We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Island

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

424 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 321: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Island
 Click to rate
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Hotel island is a 3 star hotel and that's what I rated it. The initial view is good, reception and bistro are aesthetically pleasing. Receptionist would not let us check in before 2pm and we couldn't upgrade as hotel was full, which is fair enough. Neither receptionists seemed particularly engaging or friendly, merely clinical. Our room on 2nd floor was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julie s
Radstock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Located about ten minutes from the downtown area this is a nice hotel which is let down by some poor standards of service by some staff. The reception team were excellent, but the breakfast team and the English girl working in the far were poor and in one case rude. Breakfast supposed to start at 0630 but one morning they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil P
Hotel_Island, Front Office Manager at Hotel Island, responded to this review

Hello Neil P, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with your recent stay with Hótel Ísland. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the mini-suites up on the 7th floor some of which offers unobstructed views of the beautiful Esja mountain. Unfortunately, due to unforeseen circumstances we had a slight delay with opening our daily...

Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We initially booked for the Reykjavik Lights hotel but upon arrival was told due to water damage we had been transferred to this hotel. Great location and the people behind the main reception were really friendly and helpful, and the room was a pleasant size and the view of the mountains/sea was amazing. It's about a 20 minute walk to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matt M
Leominster, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Now there are a lot of narrow minded people that you will see criticize this hotel for the location. I, for one was skeptical that we would be too far from the city centre however when you are visiting Reykjavik for the very first time you will come to the realization that it is simply a built up city with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ItsLikeMeg
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Island. Our superior room was fantastic on the top floor and was so much more than we expected with a sitting area, comfy bed and what seemed like a newly renovated bathroom. In fact our whole room seemed like it was renovated recently and from reading the reviews on here that the hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SGRich
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had a 4 night stay, with the expressed intention to see the Northern Lights. The hotel is about 1.5 miles from the city centre, but there is a good bus service into town. The staff were very friendly and helpful and are able to book any trips you may want to go on. Breakfast is excellent, buffet style with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean L
Germantown, Maryland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel is far away from the downtown area where you will spend most of your time. The lobby give you hope, with a nice café and bar. However as you go up to your room, you quickly realize the old girl is tired and worn out. We will not be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank randyb386
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Ok so this hotel has the jury out. Its a good 20 mins to centre rekyavik. Under normal circumstances woyldnt bother e but its like an industrial estate where the hotel is very little around it except for car showrooms and a dual carriageway. Great breakfast cant fault it. Staff hit or miss the guy on at night with long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian H
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights over Valentine's Day. Very efficient reception staff who were always happy to help with any questions we had for trips and transfers. Our room was spacious and cleaned daily, however we were disappointed with the lack of English channels on the TV. Breakfast was really good and had plenty of choice. The location of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayne89Preston
middlesbrough
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

The first room we where given was awful, but I will say once we had mentioned to poor room (very old, dated decor, shabby fittings, no kettle/tea/coffee) we were moved to what she called 'the other side' of the hotel which was a lot nicer, much cleaner, newer even. The newer room had a bath and shower (the other had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rich1988

650 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (223)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (88)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (427)
Viewed
Amenities (84)
Viewed
Family Room Junior Suite Room (55)
Viewed
Mini Suite (49)
Viewed
New Standard Double (36)
Viewed
New Superior Double (41)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (34)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (31)
Viewed
Superior Twin Room (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
4th Floor Hotel
#46 of 52 in Reykjavik
354 reviews
Eyja Guldsmeden Hotel
#23 of 52 in Reykjavik
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
City Park Hotel
City Park Hotel
#35 of 52 in Reykjavik
116 reviews
Laugardalur
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
#26 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,473 reviews
22 Hill Hotel
#24 of 52 in Reykjavik
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the new business district & within walking distance to the picturesque city centre; near Kringlan mall. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Island

Address: Armuli 9, Reykjavik 108, Iceland (Formerly Park Inn by Radisson)
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Háaleiti
Price Range: ₹ 8,452 - ₹ 18,916 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Island 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Island Reykjavik Hotel
Park Inn Reykjavík
Reykjavík Park Inn
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Reykjavik
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Island staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be prepared to be the last pickup on trips”
 of 5 bubbles SGRich, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room overlooked a central atreum it was dreadful”
 of 5 bubbles 218gillianh, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with odd numbers on the 5th,6th and 7th floor have the best views”
 of 5 bubbles sayitasitis2017, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for roomupgrade”
 of 5 bubbles 704David, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for view of the mountain if possible”
 of 5 bubbles O4686YWjameso, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5