We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

British Hotel

Hostelworld.comUS$ 136*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 244*
US$ 136*
Great Deal
US$ 142*
US$ 142*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
British Hotel
British Hotel
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

422 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for British Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 299: English reviews
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I noticed how there is a pattern to the reviews of British Hotel. Some people complain about the stairways, steps and confusing corridors, other people find it charming and natural in a city like Valletta. Some people complain about a cracked tile in the shower, other people mention the stunning view and kind staff. Before booking here you should consider...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Chanomachi
ZUZUMalta, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments and tips . I am glad you enjoyed your visit with us. I am afraid that it 's true not everyone appreciates the old heritage building and it does require a lot of expense to maintain but I think this is what makes the hotel stand out from other places, besides its location and stunning views....

Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Returned this week. This delightful hotel should be ranked higher. Everything about it was commendable. I pick George for special mention, even fixing coffee at 5 am. David and Chris were most helpful at the desk. But how about having Bibles in the rooms as in most hotels around the world? They are free from Gideons. Thanks a lot.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank leonardmalcolm c
ZUZUMalta, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your wonderful review and am glad we made you feel welcome. I just want to inform you that I had bibles before in the rooms and I used to have complaints by people who have a different religious views so we decided to take them away, however we do provide information for different religions at reception, once again...

Florence, Italy
Reviewed 14 September 2011

The hotel logation was perfect with great view overlooking the Grand harbour The accommodation was fine and the prise was little bit expensive according to the standart of the hotel. The rooms are basic, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was ok, on terrace with a view. Friendly service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fabio d
ZUZUMalta, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this review

I want to thank you for your comments about the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us . As you know the location and view are priceless and we feel that the price is justified when you consider this but then again , everyone has a right to express their opinion and I want to thank you...

yorkshire
Reviewed 3 September 2011

I've read some mixed reviews about this hotel but found, for a two star rated hotel, that it had everything we needed. We arrived at the hotel early and the staff on reception were more than happy to hurry along the cleaning of our room so that we could get inside for a desperately needed shower. During our two day...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jo H
ZUZUMalta, General Manager at British Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and glad that you appreciate the historical building . The view and location make it unique from other hotels . We try our best to make you feel welcome and your comments are very encouraging and continue to help us improve our services In the name of my staff and management , I once again...

Denmark
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed in a superior sea view room on the 3.rd floor. We had a huge balcony/terrasse with sunbeds and 2 sittingarears (balcony about 50 sqm) to share with another room with fantastic view over the Grand Harbour, but we never met other people on the balcony/terrasse. We became fantastic service over all, and booked directly at the hotel. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Belledonna
ZUZUMalta, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this review

I want to thank you for visiting us and writing down your lovely comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate that you will mrecommend us to other people, it clearly shows that you really had a great time in Malta and at our little family hotel thanks Daivd Montebello Owner

Tokyo
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Reservations were easy and reliable, as we arrived in the middle of the night and they arranged a taxi and had excellent front desk staff. Family room was huge, with balconies in both rooms overlooking gorgeous harbour--amazing location in middle of Valletta. Rooms were old-school and very warm and basic, but functional. Breakfast was pretty bad but free and again,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oliviapulley
ZUZUMalta, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for all your comments. I was not sure what you meant regarding the family room you had as it was refurbshied about four years ago . I also assume that you probably were expecting a cooked english breakfast and not a complimentary continental that we offer with the rate. As to be honest our complimentary breakfast is pretty...

North East England
Reviewed 6 August 2011

This is a pretty standard old fashioned hotel in Valetta. We had to pay extra for AC (7 euros/24 hours) but it is very clean and the breakfast with the Grand Harbour view is decent. The staff in the hotel are very friendly. We decided before going to pay a little extra for the Sea view room which we were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stanley_Darsh
ZUZUMalta, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this review

I want to thank you for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes unfortunately we have to charge extra for the A/C as electricity prices have really shot up in Malta and we feel that its better to give a choice to the guest if they want it then just put the price of the room...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The British Hotel is accessed from the centre of Valletta down some steep roads and steps, which presents an energetic climb in the opposite direction. No-one can fault it's views across the harbour, with its constantly changing shipping passing by, although the overnight dredging digger during our stay was very noisy. The view is enjoyed from the first-floor restaurant and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank evo101
ZUZUMalta, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments and yes there are 3 flights of stairs to reach your room as the lift only goes up to the 2 nd floor in that building but as you said the view is worth it. In fact you booked a single inland room but I gave you one a the terrace overlooking the harbour at no...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Great views looking over the harbour, cold beer on the balcony of the restaurant and friendly staff. 30 second walk from the heart of Valetta, so easy to get to places, but wasn't noisy (well, apart from the passing cruise ship at 8am!) Recommended in Lonely planet, by a friend of mine and now by me!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank greenphotos
ZUZUMalta, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive comments , glad that you enjoyed staying with us regards David Montebello

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2011

This hotel is a basic bed and breakfast and we liked it very much. It was clean and had everything that we required. We liked the friendlyness of all the staff and nothing was too much trouble for them. The view from the balcony was unbelievable and we had the same glorious view from the restaurant. The beds were comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WiltshireAngels
ZUZUMalta, Owner at British Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your comments and am glad that you will return to our hotel , we hope that you will once again enjoy staying here with us regards David Montebello

388 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (206)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (75)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (178)
Viewed
Inland Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (64)
Viewed
Standard Seaview (25)
Viewed
Superior Seaview (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valletta hotels
0.8 km away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 15 in Valletta
3,774 reviews
0.5 km away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#6 of 15 in Valletta
1,042 reviews
0.0 km away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#3 of 15 in Valletta
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Castille Hotel
Castille Hotel
#8 of 15 in Valletta
398 reviews
0.5 km away
The Phoenicia Malta
The Phoenicia Malta
#2 of 15 in Valletta
2,154 reviews
0.5 km away
Casa Ellul
Casa Ellul
#1 of 15 in Valletta
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about British Hotel

Address: 40 Battery Street, Valletta, Island of Malta VLT06, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Valletta
Price Range: ₹ 7,815 - ₹ 10,399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — British Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your British Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I don't think there is a good room”
Scottishji, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Best rooms are 108 and 109. These have a private terrace overlooking Grand Habour.”
ChristopherP625, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best rooms overlook the beautiful harbour.”
rydalehouse, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Take a room with the view! Not only because it's great, but also because it's more quiet, and there is wifi”
Zdravkovici, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request for high floor room as you can easily go to terrace enjoy the harbour view .”
calvin289, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$ 136* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 142
Hotels.comUS$ 142
AMOMAUS$ 244
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates