We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Original Sokos Hotel Ilves

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Original Sokos Hotel Ilves
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

526 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 323: English reviews
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I made a reservation well in advance my visit. A day before my arrival, they called me asking if I wanted to make a reservation for the hotel restaurant or order additional services to my reservation. I thought this was a really nice touch and made me feel welcome, I ended up ordering a bottle of Prosecco to my room....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank VenlaViola
Turku, Finland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel was excellent in all means for us. We appreciated the delicious breakfast. We got porridge, youghurt, eggs in many ways, pancakes, berries, fruits, warm bread, many kind of cheese and vegetables, all fresh.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 203ronja
Helsinki
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The staff were very friendly and helpful in changing our room booking without making a fuse. The breakfast was excellent and rich. located in the city center but quite. We came for a one night business trip and was not disappointed by the hotel service. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mansikka1
Espoo
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel was clean and quiet, located in centrum of Tampere. Great view over the city from windows. Excellent Sauna and breakfast. Pool and Gym included in the price. Comfortable bed and air condition did not make any noise.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jnir
Tampere
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I had a one night stop-over here while visiting friends in town. Overall the Hotel is ok, but I would say that I was expecting more for the price. This hotel is most certainly at the upper end of the price range for this city, and I was expecting more. There is a great pool and Sauna,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChRoux
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Beginning wasnt good. Booked by the reception and we noticed that price was waaay lower on the internet. So we ended up cancelling and booked from the net. Arriving: I tried to explain the earlier situation and all I got was talking out of turn. After that smile-less checking in moment: room was good, and clean, someone elses winebottle cap...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravellersFI
Ilves_Tampere, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves, responded to this review

Dear TravellersFI, Thank You for telling us about Your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that the start of Your stay was disappointing and the cleaning of the room wasn't up to our standards. We do have many special offers on our website and You'll get a certain prosentual discount when You book online, especially if you have...

Shanghai, China
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed for 4 nights on december. We asked for a king size bed and the bed was actually two small beds together with separate mattress cover and separate blankets. After falling into the hole between the 2 mattresses the whole night, I asked for a real king bed for couples... They didn't have. The best they could do was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mbrevis
Ilves_Tampere, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves, responded to this review

Dear mbrevis, I am sorry to hear that we didn't meet Your expectations during Your visit with us. We apologize that we don't have the kind of blankets You wished for, unfortunately in all of our rooms we have separate blankets. Our Housekeeping does cleaning in the early afternoon. Did You happen to have the Do not disturb-sign on Your...

Espoo, Finland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had four rooms for one night just after Christmas. Hotel was really empty 1/4 of it's full capacity. We had a junior suite which had a small sitting room, bedroom with really comfortable bed and separate bathroom and toilet. plus a balcony. Junior suites are on 3rd and 4th floors. We also had superior ?? not sure about the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KMervi
Ilves_Tampere, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves, responded to this review

Dear KMervi, It seems that You had quite relaxing and good holiday in Tampere during Christmas. Thank You for choosing Ilves for your group's place to stay. Superior-rooms are the same size than our standard-rooms but they have even more comfortable beds, complimentary bathropes and slippers and more complimentary bathcosmetics. There's also a possibility to have a bath in the...

Kokkola, Western Finland, Finland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in Sokos Hotel Ilves for five days and enjoyded it every day. Location is very good beside a huge shopping center, breakfast was varied and good. Room was at first quite cold, but later I fixed it warmer. Swimming pool and sauna was very nice. Will go there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teija P
Ilves_Tampere, Service Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Ilves, responded to this review

Dear Teija P, Thank You for staying in Ilves during Your business trip. We are happy to read this review and are looking forward to seeing You again! Best regards, Heini Schubin Service Manager Reception

Tampere, Finland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It took few hours that room get warmer, first it was too cold. But the view was wonderful, 14th floor :) Daughter was charmed. And location couldn´t be better, shops and restaurants were so near. And the pool crowned our girls miniholiday.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank visitor934

167 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (134)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampere hotels
0.5 km away
Scandic Tampere Station
Scandic Tampere Station
#1 of 25 in Tampere
599 reviews
0.5 km away
Solo Sokos Hotel Torni Tampere
0.5 km away
Original Sokos Hotel Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Radisson Blu Grand Hotel Tammer
0.7 km away
Lapland Hotel Tampere
Lapland Hotel Tampere
#7 of 25 in Tampere
94 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotelli Cumulus Koskikatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This central, 19-story high hotel offers fantastic views over the city in a prominent location in the heart of town, at the back of Tammerkoski. The hotel is close to all services such as shopping center and restaurants, as well as the lively nightlife. Sokos Hotel Ilves has 3 restaurants, pub and a nightclub meaning that your palette will never get bored. Your taste buds will be pampered with Northern European delicacies, flavors from Italy, Mexico and France though you are only on a visit in Finland. The hotel has meeting facilities for 300 people and offers free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, making it easy for you to stay in contact with important business associates as well as friends and family. To truly relax during your stay, take a dip in our pool or unwind in the sauna, the perfect tonic for a day of business meetings or sightseeing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Ilves

Address: Hatanpaeaen valtatie 1, Tampere 33100, Finland
Region: Finland > Pirkanmaa > Tampere
Price Range: ₹ 7,643 - ₹ 14,059 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Ilves 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Ilves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hotel Tampere
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tampere
#2 Business Hotel in Tampere
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Original Sokos Hotel Ilves staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Las Cruces, New Mexico

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Original Sokos Hotel Ilves staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room at the 10 floor or above with a view over the river”
 of 5 bubbles Tatherley, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Lake side rooms has nice view”
 of 5 bubbles Seagull4free, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“the higher the better”
 of 5 bubbles JuriR_13, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“High floors have great views”
  • A view of Tampere from across the lake
  • Beautiful
 of 5 bubbles PaulMD12, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
“higher is better views”
 of 5 bubbles tsaadetdin, 21 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay