We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Katajanokka

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Katajanokka
Hotel Katajanokka
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,385 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 804: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

This is a good hotel. Rooms are spacious and clean, great showers everywhere. Hotel is kept up-to-date, no wear or tear. Very authentic and special athmosphere. Breakfast, however, could improve. Staff is best in class in hospitality. I come here multiple times per year, will never consider other hotel in Helsinki. Price is very correct.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anda M
Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The room was better than we expected although we paid for it not so much money. The service was perfect. It was quite cold in our room but we were supplied with a heater immediately so the stay was quite comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bakanovavittoria
EerikaRinne, General Manager at Hotel Katajanokka, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your kind review. I am sorry to hear that the set temperature wasnt adequate enough, but great to hear that the problem was solved! I hope you had a lovely stay with us and in Helsinki, and look forward to seeing you again soon! Kind regards Eerika Rinne General Manager

Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

After passing a fairly standard modern hotel entrance you find yourself inside a beautifully restored prison complex with walkways and connecting metal staircases. The room are two cells combined together - they are very comfortable and cosy with a great bathroom. The hotel staff were all excellent, especially those in the restaurant area. Usual high Scandinavian prices for food but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neal S
EerikaRinne, General Manager at Hotel Katajanokka, responded to this review

Dear Neal Thank you for your kind feedback. I am delighted to hear that you were satisfied with your stay, and especially service. I shall share your kind comments with the team! I wish you all the best for the year 2017 and hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back soon again! Kind regards Eerika Rinne General...

St. Petersburg, Russia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room design excellent, amenities good! Access to room narrow. Noise insulation good. Breakfast excellent. Museum interesting. Better information of parking fee necessary. Tram connection to Helsinki centre good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bhhenriksson
EerikaRinne, General Manager at Hotel Katajanokka, responded to this review

Hello Many thanks for your kind review. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and appreciated our very unique design. All rooms will be upgraded again, still respecting the building's long past, in early 2017, the renovation will be ready in early March. Our building is stricly protected by Museum authorities, that is why the room doors are exactly...

Addo, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was truly the most amazing experience we had on our recent holiday in Scandinavia. Not only because of the warm and welcome feel the former prison offers but also because of the warm hospitality of the staff. Rooms are big with lovely bathrooms and equipped with all the necessary. The historical value of this hotel (former prison) is amazing....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LGCoetzee
EerikaRinne, General Manager at Hotel Katajanokka, responded to this review

Hello Warm greetings from freezing Katajanokka! I am just delighted to hear that you had such a great experience with us! I hope your whole Scandinavian holiday was amazing, and we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back soon! Kind regards Eerika Rinne General manager

Manila
Reviewed 1 week ago

This a good hotel with a great heritage- even housing political prisoners after the second world war (Winter War)! This repurposed prison has well appointed rooms, and armed with a fantastic staff. As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel offers a pretty sumptuous breakfast buffet. My only complaint with my stay was the inadequate heating of the rooms. Tram No....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CQ2007
EerikaRinne, General Manager at Hotel Katajanokka, responded to this review

Hello Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. I am terrbly sorry to hear that your room was not warm enough. The rooms are set for the standard tempereature of 21 degrees, but during the cold weather the walls can bring the temperature down. Based on feedback, we quickly raised the temperature in the building. I am however pleased...

Tallinn, Estonia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Modernised old building, interesting history! Very good location, tram straight outside the hotel, takes couple of minutes to center or by walk, all very close. Reception very helpful. Excellent restoran down stairs, food was good, service even better. It was a little bit cold in the room but was equipped with extra electrical heater, so this small problem was solved.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katrin K
EerikaRinne, General Manager at Hotel Katajanokka, responded to this review

Dear Katrin Thank you for your review! Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and appreciated our old building with a long and interesting history and unique architecture. I am just delighted that you also had an opportunity to try our our restaurant, and it met and exceeded your expectations! I hope you had a lovely time in Finland,...

Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Reviewed 1 week ago

From the moment we arrived (a couple, with a dog), the staff at the hotel were very welcoming, even going so far as to apologise for the unusual clement weather when tourists usually expect snow for the Christmas / New Year period. The room was found to be very clean, neat and tidy, and well-furnished with towels, tea, coffee, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kgb272017
EerikaRinne, General Manager at Hotel Katajanokka, responded to this review

Hello! Warm greetins from cold Katajanokka! Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and your were pleased with the service provided by our team. I hope you had a wonderful time in Helsinki, and hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the...

Rehovot, Israel
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We slept a night in 29/01/2017, receiving the room 430. Due to the fact that was cold in the room, they added a electrical heater without enough help. The hotel is not heated enough. Be carefull about your belongings, don't left them in the room. The staff is using to acquire things and unfortunately having the support of the management....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mariushugob
EerikaRinne, General Manager at Hotel Katajanokka, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for giving me an opportunity to reply to you and your accusations towards our company and team. First of all, I am sorry that you feel you were not treated fairly at Hotel Katajanokka. As I personally explained to you,due to health and safety law and best practice, it is our, and any other hotel's policy,...

Saint Petersburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel in a former prison with unique atmosphere. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Helpful polite staff. Breakfast selection is plentiful and varied. Good location in a quiet area, within walking distance of the City Center. I would definately come back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NastyaKB
EerikaRinne, General Manager at Hotel Katajanokka, responded to this review

Hello Greetings from Katajanokka! Thank you for your kind comments, and for choosing Hotel Katajanokka for your stay in Helsinki. I am absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our sumptuous breakfast offer gave a good start to your day! I hope you had wonderful time in Helsinkoi, and hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back...

1,378 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1115)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (374)
Viewed
Dining (123)
Viewed
Bathroom (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (167)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
Other (355)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (262)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Junior Suite & Sauna (46)
Viewed
Premier Twin Room (44)
Viewed
Queen Room (34)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)
Viewed
Twin Room (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helsinki hotels
Scandic Paasi
#9 of 63 in Helsinki
1,125 reviews
Fabian Hotel
#2 of 63 in Helsinki
1,039 reviews
Hotel F6
#1 of 63 in Helsinki
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vironniemi
GLO Hotel Kluuvi Helsinki
Hilton Helsinki Strand
#5 of 63 in Helsinki
410 reviews
Kampinmalmi
Hotel Indigo Helsinki - Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Hotel Katajanokka

Address: Merikasarminkatu 1a, Helsinki 00160, Finland
Region: Finland > Uusimaa > Helsinki > Vironniemi
Price Range: ₹ 6,754 - ₹ 11,039 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Katajanokka 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Katajanokka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Helsinki
Helsinki Best Western
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Helsinki
#4 Romantic Hotel in Helsinki
#5 Business Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Luxury Hotel in Helsinki
#8 Family Hotel in Helsinki
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Katajanokka staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Katajanokka staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are good.”
 of 5 bubbles bhhenriksson, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“First floor very convenient”
 of 5 bubbles katrink776, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't use this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles mariushugob, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Go to jail!”
 of 5 bubbles KjellOG, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We slept in 2nd floor, that was quiet and comfortable, easy to go with dogs.”
 of 5 bubbles 114kirsic, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay