We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,363 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,310: English reviews
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

When you arrive at the Castle the grounds and views are beautiful but once inside we were extremely disappointed, we booked and paid extra for a privilege room but just wasted our money, the carpet and walls were very grubby and in one corner the paper was peeling off the wall and had water marks from ceiling to skirting board,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank avidevans
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Avidevans, thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear your stay was below your expectations. I am sure that a lot of our guests would disagree with you that staying at Barony Castle Hotel is a waste of money. Majority of them absolutely love this place and that is why so many of them are returning guests....

gloucestershire
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Lovely chateau style hotel with lovely grounds and friendly staff . Unfortunately the inside didn't match the exterior but it is pitched right , as a 3* . We were attending a wedding which was fantastic . The meal at the wedding was great. A funny episode . There was a list of what food each guest had ordered, under...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trinamblue
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Trinamblue, thank you for your review. I happy to hear your visit to Barony was enjoyable overall. Whilst we are a 3* property, we always aim to provide service which exceeds our star rating and make sure our guests feel welcomed at any point of their stay. Friendly and helpful staff, delicious food, comfortable sleep and high level of...

Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Hotel was very nice as was the food although was disappointed the menu was the same both nights, our room was nice but found it hard to sleep because it sounded like a generator was going all night just outside our window

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Billy G
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Billy G, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Kind regards, Vytautas Syvys General Manager & Owner

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

We had a 2 night stay for our first wedding anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. I could be negative and go on about the bad bits (toilet roll holder hanging off the wall in the bathroom, cracked plaster on the wall) but none of these minor things had any impact on our stay. The staff are lovely and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KAPS2908
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kaps2908, thank you for you review. I am happy to hear you have enjoyed your visit to Barony Castle Hotel. Please excuse for the maintenance issues you had experienced with your room though. Interestingly, we found out that certain guests were using toiler roll holders as a support to stand up from the toiler seat which meant some of...

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

This is our first visit to Barony Castle since it changed hands from Devere to Mercure a few years ago. Could not really notice too much difference, but the room was great, and the service throughout the stay was of a high standard as your would expect. So overall, the stay was great, my only small gripe was with the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LukeB001
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LukeB001, thank you for taking time in writing your review. I happy to hear that with an exception of a few niggles you have enjoyed you visit to Barony Castle Hotel. As a business we always want to remain consistent in the way we operate. From the moment of check-in until departure we aim to provide service which is...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016

The purpose of our visit to the Mercure Barony Castle Hotel was a Birthday treat for my Granddaughter who also brought along 3 friends for facial and nail treatments. Staff member Gemma made us all feel so very welcome and comfortable. She was very attentive and pleasant and carried out the treatments in very relaxed, professional and unhurried manner. She...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patmccann2011
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Patmccann2011, thank you for your lovely review. It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your visit so much. I will pass on personal thanks to Gemma, who I am sure will be delighted. We always aim to provide exceptional level of service and exceed our guests' expectations whenever possible. Ultimately a happy customer is the sign...

Hexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We recently stayed overnight at this delightful hotel and can recommend it as an alternative to paying the very high prices that hotels in Edinburgh are charging at the moment whilst the festival is on. We needed to be in Edinburgh fairly early so did not have a breakfast but fortunately this was charged extra so we didn't feel we...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank portlanders3
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Portlanders3, thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us. I would definitely encourage you to try our cuisine the next time you are here. Barony Castle is well known for delicious food and award-wining restaurant Thomson's @ the Castle. Whilst you pay a little extra, the benefit far ouweigh...

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We love here. Our spa facial was by Gemma and a wonderful way to relax. Lovely girl and made my skin look 10 years younger. Staff are lovely in the rest of the hotel too ie reception and bar/restaurant. Breakfast divine, lots of food options. We love the sauna, jacuzzi and pool too. The Castle is beautiful and has been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank coussonya
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Coussonya, thank you for your short and lovely review. I am glad you stay was truly enjoyable one. We always invest great amount of time and resources in training our staff and making sure they are very friendly, attentive and professional. Gemma is an asset no doubt and I am happy her hard work does not go unnoticed. I...

Sheffield
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevebA2809HT
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Edinburgh
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Had a very pleasant stay at this hotel, sadly the spa was up for renovation but it's on lovely grounds so nice for a wee walk. Had a drink in the bar in the evening staff very nice and cocktails so good! One negative was during the day when we had some chips for lunch one chips was forgotten so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annagow
MercureBaronyCastle, General Manager at Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Annagow, thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Barony Castle Hotel. It is a pleasure to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. We understand that some of the refurbishment we currently undergo might be affecting our guests, but ultimately we are doing this to improve our services for future. Whilst it is an ongoing process with...

413 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (378)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (107)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (134)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eddleston
7.2 km away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
1,806 reviews
7.0 km away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
7.1 km away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
708 reviews
38.6 km away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
857 reviews
6.9 km away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 8 in Peebles
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel

Address: Eddleston by Peebles | Scottish Borders, Eddleston EH45 8QW, Scotland (Formerly Barony Castle)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Eddleston
Price Range: ₹ 3,928 - ₹ 10,148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barony Castle Hotel Eddleston
Barony Castle Hotel Peebles
Barony Castle Peebles
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Did not stay”
 of 5 bubbles alanmcintyre2016, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms at the back are closer to the pool”
 of 5 bubbles busterbroon, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask or a room with a view.”
 of 5 bubbles Kittywanders, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for best room available”
 of 5 bubbles _lindascott1965, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Suites are also available”
 of 5 bubbles mrsalbertz, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5