We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Klettur

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Klettur
Hotel Klettur
Panoramas (12)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,361 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Klettur
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,172: English reviews
Birmingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2016

We stayed at the Hotel Klettur for 5 nights over Feb 2016 half term. The hotel was clean, well decorated and the staff were very helpful. The room was very hot on arrival but we were able to turn it down at the valve. Have a big radiator in the room was great for drying hats and gloves at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Smartie00
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2016

The room was very spacious. We came on a Groupon and the hotel was very accommodating. Nice vicinity to the main street in town. Perfect location for picking up tours as well. Not luxury, but helpful staff (except one gentleman at the desk with earrings), clean and comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank Bri P
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2016

This is a well located very clean basic hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast was plentiful. Furnishings are basic but enough to make you comfortable. This was a good experience and I would recommend it to friends.

Helpful?
1 Thank dan5124
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2016

I advised the hotel by email that we were going to be arriving late at hotel, as we decided to do Blue Lagoon straight from the airport. When we arrived, we checked in very easily and directed to top floor (6th). Room spacious, with 2 single beds, 2 chairs and tea and coffee although no milk only creamer. Wifi free... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank jo m
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2016

The room was clean and just what we needed.Nice shower and comfortable bed.The staff was friendly and the lad behind the desk knew his soccer,even if he was an Arsenal supporter.The breakfast was great and set my wife and I up for each day.

Helpful?
2 Thank KeithMaryCox
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2016

We had a 4 night stay here over valentines weekend. The hotel is simple, clean and of a moderate size. Check-in was smooth. We had a standard double and this was comfortable. Two single beds pushed together was fine, separate duvets was different but fine too. One giant pillow each was annoying, I prefer two pillows but that is just... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ashley H
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

Hotel staff were very helpful. We booked all our excursions before we arrived and they helped confirm and alter timings and days. Food was good, beer was good and happy hour is extended if your northern lights tour is called off that night and they rebook you onto the next one you can do.

Helpful?
Thank Craig C
edinburgh
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2016 via mobile

We got a corner top floor room and it was a really good sized room including a North facing aspect which is always quite handy for an aurora hunter. The room was really well appointed and modern. Even had a balcony! Problem was when you go out all night you expect to sleep during the day. Well they had failed... More 

Helpful?
Thank ecosse-explorers
Geir G, Director of Sales at Hotel Klettur, responded to this review

Dear ecosse-explorers I am sorry to hear that the construction kept you awake. We did our best to make sure that all our guests were informed about the construction and let all our partners know also. Since you were here in march 2015 we were almost finished with the building then. We opened the building in may 2015. Good to... More 

Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

The hotel is fairly centrally located on Reykjavik, close to the main streets and lots of restaurants and shops. Good sized rooms with tea and coffee making facilities. Good choice of food for breakfast. Good wifi. Helpful staff who booked excursions for us and advised on places to visit. Would recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank dizzylizzie55
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Good location and easy to walk into the heart of the city and the old harbour area. Very helpful and friendly staff who speak excellent English. Breakfast was a buffet style with very nice coffee, ham, cheese, eggs, fresh melon and orange segments, salad items, breads, porridge and cereals. The room was of a decent size, warm and comfortable with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S

467 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (247)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Other (86)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (213)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (33)
Viewed
Deluxe Room with Balcony (37)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (28)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#35 of 59 in Reykjavik
770 reviews
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#13 of 59 in Reykjavik
382 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#24 of 59 in Reykjavik
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22 Hill Hotel
#23 of 59 in Reykjavik
870 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#41 of 59 in Reykjavik
1,411 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Klettur is a beautiful first class hotel, a stone's throw from downtown. The hotel's name is derived from the rock that breaks through the wall on the first floor. When choosing the color theme and the interior decoration for the hotel we had in mind the unique color scheme of the Icelandic nature.Hótel Klettur has 166 rooms, of which there are 146 Standard rooms and 20 Deluxe rooms. The rooms are all modern, bright, spacious and well quipped. The Deluxe rooms are located on the top two floors of the hotel and have a shared lounge and balcony facing south.In every room you will find a refrigerator, telephone, satellite TV, internet connection, ironing board, clothing iron, hair dryer, coffee and tea maker and a safe.Hótel Klettur is well located in Reykjavík, only about two minutes walk from the main bus terminal and Laugavegur shopping street. The hotel is within 2 km walking distance from all the major sights and only about 1,6 km from Harpa concert hall and conference center. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Klettur

Address: Mjolnisholt 12 - 14, Reykjavik, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Price Range: ₹ 8,705 - ₹ 20,015 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Klettur 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Klettur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Reykjavik
#8 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#10 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Klettur staff and other travellers.
41 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (41)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Klettur staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms good and easy to get to”
 of 5 bubbles woo72016, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Deluxe rooms are the best. A must. Also, rooms in the back of the hotel are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles Sunflower2213, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I stayed on the second floor and did not hear any noise from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles Blktrek, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room away from the street; bring your own washcloth and facial tissues.”
 of 5 bubbles sl0tta, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“not opposite elevators or above main entrance for light sleepers because of the noise.”
 of 5 bubbles esther31, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay