We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Stobo Castle

    Stobo Castle Stobo, Stobo EH45 8NY, Scotland
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Traveller (307)
          Room & Suite (66)
          Pool & Beach (14)
          Overview
          • Excellent72%
          • Very good15%
          • Average8%
          • Poor3%
          • Terrible2%
          Travellers talk about
          Free Internet
          Free Parking
          Breakfast Buffet
          Pool
          Non-Smoking Rooms
          Restaurant
          Suites
          Bar/Lounge
          Fitness centre
          Concierge
          Spa
          Wheelchair Access
          Laundry Service
          Tennis Court
          All hotel details
          {"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null}
          Write a Review
          Turn Your Opinions into Points!
          Turn your opinions into JPMiles
          Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
          *You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
          JPMiles / Payback Arrow
          JPMiles / PAYBACK
          50
          Reviews (1,080)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language

          1 - 5 of 1,080 reviews

          Reviewed 6 days ago

          Hubby surprised my daughter and myself with a spa day we decided to go all out and do the over night stay, we managed to get a room in the castle lodge, the room is a short stroll from the castle but room was lovely...More

          Thank TRESSMotherwell
          Response from Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo CastleResponded 5 days ago

          Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review, following your recent short break in Castle Lodge at Stobo. I'm so glad you had the opportunity to make the most of all our attractions, inside and out - the Japanese...More

          Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

          Had a lovely day here yesterday. What a gorgeous setting. Loved the pool, hot tub and relaxation room. However, afternoon tea was awful. Scones in particular were bland and not freshly made. Synthetic cream to go with half a strawberry each!! Was unable to give...More

          2  Thank ydnams
          Response from Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo CastleResponded 5 days ago

          Dear Guest, First of all, I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the facilities and surroundings during your recent visit to Stobo, however I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the afternoon tea provided. I would like to confirm that we serve freshly whipped double...More

          Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

          To Mr Wynyard and staff. I just wish to thank you and all your staff for yet another lovely stay you even ordered the weather. We have a lovely room with a view . The care and attention is second to none. Food excellent. We...More

          Thank Jfalla2014
          Response from Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo CastleResponded 6 days ago

          Dear Mrs Riddell, You're very welcome! It was a pleasure to welcome you back to Stobo and to read your lovely comments - Teresa and Karen will be delighted to hear your positive feedback. Looking forward to seeing you again soon,

          Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

          Absolutely love this place! Everything ran smoothly from check in to check out. Staff are polite and friendly, nothing is a problem. Rooms are lovely, comfortable and well equipped. All meals provided were delicious. Had a full body massage which was perfect! The outdoor hot...More

          2  Thank Hannah_Oldfield
          Response from Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo CastleResponded 2 weeks ago

          Dear Guest, Huge thanks for your very kind review - it's much appreciated by all the team here at Stobo and we hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon. Kind regards

          Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

          Thought the waterbed massage was one of the most relaxing massages I have ever had. Really enjoyed our time in the spa. We had a facial and made use of the various facilities on offer, such as the outdoor hot tubs. The reasons for three...More

          Thank MishRJ
          Response from Elliott_Winyard, Director at Stobo CastleResponded 2 weeks ago

          Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent Stobo experience. Your positive comments are hugely appreciated however I'm so sorry you felt your manicure was not up to our usual high standard. I would also like to apologise...More

          About
          Awards & Recognition
          Certificate of Excellence
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Pool
          • Free Parking
          • Restaurant
          • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
          • Bar/Lounge
          • Spa
          • Free Internet
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Laundry Service
          • Concierge
          • Things to do
          • Pool
          • Restaurant
          • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
          • Bar/Lounge
          • Spa
          • Hot Tub
          • Tennis Court
          Details
          • Price range
          • US$ 139 - US$ 367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
          • Room types
          • Suites ,
          • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
          • Accessible rooms
          • Number of rooms
          • 52
          • Location
          • United Kingdom >
          • Scotland >
          • Borders >
          • Stobo
          • Also Known As
          • Stobo Castle Hotel Stobo ,
          • Castle Stobo ,
          • Stobo Castle Peebles ,
          • Stobo Castle Scotland
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveller (307)
          Room & Suite (66)
          Pool & Beach (14)
          Dining (6)
          Hotel & Grounds (228)
          Bathroom (10)
          Family and Play Areas (1)
          Nearby
          Nearby Restaurants
          Laurel Bank
          124 reviews
          6.07 km away
          Coltman's Delicatessen & Kitchen
          526 reviews
          8.66 km away
          The Crown Hotel Restaurant
          490 reviews
          8.74 km away
          Mercat View
          220 reviews
          8.85 km away
          Nearby Attractions
          Stobo Castle Health Spa
          432 reviews
          .01 km away
          7stanes - Glentress
          217 reviews
          11.50 km away
          Biggar Puppet Theatre
          77 reviews
          12.64 km away
          Stobo Japanese Water Garden
          32 reviews
          .35 km away
          Questions & AnswersAsk a question
          Jennifer B
          having just returned form a one night stay with a friend at this amazing spa i am very excited to book a trip for my partner and I for next year however he is a smoker and i have been unable to find a smoking policy anywhere or an idea of whether stobo offers smoking rooms. does anyone know?
          21 February 2017|
          Answer Show all 5 answers
          Response from Erik I | Reviewed this property |
          don't think smoking is permitted you just need to go a bit further from the grounds
          0
          Votes
          kitty21
          Can anyone tell me what the Stanhope Room is like? It is situated on way to the Spa. Thanks in advance.
          21 August 2016|
          Answer Show all 4 answers
          Response from Scottish-AmericanMMC | Reviewed this property |
          Sorry, I haven't been on Trip Advisor for some time. To answer your question, I haven't personally stayed in the Stanhope Room, but every room I've stayed in at Stobo has always been to a very high standard. I hope this... More
          0
          Votes
          Fearnsnan
          Is there a iron in the room?
          27 April 2016|
          Answer Show all 4 answers
          Response from memphisbeckons | Reviewed this property |
          We were in Neidpath and had iron and board
          0
          Votes
          Room Tips
          "All rooms are lovely"
          Read review
          "The philipson has three sets of patio doors onto a beautiful sun terrace. Views to die for!"
          Read review
          "Avoid the Castle Lodge"
          Read review
          "Ask for a view - as not all the rooms have this."
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing