We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Salzburg City

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Holiday Inn Salzburg City
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

558 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Salzburg City
See the most recent reviews
Showing 353: English reviews
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights whilst the hotel wouldn't win any design awards it was fine. 20 mins walk to the town and 5 to a bus stop. Staff were helpful and polite, however room keeping left a lot to be desired.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mogsy1927
RCQualityManager, Quality Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review

Dear guest Mogsy1927, Thank you for your candid review about your stay in our hotel. We are pleased you had a comfortable starting point to explore Salzburg with its beautiful sights. Furthermore we are happy to offered you a helpful and polite service through our engaged staff and will share your feedback with our team. See you soon and best...

Reviewed 14 September 2016

We stayed for three nights at this hotel. One time we were out from 10am - 2:30 pm. When we came back, we saw that the staff was still cleaning our floor but they hadn't gone to our room yet. We had to use the room for approximately 10 minutes (we have a five-year-old and a 15-month-old). We use the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cat030916
RCQualityManager, Quality Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review

Dear user Cat030916 and Family, Thank you for your candid review about your stay in our hotel and bringing your feedback to our attention. Please take our sincere apologize for the inconvenience by our housekeeping. We understand your disappointment and our housekeeper aready picked up this issue to improve our service. Be sure your experience was not our professional service...

Reviewed 8 September 2016

If you are going to Salzburg to enjoy its beautiful old town, do NOT stay here. If you are gong to Salzburg to enjoy the view, do NOT stay here. If you want to be close to the train station, do NOT stay here. If you want to be close to old town, do NOT stay here. If you want...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Christysb13
RCQualityManager, Quality Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review

Dear guest Christysb13, Thank you for your candid review. Please take our sincere apologize with the discrepancy of the A/C in your room. Our technical-team is working hard to fix this issue. We feel sorry that your recent stay did not meet expectations and feel sorry your stay was not to your satisfaction. The distance to the Oldtown (Getreidegasse) is...

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Being a touristy town, seems like they get s lot of packaged tourists and the service standards are lower. Staff do try to put a smiling face, but seem to be overwhelmed. Parking can run out very quick, hence watch put for it in busy period. Bed room was decent, internet worked, okay bathroom and furnishings. Many decent food options...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S K
RCQualityManager, Quality Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review

Dear guest S K, Thank you for your feedback about your visit in our Holiday Inn Salzburg City. We are pleased you had a comfortable stay and you enjoyed your time. Your review will be shared with our team to improve our guest-service and to make your stay more nice. Thank you for being our guest! We do hope to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

The hotel is situated 15 minutes walk to the Old Town in Salzburg. As you exit the hotel on the main road, turn left and walk 50 meters and there is a supermarket which is very handy for bottles of water, Mozart chocolates and anything else. Also 500 meters from the hotel on the left there are two more supermarkets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moses P
RCQualityManager, Quality Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review

Dear guest Moses P., Thank you so much for your lovely review about your guest-experience in our hotel. We very value your feedback and all the good tipps for future clients. Thanks for your impression. We are very pleased you enjoyed your time with our always smiling and helpful guest-service through our staff. Hospitality is their passion and they loved...

Italy
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Upon arrival at your hotel we were greeted by two very pleasant front desk clerks. They informed us that since we were platinum members they were giving us a very nice room for our three night stay. This, however, was most definately not what we were given. The room (218) was extremely small, run down and worn out with dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loralu
RCQualityManager, Quality Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review

Dear guest Loralu, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We very value you as an IHG Reward Club Member and your loyalty to our brand. Please take again our sincere apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay. We feel very sorry about your experience and understand your disappointment. But for all that we regret you did...

Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

Mountain view King room. The location is ok but still it's a 15/20 mins walk to town and there isn't many restaurants nearby. The rooms are ok but quite small. The good thing is the staff were brilliant. Very helpful very friendly they all do a very good job! I think for the price is cheaper then the hotels in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris X
RCQualityManager, Quality Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review

Dear guest Chris X., Thank you for your review about your guest-experience in our hotel. We feel sorry your stay was not fully to your satisfaction. There are different restaurants nearby. If you like austrian kitchen we recommend "DIE WEISSE" (5-minute-walk), "FUX´N" (just on the corner) or "URBANKELLER" (6-minute-walk). The fantastic asian-fine-dining-restaurant "BANGKOK" is just a 3-minute-walk far away. Please...

Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Not the best location of Salzburg. However nice breakfast and nice staff. Not a lot of good restaurants nearby. The bathroom was dirty and there were mold in the walls. The bad was confortable and the towels were new.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ana A
RCQualityManager, Quality Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review

Dear guest Ana A., Thank you for your candid review about your experience with our Holiday Inn Salzburg City. We regret your stay was not fully to your satisfaction. Please take our sincere apologize for the inconvenience in your bathroom. We are working hard to fix this issue. Furthermore we are happy to read you liked our nice breakfast-buffet, the...

Reviewed 16 August 2016

We stayed two nights in this hotel while travelling through Europe this past June. We were able to park our rental car in the hotel parking lot free. We didn't need the car because of the great, quiet location with a 15 minute walk to the downtown tourist area. We also found a number of good restaurant within a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank funat65
RCQualityManager, Quality Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review

Dear guest funat65, Thank you so much for your fantastic 5* review about your two nights in our Holiday Inn Salzburg City in June 2016. We are very pleased you fully enjoyed your holiday and your stay in our hotel. Wonderful to read our guest-service through our very pleasant and helpful staff made your visit much comfortable. Your valuable feedback...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 12 August 2016

This hotel is lovely and has been completely redone. Everything feels clean and new. Very pretty and comfortable room with a nice view. Large modern bathroom and it has a somewhat clear sliding glass bathroom door. Staff in all areas here could be more helpful and friendly and less put out by gentle guest questions in such a nice hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarolingLibrarian
RCQualityManager, Quality Manager at Holiday Inn Salzburg City, responded to this review

Dear guest CarolingLibrarian, Thank you so much for your lovely review "beautiful hotel in a good location". It is amazing to read you had a great holiday and you enjoyed our cordial hotel-service. We are happy to share your feedback with our engaged team-members. Furthermore your tipps for bus-connections are simply nice. In addition you can reach the hotel by...

576 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (171)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (79)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (287)
Viewed
Amenities (24)
Viewed
Mountain View Room (39)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (42)
Viewed
Superior Room (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)
Viewed
Triple Room (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (118)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (67)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.3 km away
Mercure Salzburg City
Mercure Salzburg City
#22 of 137 in Salzburg
895 reviews
0.1 km away
Mercure Salzburg Central
Mercure Salzburg Central
#33 of 137 in Salzburg
749 reviews
0.6 km away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#24 of 137 in Salzburg
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
0.8 km away
MEININGER Hotel Salzburg City Center
1.0 km away
Wyndham Grand Salzburg Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay central at the modern Holiday Inn Salzburg City hotel, a short walk from the sights of Salzburg's historic Old Town. Our contemporary hotel is a gleaming glass-fronted building just 5km from Salzburg International Airport. Enjoy far-reaching mountain views and an Alpine feel in your stylish Guest room. Stroll down bustling Linzergasse Lane and over the Salzach River to see Mozart's birthplace on Getreidegasse shopping street, 2km from Holiday Inn Salzburg City. Ride the funicular railway to majestic Hohensalzburg Castle and gaze out over the city from its grand turrets. The headquarters of Porsche Salzburg and VistaJet are a short drive from our hotel. Features: See Salzburg on a sightseeing city tour for example by bus with a hopp on and hopp off ticket. The restaurant staff is looking forward serving you delicious international cuisine in our restaurant "In(n)ovation" with indirect lightning and front cooking station as highlights. Our hotel lounge and 24-hours bar offers from lunch to espresso-break everything that you need to relax. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Salzburg City

Address: Sterneckstrasse 21 | 5020 Salzburg, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Price Range: ₹ 5,037 - ₹ 14,702 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Salzburg City 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Salzburg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Salzburg City Hotel Salzburg
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Salzburg City staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Salzburg City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room at the back of hotel away from the road.”
 of 5 bubbles kilbridemum, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Away from the street there are the more quieter rooms”
  • Mold In The Shower Upper Tiles
  • Mold On The Ceiling
  • Mold In The Upper Edge
 of 5 bubbles bobx58, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“top floor room - opposite the elevator”
 of 5 bubbles munjals2015, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“rooms are well soundproofed, even those facing the main road”
 of 5 bubbles 1000Brussel, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room where the air conditioning works”
 of 5 bubbles Debanttravels, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay