We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Fortina

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Fortina
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,510 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Fortina
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,318: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I spent four nights at the Hotel Fortina and were realy impressed by the place. The setting by the water looking over to the city of Valletta was lovely. Local bars and cafes serve consistently good and well-priced food. The hotel itself has six or seven restaurants...we ate in the Indian one and had the best Indian...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IainW56
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this review

Dear IainW56, Thank you for your lovely posting. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Fortina team

Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights with my wife. Taxi ride is about 30 minutes – the airport authorities has a strangle hold on the taxi’s using the facilities. Our taxi driver said that he has to pay an annual fee to pick up / drop off and the cost of the fare €20, was dictated by the Airport of which...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Peter W
TAMWORTH
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Good weeks holiday in July.Room 518 suited us fine,spacious and on the garden side.tiles rather carpet in the bedroom area would have been better.Bathroom large,clean with some toiletries supplied.Ate mainly in the buffet restaurant,breakfast ample but if you were unfortunate you would find the hot food unappetising.At dinner at times the plates were dangerously hot.Some variety but very similar night...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WELSHMIKETamworth
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this review

Dear WELSHMIKETamworth, Thank you for taking the time to post your experience with us on this website. Please be assured that your comments have been well-noted and passed onto all those concerned for the appropriate action to be taken accordingly. Kind regards, Hotel Fortina team

Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Yes some parts are a bit tired but they are working on it. We had half board dine around ,only one night we couldn't get booked but still could have used the buffet if we had chosen. Don't be put off by some of the saddo's that will always find something to moan about. The staff all seemed good to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lein420
Malta
Reviewed 29 July 2014

we spent a weekend break here last march. hotel room is not big but has a great view of Valletta exactly opposite. we were given a free harbour cruise at check in. we stayed on half board basis. breakfast was extravagant, there was everything you could wish for, as was dinner. antipasto was delicious as was everything else there, we...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank DalliW1
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this review

Dear Wendy D, Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Hotel Fortina team

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Very nice hotel, clean rooms and comfortable beds, good size rooms, unfortunately our room was at the back, overlooking a small street, but that's how it goes. The entertainment wasn't great though, unless you were happy with the same thing every night and were very elderly. The patio area was lovely, with a great view and a proper little sun...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ana0708
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this review

Dear ana0708, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Your comments have been well-noted and passed onto all those concerned. Kind regards, Hotel Fortina team

South West England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights with my partner, relatively short taxi ride from the airport (€20, don't pay anymore!) and really enjoyed the stay :) Good points- The views are second to none. Great panoramic views of Sliema and the harbour...just beautiful. Food choice is unlimited, great amount of variety and food for everyone to enjoy. Nice atmosphere in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Danielle L
Hamilton Scotland
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just back from Malta on weeks vacation Hotel room 104 great view fantastic size of room Staff excellent Johnathem and Emmanuel in restaurant most attentive Hotel entertainment requires some attention poor amateurs Hotel prices requires some attention too dear for beer and water 4.2 euros 750ml water Gym not ready yet but looks good with equipment seen going into new...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Boyd P
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this review

Dear Boyd P, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Your comments have been well-noted and passed onto all those concerned for the appropriate action to be taken. Kind regards, Hotel Fortina team

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We went to this hotel last September for our 25th wedding anniversary and booked a deluxe room with Cosmos at £765 each half board. I could not have been more disappointed with the room it was filthy, shabby old furniture cut down to fit, obstructing electric points, cheap and nasty beds, with inches of dust behind. The carpets in the...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank morie728
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this review

Dear morie728, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on this website. We are disappointed to hear of your experience and would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused. Please be assured that your comments have been well-noted and passed onto the Management for the appropriate action to be taken accordingly. Kind regards, Hotel Fortina team

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2014

A 4* Hotel? I think not! We stayed at Fortina for 10 days, having booked a Superior Seaview room. There was certainly nothing Superior about the room, it was very tired, in need of a complete revamp. The furniture was very dated, the fridge stood on a large tray, and there was no Hotel info pack in the room so...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Yvonne4110
TheFortina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Fortina, responded to this review

Dear Yvonne4110, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on this website. We are disappointed to hear of your experience and would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused. Please be assured that your comments have been well-noted and passed onto the Management for the appropriate action to be taken accordingly. Kind regards, Hotel Fortina team

769 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (734)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (142)
Viewed
View from Room (133)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (64)
Viewed
Room/Suite (109)
Viewed
Bathroom (48)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (218)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sliema
0.1 km away
Fortina Spa Resort
Fortina Spa Resort
#5 of 29 in Sliema
1,270 reviews
0.8 km away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
3,149 reviews
0.7 km away
Preluna Hotel & Spa
Preluna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 29 in Sliema
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.9 km away
The Victoria Hotel
The Victoria Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sliema
1,715 reviews
1.2 km away
Excelsior Grand Hotel
Excelsior Grand Hotel
#4 of 11 in Valletta
3,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Sa Re Ga Ma
Sa Re Ga Ma
Cuisines: Indian
Il Giardino
Il Giardino
Cuisines: Pizza, Mediterranean, European, Italian
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Hotel Fortina

Address: Tigne Seafront, Sliema, Island of Malta SLM 3012, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Sliema
Price Range: ₹ 3,337 - ₹ 15,052 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fortina 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Fortina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortina Hotel Sliema
Hotel Fortina Malta/Sliema
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sliema
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sliema
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Fortina staff and other travellers.
40 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (40)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Fortina staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a different hotel, or, better, a hotel in a different country, where, perhaps, the natives might occasionally smile”
 of 5 bubbles travellerD1943ZV, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't get a room overlooking the pool area.”
 of 5 bubbles ourhouse42, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There are great views of Valetta if you get a sea view room.”
 of 5 bubbles K3933KSjohne, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“High level superior room”
 of 5 bubbles 824bobs, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“my tip: find any other hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 52belmas, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay