We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,335 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,282: English reviews
Oakham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2016

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisH1935WZ
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We booked a last minute getaway through Hotel Connexions and having read a few reviews we were a bit nervous. On arrival we were dealt with quickly and professionally at reception and the lady was lovely. The hotel is undergoing a refurbishment programme which they are very open about. The reception, bar and restaurant areas are very nice and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Burge23
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Burge23, thank you for taking time in reviewing your recent stay to Barony Castle Hotel. I am happy to hear that apart from a few niggles, you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. To be honest, to us negative reviews are in fat opportunities. Ultimately it indicates the areas where the Hotel could improve or where our focus...

Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Had a great relaxing break. Upgraded room to a privilege one, robes, slippers, fridge with water and soft drinks inc. Also coffee maker. Dinner was superb, breakfast too. Grounds are lovely too. Good value, lovely staff too, couldn't fault it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greig C
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Greig C, thank you for your short and lovely review. I feel very inspired by it. It is exactly the appreciation we at Barony Castle Hotel are looking for. We always try our best and nothing makes us feel better than a happy customer. Thank you again for staying with us and I do hope to see you back...

Oban, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Had a fabulous night at this lovely hotel. Check in no problem very helpful receptionist. Room large clean and very comfortable with lovely view over hills. Garden walk georgous. Bar and restaurant staff very friendly and welcoming. Diner in restaurant wonderful. Read many bad reviews about conditions in hotel I know the refurbishment is ongoing and the decor and carpets...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmorrison178
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jmorrison178, thank you for such a lovely review. I am very happy to hear you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I am sure my staff will be no less delighted to hear your kind words and feel appreciated as much. We always aim to provide excellent level of service and you acknowledgement is very important to us....

Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

the surrounding area is sublime a beautifully placed hotel however i think they owners and management have relied on this for too long ? the walk to our room was colossal and there seemed to be some issues with disabled visitors complaining because fire doors were shut throughout the corridors meaning they found it difficult to negotiate these corridors independently!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WJC33
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear WJC33, thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. I have taken the note of your comments and will share it with the rest of the team. Will will make sure you comments are adhered to and similar problems are avoided in future. I would like to mention that...

Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Hotel stay was excellent, made all the better because of the location, staff, restaurant etc. Can't fault it in any way. Dined in the restaurant, food was very well presented and delicious. Buffet Breakfast was also delicious. Hotel setting is fantastic, take a walk through the hotel grounds and pop over to see the 3D map of Scotland.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlie S
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Charlie S, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for...

Eccleshall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016

My husband and I booked a 2 night break to visit friends in the Scottish Borders. On the website the Barony Castle Hotel looked lovely. We stayed in a standard room. On arrival the hotel looks lovely from the exterior and we were checked in very quickly by Rosa. On entering our room we were very disappointed, the wallpaper was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrskeh1981
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrsheh1981, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

I attended this hotel for business and wasn't impressed. Rooms are to a 3 star standard and I felt the bathroom was either travel lodge standard or very tired. Cleanliness was pretty poor as well. The hotel could do with a full refit, which if done properly may make the hotel desirable as the grounds and peebles are lovely. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank epytac01
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Epytac01, thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Barony Castle Hotel. I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Whilst you comments are very fair, I would like to mention that we are constantly improving our facilities. If you had a chance to walk around the Hotel, I am sure you have noticed the...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Stayed here on a cheap deal for DBB. Receptionist was very attentive and friendly, we were handed a sheet with information about the leisure facilities, meal times etc. Room was clean, had everything you would need. Had dinner in the restaurant the first night, food was very good, breakfast the next day was a good selection, all tasty and replenished...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RossFamily21
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RossFamily21, thank you for reviewing you recent stay at Barony Castle Hotel. It was a pleasure to hear you have thoroughly enjoyed it. We always focus on delivering good quality service and exceeding expectations whenever possible. Your appreciation is greatly valued. Whilst we are fully aware of the challenges the Hotel is facing, it does not stop us from...

Blantyre, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. Good food and comfortable room. Will definitely visit again. Value for money. Pool and large grounds. 5 minutes from Peebles by car. Staff friendly and accommodating. Ongoing remedial works being carried out but didn't spoil visit.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nizzy2701
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nizzy2701, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing...

412 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (377)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (106)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (134)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eddleston
7.2 km away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
1,769 reviews
7.0 km away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
7.1 km away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
698 reviews
38.6 km away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
835 reviews
6.9 km away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 8 in Peebles
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Address: Eddleston by Peebles | Scottish Borders, Eddleston EH45 8QW, Scotland (Formerly Barony Castle)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Eddleston
Price Range: ₹ 3,422 - ₹ 8,924 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston
Barony Castle Hotel Peebles
Barony Castle Peebles
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask or a room with a view.”
 of 5 bubbles Kittywanders, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for best room available”
 of 5 bubbles _lindascott1965, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Suites are also available”
 of 5 bubbles mrsalbertz, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Front facing room, get breakfast in deal.”
 of 5 bubbles jackiemcseveney, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you cant walk far get a room at the front”
 of 5 bubbles 967mikee, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5