We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Sandwirth

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Sandwirth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

303 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 87: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hotel Sandwirth seems like a business hotel, but is well-located, and had a great two-bedroom apartment that was perfect for our family of five (and was very reasonably priced). Unfortunately, we arrived relatively late on a very foggy Christmas Eve (around 5pm), and it seemed the whole town was shut! The excellent-looking Christmas market was almost entirely closed, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rilestar
Reviewed 2 November 2016

We stayed here for a couple of nights in October. The hotel is very well situated for central Klagenfurt. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The double room we had was quite small but the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was a reasonable size. The single room was a good size. Everything was clean but a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissHoneychurch1908
Reviewed 2 November 2016

We stayed at a spacious and very clean room. Service was excellent and staff are so welcoming and helpful. Location of the Hotel is perfect, close to many restaurants. It is also near the bus station that takes you to many interesting places like Minimundus Park and the lake where you can have an enjoyable cruise.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Azzam A
Trieste, Italy
Reviewed 9 September 2016

it's already the second year in a row that we lodge at the hotel during the Karnten Lauft summer event. The staff is super warm and professional and able to let you feel at home. the facilities at the hotel are of very high quality. The location is perfect because you are in heart of Klagenfurt but at the same...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abiTS
Reviewed 30 August 2016

we spent 3 nights in klagenfurt in a big family room. I would say i was very happy to stay in Hotel Sandwirth, room was big and clean, big comfortable beds, very satisfing breakfast and personnel extremely kind at reception. when we had a little complain on the room service, the receptionist was very sorry and made us a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emanuele P
DirektionSandwirth, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Sandwirth, responded to this review

Dear "Emanuele P", thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are happy the hear that you and you Family enjoyed the stay in our Hotel! Kind regards from Klagenfurt Rebecca Herkommer

Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewed 30 August 2016

I really looked forward to this hotel because it is in very old and beautiful building. But I was little bit disappointed of the hotel design . Interior of this hotel is like maze. We had double room superior but the room was small. As the oposite of the room was pretty big bathroom. I think that the room and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BaskaD
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We stayed in this hotel due to lack of availability in the Seepark which is meant to be the best in Klagenfurt. The rooms are ok, but a bit small. The whole place is a little bit like a labirynth and since we booked 3 rooms it was sometimes difficult to find ourselves (each room was in a different wing).....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bd3art
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 August 2016

I would rate this as an average 4-star hotel. Nothing to write home about, but then again I guess nothing really to complain about. The hotel is quite close (walking distance) to the centre of town. There are a few restaurants nearby. The rooms feel a little dated. A big bathroom, with one of the smallest showers I've even seen....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jungl3Boy
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 8 August 2016

I stayed at Hotel Sandwirth with my wife and our 3-year old daughter during a wonderful trip to Austria. I found a very good offer in Expedia, and secured a triple room below 100 euros per night. The hotel is conveniently located near the main attractions of the city and it is very easy to access from the highway that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel025
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Very good location, almost in city centre, only few steps from it. Modern, spacious room with quality furniture. Big soft king bed, powerful airconditioning, well equipped mini bar, modern bathroom with all needed toiletries. Fast Wi-Fi connection. Excellent restaurant in hotel. Very friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amidza

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Klagenfurt hotels
3.4 km away
Seepark Hotel
Seepark Hotel
#1 of 27 in Klagenfurt
433 reviews
0.4 km away
Arcotel Moser Verdino
Arcotel Moser Verdino
#4 of 27 in Klagenfurt
224 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Palais Porcia
Hotel Palais Porcia
#3 of 27 in Klagenfurt
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Carinthia Stadthotel
Carinthia Stadthotel
#7 of 27 in Klagenfurt
44 reviews
3.6 km away
Hotel Plattenwirt
Hotel Plattenwirt
#9 of 27 in Klagenfurt
99 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel ATRIGON
Hotel ATRIGON
#19 of 27 in Klagenfurt
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
"der SANDWIRTH" is a privately and therefore individually run hotel. It is this special ambience which gives our hotel its special flair. The hotel is the meeting point for the business world as well as the culture scene and society. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Sandwirth

Address: Pernhartgasse 9, Klagenfurt A-902, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Klagenfurt
Price Range: ₹ 5,665 - ₹ 11,475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sandwirth 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sandwirth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandwirth Hotel Klagenfurt
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Klagenfurt
#2 Best Value Hotel in Klagenfurt
#2 Luxury Hotel in Klagenfurt
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Sandwirth staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Province of Naples, Italy

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Sandwirth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Two-bedroom apartment is good for large families (and has a kitchen)”
  • Main bedroom
  • One of the smaller bedrooms
  • We had no idea what this was, or how it worked, but it was in the main bedroom!
  • The kitchen/dining area (in the room)
  • The living room, with a single bed made up
 of 5 bubbles rilestar, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try a room as low as possible to avoid the lift!”
 of 5 bubbles MichaelTait, 21 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Avoid west or south facing in summer until there is proper air condioning.”
 of 5 bubbles YorkshireAviator, 23 May 2015 | Read review
“We booked the appartment (~120 sqm) in one of the upper floors, which was very quite and spaceous, perfect for me and my family.”
 of 5 bubbles Stefan_AT_22, 6 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Some of the rooms only have a shower so those of you who prefer a bath (with overhead shower) it would be best to specify.”
 of 5 bubbles Evie100, 29 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay