We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Eddleston by Peebles | Scottish Borders, Eddleston EH45 8QW, Scotland (Formerly Barony Castle)
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Don Coyote Outdoor Centre
    5.0 km
  • 3 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 21 September 2016
excellent location
superb location and numerous walks to enjoy and the Polish Map... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,320 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,269: English reviews
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2016

superb location and numerous walks to enjoy and the Polish Map of Scotland, not far from Peebles and it's amenities.Great place to explore the Borders region of Scotland and of course the sights of Edinburgh

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jxxx879
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jxxx879, thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear you have enjoyed your visit to Barony Castle. We are very excited that finally, after 4 years of works, the Great Map of Scotland is restored. We truly hope it will become a famous tourist destination as it once was. Kind regards, Vytautas Syvys General Manager & Owner

Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

It's never good to arrive with customers arguing with staff in the foyer. Booking in was late due to a member of room staff being off sick. This was quickly remedied with the offer of a free drink in the bar. Quick thinking resolved the situation. The front desk staff were more like front line staff. We agreed they must...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Quinster1973
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Quinster1973, thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive and informative review. In principal I agree with your comments and some of the tips you have suggested could be very useful to us. Perhaps the managerial sides of things depends on the individual which sometimes affects the consistency, but on the other hand creates more favourable...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Spent 3 nights there with my partner.Staff were very friendly and helpful we stayed in a superior room.The room was very comfortable and clean.Very nice grounds outside to have a walk around.We did not eat in the hotel as we chose to go into Peebles to eat at night.I would recommend this hotel for a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnmcpake
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JohnMcPake, thank you for your short and lovely review. I am glad to hear you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. It is these little things that make one's stay more enjoyable. Treating yourself to a Privilege room, using the facilities or grounds which are perfect for those who are looking for peace and serenity. If you plan...

South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

This hotel looks like a fairy tale castle from outside, but in fact inside, the lounge and dining room have low ceilings and dim lighting. The rooms are clean, comfortable well heated and the staff are excellent. There are parts of the hotel which are light and airy, the conservatory looking out to the garden. for instance. The pool is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcleanfamily2016
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear McLeanFamily2016, thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure to hear about positive experiences from our guests. We are working very hard to meet as well as exceed their expectations and nothing is more encouraging than being appreciated for our efforts. I hope that you will not hesitate to recommend us to your relatives and friends and...

Penicuik
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Maybe if I really thought about it, I probably could find a few trifles to moan about, but our couple of days there for our daughter's wedding were so enjoyable overall that I just don't feel inclined to be picky. We had a superb time. The staff were all polite, helpful, good-natured, efficient and generally excellent. It's a fascinating building...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Graham W
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Graham W, thank you for taking time to review your recent visit. It is a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and overall it met your expectations. I think it is fair to say that when a person wants to complain about something, he or she will. But that is not necessarily a bad thing. A...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Staff were fantastic. It was lovely clean and well presented. Bed could have been comfier but that's probably just my personal taste. Breakfast was brilliant too. Lovely setting and gardens. A short drive from peebles too. Would definitely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah F, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Vytautas Syvys General Manager

Reviewed 4 September 2016

The hotel is in a beautiful setting and on first impressions looks ideal. The decor is showing wear and it doesn't have that Scottish character and charm of a castle. The staff were brilliant and the buffet style breakfast was good with plenty of choice. We upgraded to a privilege room which gave us a Nespresso coffee machine, stocked fridge...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert C
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn...

Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

When you arrive at the Castle the grounds and views are beautiful but once inside we were extremely disappointed, we booked and paid extra for a privilege room but just wasted our money, the carpet and walls were very grubby and in one corner the paper was peeling off the wall and had water marks from ceiling to skirting board,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank avidevans
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Avidevans, thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear your stay was below your expectations. I am sure that a lot of our guests would disagree with you that staying at Barony Castle Hotel is a waste of money. Majority of them absolutely love this place and that is why so many of them are returning guests....

gloucestershire
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Lovely chateau style hotel with lovely grounds and friendly staff . Unfortunately the inside didn't match the exterior but it is pitched right , as a 3* . We were attending a wedding which was fantastic . The meal at the wedding was great. A funny episode . There was a list of what food each guest had ordered, under...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trinamblue
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Trinamblue, thank you for your review. I happy to hear your visit to Barony was enjoyable overall. Whilst we are a 3* property, we always aim to provide service which exceeds our star rating and make sure our guests feel welcomed at any point of their stay. Friendly and helpful staff, delicious food, comfortable sleep and high level of...

Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Hotel was very nice as was the food although was disappointed the menu was the same both nights, our room was nice but found it hard to sleep because it sounded like a generator was going all night just outside our window

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Billy G
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Billy G, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Kind regards, Vytautas Syvys General Manager & Owner

408 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (373)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (106)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (130)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eddleston
7.2 km away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#8 of 8 in Peebles
1,731 reviews
7.0 km away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
2.7 km away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
355 reviews
38.6 km away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
823 reviews
6.9 km away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#4 of 8 in Peebles
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Address: Eddleston by Peebles | Scottish Borders, Eddleston EH45 8QW, Scotland (Formerly Barony Castle)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Eddleston
Price Range: ₹ 3,071 - ₹ 8,462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston
Barony Castle Hotel Peebles
Barony Castle Peebles
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you cant walk far get a room at the front”
 of 5 bubbles 967mikee, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Not room 213, stinks of bleach and is freezing.”
 of 5 bubbles BoogStar, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The best rooms are the suites however for a short stopover the basic room is ok.”
 of 5 bubbles janettew2014, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 209 was quiet but very basic and the window was broke my sister stayed in room 225 and her window wouldnt open either”
 of 5 bubbles winchy35, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“try to avoid level three”
 of 5 bubbles 45ewans, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5