We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Youth Hostel Luxembourg City

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Youth Hostel Luxembourg City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

391 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 227: English reviews
Start your review of Youth Hostel Luxembourg City
 Click to rate
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewed 1 week ago

For Youth visiting the city of Luxembourg, is a realy good solution, hotels in the city are expensif; so Youth Hostel is located in the old center of Luxemourg, on the food of the castle of Count Siegfried; near the casemates, down on the cliffs of the old castle (ruin of Huelenzant) (hollow dent); wonderfull view to the old ruins,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manuela L
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear Manuela, thank you for visiting us and taking the time to review our hostel in Luxembourg City. We're very pleased you like the location as we're very fond of it too. The views from our terrace and garden are particularly rewarding in the summer! Thanks and all the best from Luxembourg City!

Longwy, France
Reviewed 1 week ago

".We stayed there for two nights in a six bed dorm. The place was well laid out, the bed equipped with memory foam mattresses. The bathroom were spotless and so were the toilets. But the highlight was the buffet breakfast that was included. The location is ideal as it is a few minutes walking from Clausen. The staff were friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank irishbaldo
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear irishbaldo, thank you for your kind and flattering words concerning your stay. We hope you and your friends had a lovely time in Luxembourg and enjoyed your night out in Clausen! We're happy to hear that you liked our breakfast budget. As we're a hostel and the breakfast is included, our means are limited, but we try to make...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's a good place if you go with friends or family living in the same room. But if you are for business and need to rest and place to keep your things organized this is not the place, for some days, you would be happy if you've got alone, but the calm will disappear soon. The worst situation that could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francisco P
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear Francisco, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave some us some constructive criticism. As your review on Tripadvisor is not linked to a specific reservation, we cannot check what happened in your case, but we can assure you that we don't move our guest's things unless they forget to check our or assume that...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As Luxembourg City can be an expensive place to stay while travelling, this hostel is great for anyone travelling to the city on a budget. The location of the hostel is fantastic as it is directly below the Bock Casemates and about 15 minute walk from the city centre depending on your pace. Unfortunately, you have a bit of a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ILoVermont555
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear ILoVermont, thank you for visiting Luxembourg, staying at our hostel and furthermore taking the time to review us here on Tripadvisor. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay so much! There's actually also two lifts (elevators) that run between the "valley" and "uptown" free of charge, so going up the steep road isn't mandatory. It takes about the...

Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I paid 25 € per night including breakfast, which is good I think. Rooms and bathrooms are clean (althought there could be a little bit more toilets). Location is near the center, but the hostel is located in a valley, so it takes you a while to reach the center. Wifi works only near the reception and is REALLY slow....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zouzelka
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear Zouzelka, thank you for visiting Luxembourg and choosing to review our city hostel! We're happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the value for money. It's also nice to hear that the reception staff were able to fulfill your requests and we hope you had a lovely time in our capital. Expanding our WiFi (strength and reach) is on...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While the location is good and the facilities were very nice, it was certain lacking in some areas. 1) Staff were not ery knowledgable of the area. When we asked where we should go to eat or places to look at, we were advised to go to the city's information booth 2) Internet. There is only internet on the main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew T
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear Matthew, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate your taking the time and we will do our best to improve our services. Our staff are trained to be knowledge of the area. Therefore we are a little surprised about your review, but we promise we'll look into it. Thank you...

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a typical HI youth hostel which means you get good value for money and the location of this hostel is hard to beat. Wasn't the most comfortable stay I've ever had in a hostel, beds were a bit hard. The lockers were a good size though (need to bring your own padlock) and the place was very clean....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gwawr J
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear Gwawr, thank you for visiting our hostel and country and furthermore taking the time to review your stay. We much appreciate the effort and valuable, constructive criticism. Guests are not required to bring their own padlock. While they are certainly free to do so and use their own, we also provide padlocks at the reception desk. In order to...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hostel was clean and had what you need for that value of money.Breakfast was ok, not much selection of items though, but they kept restocking the food as it was gone so quick. The room for 4 people was cosy and clean. However, I also experienced something negative. A member of the staff in the morning when we checked...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ana2401
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear Ana, thank you for staying at our hostel in Luxembourg City and taking the time to let us know about the things you liked and didn't like. Our apologies if you experienced any issues or misunderstandings with our staff. We agree with you that the adjective "budget" should not -- and does not -- impact the way guests are...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As Luxembourg City is very, very limited in terms of budget accommodation, we had very little choice but to stay at the HI Youth Hostel. As soon as we arrived, it was just the same as every other HI hostel I've experienced - you are not in any way treated like a guest, just a bed-filler. We were told that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Natasha T
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear Natsha, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave us some valuable feedback. As your review is not linked to a particular reservation, it's not easy to know the exact circumstances about your reservation, but we can tell you that one booking portal in particular frequently sends us reservations in which the gender of the...

Herzogenaurach, Germany
Reviewed 26 January 2017

This hostel was only okay, not the best that I have been too. The WiFi did not reach the room, so you had to go down to the lobby to use it, and even there it wasn't great. The reception was not helpful. The location of the hostel is good, very close to the main city. The lobby was also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sab903
YouthHostelsLXB, Guest Relations Manager at Youth Hostel Luxembourg City, responded to this review

Dear sab903, thank you for visiting our country and choosing to stay with us. We're sorry we weren't able to fully meet your expectations and appreciate your valuable feedback. Limiting the WiFi network to the common areas was intended to encourage people to mingle and make friends, rather than stick to their dorms glued to their phones and tablets. Secondly,...

135 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.5 km away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#1 of 51 in Luxembourg City
1,446 reviews
1.2 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
0.9 km away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#4 of 51 in Luxembourg City
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 51 in Luxembourg City
1,722 reviews
0.8 km away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
0.8 km away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Youth Hostel Luxembourg City

Address: 2 Rue du Fort Olisy, Luxembourg City 2261, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Price Range: ₹ 1,636 - ₹ 3,469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Youth Hostel Luxembourg City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Youth Hostel Luxembourg City Hotel Luxembourg City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Youth Hostel Luxembourg City staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Youth Hostel Luxembourg City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Long stays, ask them not move you, ask for private room (+ charge), ask for private shower inside.”
 of 5 bubbles F2409VDfranciscop, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“It is better than I have answered but needs a lot of improvement to rate the options!”
 of 5 bubbles Eggtimer186225, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Breakfast is served early, so make sure you get there on time.”
 of 5 bubbles Apollosreign, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Sleep and leave”
 of 5 bubbles 715juanestebanv, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms around toilets are better”
 of 5 bubbles 777szuyuc, 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5