”
 of 5 bubbles gladyscha, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The rooms facing Naschmarket are well ventilated, airy and bright.”
  • 4-bed mixed dorm
  • 4-bed mixed dorm facing Naschmarket
 of 5 bubbles Sharma2013, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay