We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Cabin

1.9 km from Reykjavik centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
Borgartun 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,942 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Cabin
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,626: English reviews
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2015

It is excellent value for money and this time we had an upgrade to our basic room so even better value. We have stayed here three times before and so know what to expect, the only thing to remember is that it is a budget hotel so don't expect the Ritz.

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank centauro998
Helga J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review

Dear centauro998, Thank you for the kind review and your fourth stay in hotel Cabin. We are very glad to know that you like hotel Cabin and what it has to offer. It is amazing to know that you have come for the fourth time and are happy with our service. :) We hope to see you again for the...

Ironbridge Gorge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2015

This hotel is about 3/4 of a mile from the centre, probably not the best for persons not used to walking, although the hotel is quite able to arrange taxi transport and there is a local bus stop very near-by. We found all the staff helpful and pleasant with no trouble booking tours, room we had was fine, standard double...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harry P
Helga J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review

Dear Harry P, Thank you for the review and for your stay in hotel Cabin. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed hotel Cabin and what it has to offer. Yes you are right the hotel is about a 20 minute walk from the center but I recommend the bus, there is a bus stop across the street from...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 17 March 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights on our trip to Iceland. It is a decent hotel to stay in. The rooms tend to be very small - even when we upgraded to a bigger room - it was still a little small. It was very hot in the room - we couldn't find a thermostat for the life of us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelPHorn
Helga J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review

Dear MelPHorn, Thank you for the kind review and you stay in hotel Cabin. We are glad to know that you enjoyed hotel Cabin and what it has to offer. I am happy to hear that you liked the food options that we have for breakfast and dinner. And you liked our staff and the service they offer. :) Hope...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2015

The budget rooms are small but sufficient if you travel light. Wifi is free but at peak times not very reliable. You can also pop across the road to the Nesti petrol station for a free hotspot. Our room had good charging facilities with three sockets There was no shower gel but plenty of towels. One of Reykjavik's thermal pools...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wernerschweizer
Klara S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review

Dear Wernerschweiezer Thank you so much for your kind review. Glad to hear you liked what Cabin has to offer. It is very convenient being close to the geothermal pool it is so lovely like you said. People who stay with us should definitely make the time to go there. So happy to hear you enjoyed the walk along the...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 16 March 2015

Compared to price you pay - it is a good hotel. It is very basic, and I recommend you upgrading to a deluxe room to get some space in your room. The hotel is about 10-15 minutes walk outside the citycenter. Breakfast is basic with bread, eggs, ham, cheese, coffee and juice. Wifi coverage is good. Staff was good enough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holter-Nilsen
Klara S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review

Dear Hoyvind Thank you for your kind comments towards Cabin. Glad to hear WiFi signal was strong since we have been testing that out the last few weeks. Formally it will be up and running 1/4. Last few months have been very busy here in Iceland in fact our tourism is growing allot these days and every month is busy...

Kent, England
Reviewed 15 March 2015

It's all been said. The room we were given was so small I felt claustrophobic and had to upgrade. 'Deluxe'rooms are quite basic but we had a good view of the sea and mountains. Bathroom was small but good. Room was clean and warm, breakfast was boring with processed meat and cheese but bread was good and fresh. Only one...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lynneKent_England
Klara S, Sales Representative at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review

Dear LynneKent Thank you for your review for Cabin. Glad to hear you liked our Deluxe rooms and bread and cheese from our breakfast buffet. Sorry to hear you disliked the rest of our breakfast buffet. We have typical "continental" breakfast in Cabin, usually people find something they like and we are open minded for our customers opinion so thank...

Bargoed, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2015

After seeing some of the comments on here, I was a little concerned about he possible size of the room but needn't have worried. We had a superior room (booked via Icelandair) on the top floor- plenty of space and a decent view, all perfectly clean. NIce comfy beds, although our double was actually two singles pushed together. Good shower....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ceri C
Helga J, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review

Dear Ceri C, Thank you for the kind review and your stay in hotel Cabin. We are glad to know that you liked hotel Cabin and what it has to offer. I am glad to hear that you liked the breakfast that we offer and our staff. :) We hope to see you again in hotel Cabin. Best regards, Helga

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2015

Just got back from staying here. The hotel is clean, warm & staff very helpful. I was travelling on my own & had room with two single beds in. The room was cleaned daily & there is an upright radiator which you can adjust to alter the temperature. The television only shows a few channels- BBC1 & ITV but wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SIMON H
Klara S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review

Dear Simon Thank you so much for your great review for Cabin. Glad you liked us and that you will recommend us. We hope to see you again! Regards Klara

Reviewed 14 March 2015 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in March checked in late due to travel issues but the desk was manned so no issues getting in. The welcome was uninspiring but having dined out every night it seems thats just Iceland. Room was ok, clean, warm and serviced every day we had hot water whenever we needed it and towel radiator no hair...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
Klara S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review

Dear Mike C Thank you for your stay and for your kind review. We are very happy to hear that you liked what our hotel has to offer. Just a little tip for next time you can borrow hairdryer from the lobby for a little deposit if you like and if they have it available unfortunately we don´t have it...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2015

If you are expecting 4 & 5 star luxury then you will be disappointed. This Hotel is basic but clean and serviceable. We read the reviews before we went and heeded the advice to upgrade prior to our stay. A good decision and good advice. We had a deluxe room on the seventh floor. Spotlessly clean, lovely shower, big window....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annabellatravels
Klara S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cabin, responded to this review

Dear Annabellatravels Thank you for your stay and for your kind review. We are very happy to hear that you liked what our hotel has to offer. Just a little tip for next time you can borrow hairdryer from the lobby for a little deposit if you like and if they have it available unfortunately we don´t have it in...

691 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (514)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (103)
Viewed
Room/Suite (121)
Viewed
View from Room (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (34)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Other (167)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (165)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (34)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Standard Room (28)
Viewed
Superior Room (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#42 of 52 in Reykjavik
487 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#48 of 52 in Reykjavik
319 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#31 of 52 in Reykjavik
417 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#25 of 52 in Reykjavik
2,005 reviews
Hotel Klettur
#30 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Cabin is a modern hotel designed for the modern traveler and equipped with all the facilities that a modern traveler needs. Our main policy has always been, to offer travelers visiting Reykjavík comfortable and economic accomodation right in the heart of the city. The standard rooms are the cheapest accommodation we have to offer and as the name implies they are very basic but comfortable. The Deluxe rooms are bigger and come with a bathtub with a shower and refrigerator. The Superior rooms are all on the hotel´s 7th floor and offer a magnificent view of the city or the ocean. They come with a free wireless internet, a refrigerator, a tea- and coffee maker and a hairdryer.The hotel is excellently located within a walking distance from the city center as well as the Laugardalur area.Laugardalur (Hot Spring Valley) is a centre for sports and recreation in the capital. In Laugardalur you will find the Botanical Gardens and the largest outdoor thermal pool in Reykajvík, Laugardalslaug. The facilities there include a water slide, hot tubs and a geothermal sauna. Also located in laugardalur are Laugardalsvöllur Sport Stadium and Laugar fitness spa. The popular family park and Zoo in Laugardalur is open all year round. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Cabin

Address: Borgartun 32, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Laugardalur
Price Range: ₹ 6,846 - ₹ 13,764 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cabin 2*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Cabin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cabin Reykjavík
Reykjavík Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin Iceland
Cabin Hotel Reykjavik
Cabin Hotel Iceland
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Reykjavik
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Cabin staff and other travellers.
72 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (72)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Cabin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Deluxe Room on 5th floor was good had Fridge Tea/Coffee making facilities”
 of 5 bubbles W54OSkarenm, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the back would be quieter. If space is important, upgrade to a deluxe room”
 of 5 bubbles Jackeyp, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms to rear are very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles barkubird, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“one at the front - as there are some in the middle with no window and the back view isn't very good”
 of 5 bubbles jbr1041932, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Bring earplugs”
 of 5 bubbles IanGIanG, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5