We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

CenterHotel Thingholt

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
CenterHotel Thingholt
CenterHotel Thingholt
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,511 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for CenterHotel Thingholt
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,386: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 14 April 2015

It's difficult to write a negative review about any place in Iceland. By and large, the people are friendly and welcoming, and the six hotels I slept in during my visit were uniformly comfortable except for CenterHotel Thingholt. I arrived after a 7-day/night hike exhausted and in need of sleep. I choose this hotel because the pictures seemed so inviting,...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank James J
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear James J thank you for your review and your feedback on your stay. I apologies that it was not up to your expectations. All our Deluxe rooms provide either a bathtub or a sofa space, unfortunately not all rooms have a bathtub next to the bed, however when requested we do our utmost to fulfil the room allocation requested....

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2015 via mobile

We've just completed a 4 night stay here and it was a real mixed bag. I have epilepsy so there's a reason the sleep side of things are important to me.... First of all the positives, it's in a really central location for exploring the city, the rooms lovely (spacious for here with great size bathrooms). The breakfast staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MPR82
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear MPR82, thank you for taking the time to write a response to us. It is very important for us to get genuine feedback both on the positive and negative side. I want to apologies that you were not happy with your stay. I would be more than happy to hear from you directly about your stay. kind regards Hjortur...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 13 April 2015

this hotel is beautiful and a great location. However since we've been staying here since yesterday, our stay has been completely disrupted by construction taking place at the restaurant next door - sushi samba. The noise started past midnight last night and lasted until 4 am. This afternoon, while trying to catch up on missed sleep, the construction noise continued....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank MStravels6
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2015

This hotel is in a great location, very central and close to lots of other bars, restaurants and bistros. The rooms are really nicely decorated, modern and fresh looking with all the necessary mod-cons. The beds are very comfortable as well - no complaints! The breakfast is a buffet style with plenty of choice of fried options (sausages, bacon, eggs),...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan O
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear Susan O, thank you for your review of Centerhotel Thingholt. It was a pleasure to have your group staying with us, and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. kind regards Hjortur Valgeirsson Hotel Manager

Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewed 8 April 2015

Spacious, clean comfortable room. Hotel looks like a warehouse from the outside; inside is four star or better. Everything works: WC, WiFi, lifts, courtesy PC. Surprisingly good resto. Great, varied b/f buffet. Central to a compact and pictureque downtown. Tours organised through the hotel with no hassles or errors. As professional a property as the best I've encountered anywhere. 10...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank amfd194
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear amfd194 Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the weather not being the best. I agree who needs palms when you can experience snow storm! Best regards Hjortur Valgeirsson Hotel Manager

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2015

Stayed here for a two night stopover on our second visit to Iceland. Beautifully decorated, clean, friendly and in a central location for exploring Reykjavik on foot. Iceland have a brilliant little system in place with, it seems, all the location excursion operators; they all pick you up and drop you off at your hotel which makes seeing the rest...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PurpleE73
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear PurpleE73 thank you for reviewing our hotel, Im very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you liked our country. I hope you get the chance to revisit us soon. kind regards Hjortur Valgeirsson Hotel Manager

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2015

Thingholt is right in the city centre and the staff were all lovely. Breakfast was awesome and the girl who waits tables in the morning was very friendly and always looked happy to see you in the mornings. I wasn't initially a fan of the rooms: very man cave. Concrete walls, lino floors and glass bathroom walls. My finance and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rscallen2015
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear rscallen2015 thank you for your comments on your stay and helpful comments on the hotel. kind regards Hjortur Valgeirsson Hotel Manager

Reviewed 4 April 2015

This is probably the most centrally located of the CenterHotels in Reykjavik. The sounds of the night life won't bother you not even during the EvE Fanfest pub crawl if you remember to close the windows... The hotel is surprisingly quiet considering the location but you still may get waken up by the fog horns of the ships in the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matti H
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear Matti H, thank you for your comments, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Centerhotel Thingholt. kind regards Hjortur Valgeirsson Hotel Manager

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 30 March 2015

I really love boutique or modern/hip hotels, so I wanted to stay here because I thought that it will be this kind of accommodation. And it was very modern, hip and cool, but in general, for the price per night, it could have been much better. The room is fine, but not super cozy. The bathroom has glass walls, therefore...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dayaya
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear dayaya, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience. It´s very helpful to get an honest review that can give us points to improve. I am glad that you liked the design and the breakfast, however please accept our apologies that your experience was not up to your expectations. I would love to hear...

Reviewed 30 March 2015 via mobile

My husband and I just ended our weeklong road trip through Iceland. This was our favorite hotel! Great customer service, tasty breakfast included in our rate, and stylish and comfortable rooms were top notch. And we couldn't have asked for a better location, in the heart of downtown Reykjavik. We will be staying here again on our next trip to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KDohrman
CH_channelmanager, General Manager at CenterHotel Thingholt, responded to this review

Dear KDohrman, thank you for your review, and I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, I will be sure to forward that to our team. You are more than welcome back to stay with us. best regards Hjortur Valgeirsson Hotel Manager

769 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (512)
Viewed
Room/Suite (150)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (72)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (78)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
2:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (163)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (225)
Viewed
Amenities (31)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (39)
Viewed
Loft Suite (46)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (29)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (Alternate Style) (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
945 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 53 in Reykjavik
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 53 in Reykjavik
3,430 reviews
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#12 of 53 in Reykjavik
338 reviews
Hotel Holt
#11 of 53 in Reykjavik
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about CenterHotel Thingholt

Address: Thingholtsstraeti 3-5, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Price Range: ₹ 16,034 - ₹ 30,955 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CenterHotel Thingholt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your CenterHotel Thingholt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Thingholt Reykjavík
Centerhotel Thingholt Hotel Reykjavík
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#9 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from CenterHotel Thingholt staff and other travellers.
32 questions
Ask a question
Richmond, Virginia
8 months ago
Camberley, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom

See all questions (32)

Questions? Get answers from CenterHotel Thingholt staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For quiet, ask for back of hotel or simply ask for quiet room.”
 of 5 bubbles NeilB786, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you want space, do not request a room with a bathtub as it takes up a lot of the room.”
 of 5 bubbles 125helens, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Front elevation - choose a bath or a shower”
  • Junior Suite - I think
 of 5 bubbles zenaLee, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Just request a quiet room if you do not wish to hear the late night partying. The locals love music, dance and have fun!!”
 of 5 bubbles 767patriciar, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“multifloor suite is fun\”
  • jr suite is sweet
 of 5 bubbles MikeTrinidadBayBnB, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5