We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa

Save
Share
A72, Cardrona, Peebles EH45 8NE Scotland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$ 110
View deal
Hotels.com
Priceline
Expedia.comUS$ 110
Booking.comUS$ 123
HurbUS$ 126
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (622)
Room & Suite (196)
Dining (52)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
Updated 13/11/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 13/11/19 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa in Peebles, offers luxurious contemporary accommodation set in timeless natural surroundings. With the hotel's scenic location on the banks of the River Tweed you'll discover a relaxing haven - just 40 minutes outside Edinburgh and 90 minutes from Glasgow and the North of England - nestled amidst the tranquillity of the Scottish Borders landscape. With an award-winning restaurant, two bars, 99 comfortable and spacious bedrooms and conference and wedding facilities, our hotel in Peebles makes the perfect retreat for a leisure stay and offers a superb backdrop for any special occasion. While you're staying with us, why not try your hand at a round of golf on our 18-hole championship course or enjoy a dip in the pool and a luxurious treatment in our spa and leisure club. Guests can also take advantage of our fishing rights and try to catch some Scottish Salmon along the River Tweed.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Hiking
Indoor play area for children
Car park
Wifi
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Archery offsite
Fishing
Walking tours
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Laptop safe
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
3500Reviews32Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,303
  • 1,092
  • 610
  • 277
  • 218
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Hazel C wrote a review 14 Oct
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom5 contributions9 helpful votes
Booked 2 king rooms. Paid £250 in total. Rooms very dated, damp and mouldy. Windows didn’t open. No wi-fi, only couple tv channels working. Shower didn’t drain away. Food overpriced and not enough choice. Could go on and on. Very disappointed and will not return.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Both sides of hotel have lovely views
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Siann Reid, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa
Responded 2 days ago
Hi Hazel, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm very sorry that you did not have an enjoyable visit with us and that you were let down by the bedrooms standards. Whilst some of our rooms are awaiting refurbishment, they should still be presented to a high standard of comfort and cleanliness. Sorry also to hear you didn't find there to be enough choice on our dinner menu. We will take this onboard as we are currently in the planning stages of a new winter menu.
Read more
Robert M wrote a review 13 Oct
2 contributions
Stayed here with 15 friends for 3 nights golfing hotel was good but a little tired looking in places. Golf course layout was fantastic but the greens were terrible but we new that before arriving. So weren’t disappointed by them and know greens keepers are working hard to fix this. The staff were outstanding especially the gordie lad and his bar staff.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Book a golf buggie if playing golf as very long walks between some greens and next tee
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Siann Reid, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa
Responded 2 days ago
Hi Robert M, Thank you for choosing Macdonald Cardrona for your golf break. Our Bar Manager Chris was delighted to read your feedback, it always well received from our team who try to go the extra mile to make our guests stay memorable. I hope to see you again.
Read more
Nicola C wrote a review 12 Oct
3 contributions
Lovely stay here for 1 night, lovely outlook from our room over the countryside. Staff very friendly especially Carol nothing was foo much trouble for her and she made up an extra bed in our room at the last minute so 3 of us could stay in ths same room.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Siann Reid, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa
Responded 4 days ago
Hi nicolacK6921KE, Thank you for visiting Macdonald Cardrona. I'm deighted that your stay was all round enjoyable, and that our Housekeeping Supervisor Carol went above and beyond to make your stay memorable! I hope to welcome you back for another great stay in the near future.
Read more
Granit wrote a review 12 Oct
1 contribution
Stayed here for one night, really disappointed. I paid £135 for a room for one night. Got to the room there was no WiFi available, when I rang down to reception to say that there are no WiFi the response was that it’s really poor signal throughout the hotel and that I would have to go to the lobby to use the WiFi, I also got no reception on my phone either so I could not tether my phone to my laptop etc. The bed was not made properly and there were long hair on the bed. The bathroom had a stench of bleach so powerful that the my eyes started watering. This would be the first and last time I would stay at this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Siann Reid, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa
Responded 4 days ago
Hi Evening12345, Thank you for staying with us, I am very sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay. I hope that the team were on hand to resolve any issues for you at the time. Our wifi covers the whole hotel, not just hotel reception so I am sorry if you were provided with incorrect information, or that there were any connection issues whilst you stayed.
Read more
958Richard wrote a review 11 Oct
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom5 contributions5 helpful votes
Just got back from a weekend playing golf, hotel,food,leisure were all spot on. Myself and 7 other lads really enjoyed our stay. We were aware of the issues with the greens from other reviews so got in touch with hotel before we went. They were honest and told us the issues with course and offered us chance to move booking or move one day's golf to Peebles and give us drinks discount and vouchers plus complimentary golf buggies for the Cardrona round. We had waited ages for the trip so wanted to go and found this offer acceptable. The greens were a lot worse than we expected in fact they are unplayable sometimes the ball shooting off at right angles! We were told we should play full putter length gimmes and that wasn't enough, there wasn't many putts sunk! Otherwise the course was fine but I would recommend anyone playing in future use buggies as the distance between greens and tees is unbelievable. In our opinion the course should be closed or they make temporary greens on fairways at a reduced round price. So apart from the greens we had a great weekend and would go back once they have sorted them out (it might take a while though)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Siann Reid, General Manager at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa
Responded 4 days ago
Hi 958Richard, Thanks for visiting us for your golf break, and choosing to proceed with the reservation when you received the update on our current greens condition. I'm delighted that despite the golf, you and your friends had a great weekend and everything else within the hotel you found to be spot on. I hope this encourages you to return in the future, following the investment into our course which is seeing improvement week by week.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$63 - US$153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
macdonald cardrona hotel, golf hotel cardrona, macdonald cardrona hotel, golf and spa, macdonald cardrona hotel country, macdonald cardrona resort country
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish BordersPeeblesCardrona
NUMBER OF ROOMS
99
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Nearby attractions include 7stanes - Glentress (1.2 km), Traquair House & Brewery (4.2 km), and Robert Smail's Printing Works (4.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nashys Takeaway or Sit Outside., Saffron Restaurant - Innerleithen, and The Crown Hotel Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Cardrona.
Are any cleaning services offered at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Macdonald Cardrona Hotel, Golf & Spa offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.