Hotel Helka

アルテックの家具
Traveller (765)
Panorama at the Hotel Helka
360
Panoramas (11)
Hotel Helka
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
₹11,182
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
₹11,066
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
Breakfast included
No fees just great deals
₹9,556
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#11 of 67 hotels in Helsinki
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Helka is a unique private hotel in the heart of Helsinki, built in an old 1920s building. Our stylish interior is decorated with carefully chosen Finnish design classics such as Alvar Aalto and Artek, to name a few. We have 151 rooms on five floors where design and functionality are well combined. Helka is close to almost everything Helsinki has to offer: main attractions, city buzz, culture, parks and calming waterside nature. For us, it’s all about you. We are passionate about customer service and making you happy is always our first priority – wherever you come from, Helka makes you feel at home. Helka is a discrimination-free zone. Helka strives for good also on a larger scale. Our owner YWCA is continuously addressing profits from hotel operations to girls and women of all ages around the world. So, you also can do good by being our guest in Hotel Helka.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Massage
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Finnish, Swedish

Location

Pohjoinen Rautatiekatu 23, Helsinki 00100 Finland
Name/address in local language
2,092Reviews17Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,008
  • 835
  • 195
  • 43
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kalypso F wrote a review Oct 2023
Turku, Finland136 contributions69 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Love this hotel!! Stayed at Helka a few times and keep coming back whenever we are in Helsinki! Lovely rooms, clean with Finnish design, tasty breakfast with lots of options, great location and so nice staff! We’ll definitely come back! Thank you for your hospitality!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marie M wrote a review Aug 2020
Finland31 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My stay at this hotel was pleasant. All the regular things worked well, comfy bed, everything was clean and problems were dealt with kindly, swiftly and efficiently. For some reason there was no mention of wi fi at check-in, or anywhere in the room that I could find, but because I had my own, I didn't call reception.

What I especially appreciated, and rarely find outside of five star accommodation, was the level of the attention to detail. The room had small lights everywhere, including a "ceiling-photograph" of a forest view. In the tiny bathroom, there was a place for make up, and the toothbrush mug had a plate underneath, that fit the toothpaste and other accessories. There was a beautiful water glass in the room, ample closet space and a tea kit.

The room was a functional and beautiful one person refuge in a busy city.

The breakfast was exceptionally good, as reported in many of the feedbacks. The cappuccino was very good, and included in the breakfast. Many of the less expensive and more expensive hotels in the area have atrocious to bad coffee, with "special coffee" at an additional cost, so if you like your espresso, choosing this hotel saves you a buck with Helsinki prices for lattes, espressos and cappuccinos.

The elevator that was in function was tiny and scary, so that may be good to know.

Everywhere you look, it is stated that this hotel is a discrimination-free zone, and my experience was that this is implemented everywhere you go in the hotel. Service was mostly friendly and at best very warm.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone who loves their breakfast, coffee, comfort, functionality and enjoys a scandinavian style interior design. Not a luxury hotel, but one that focuses on the essentials of travel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotelli Helka, Muu at Hotel Helka
Responded 16 Aug 2020
Dear Marie, Thank you so much for your detailed review. We are so glad to hear back from you. Nothing feels better than a great review from a regular customer. As you said our hotel is decorated with Finnish design at its center. Each of our room is slightly different and unique with their own special characteristics. I really recommend to test out our completely new room type Loft -rooms. They also have our very own artist Marita Kouhia's paintings inside the rooms. You can also see Marita's works in the hotel lobby. About the WiFi we are sorry for the confusion on the information part. We have an open WiFi under the name Helka_open and a password protected one as well. Usually at the check-in counter we give password for the WiFi for the customer, however since our password protected wifi system is quite new our staff member at the reception must have forgot to mention it. Thank you so much for pointing this out. We will try to adapt to this change better in the future! And sorry for the elevator situation. During your stay there was a problem with our larger and bright main elevator which was fixed few weeks ago. Unfortunately we had a problem which required professional support to fix and luckily our normal elevator is back in business so our guests can use it normally. Thank you for staying with us and have a lovely autumn :) see you on your next visit in Helka! Warm regards, - Johannes / Reception, Helka
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
uttnoT wrote a review Sept 2020
Southern Finland, Finland108 contributions37 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for one night with my girlfriend in the beginning of September for one night. I had heard a lot of good stuff about this hitel before but never stayed in it. First of all, I was really surprised of the warm welcome we received in the lobby as I had to use the toilet the lady at the reception did not ask whetever I'm a guest or not of the hotel but directed me straight to the toilet. It gave me the feeling of being welcomed to the building any time as a guest or as a walk in customer. The check in kiosks worked perfectly without any lagging and the check in was smooth. This hotel has a lot of unique small details of Finnish design throughout and every room class has a different interior design filled up with Finnish design items from different eras. The sauna department on the upmost floor offered great couzy atmosphere and the beds in the rooms were one of the best I've ever slept in. The location is brilliant for shopping,sightseeing and for activities. The breakfast was full of local distributed and ecolabelled products and Finnish designed tableware. The biggest takeaway from our stay was most definately the warm welcomed feeling we received from the staff throughout our stay! The lady at the reception even told us a good night sleep well when I asked her about the sauna opening times. If you're a fan of boutique hotels and Finnish design this is something you have to add on your bucket list!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotelli Helka, Muu at Hotel Helka
Responded 3 Oct 2020
Hello Tonttu, and thank you so much for your awesome review. I have forwarded your kind words to our reception staff during your visit! We are so glad that your trip went well and you felt welcomed by the staff :). Good to hear that the self check-in worked out for you. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Helsinki :). Have a great week and welcome back on your next trip to Helka :) Warm regards, Johannes / Reception, Helka
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ford-ka-9-5 wrote a review Dec 2021
Warsaw, Poland382 contributions119 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very nice hotel located in downtown Helsinki within walking distance of the railway station and close to the underground (if your luggage is too heavy for the walk) which makes it a recommendable location if you plan to wander around the city. The interiors are modern and pleasant, well designed although I found my single room a little on the smallish side. But I don't think that anybody comes to Helsinki to spend the time in a hotel room. Breakfast is very varied with lots of local produce to choose from so when you plan your departure allow yourself some time in the morning to sample everything that is offered there. An exhibition of contemporary paintings/art in several rooms was an added value to my stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: I enjoyed a room at the back of the building - not much of a view but very quiet, exactly as I...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotelli Helka, Other at Hotel Helka
Responded 26 Jan 2022
Thank you for your review :). Great to hear you got to experience a lot of different sides of Helka. In case you want to have a greater experience from a single room I recommend to try out our Loft Single which has a beautiful balcony towards the city view on the 6th floor of the hotel! Be sure to try it out next time. Have a nice day :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Minna V wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This cozy, quiet, clean hotel is located near the Kamppi shopping centre, just a walking distance away from all the major sights and attractions in Helsinki. I stayed in the single comfort room which was clean and roomy and came with slippers and a bathrobe. The THANN amenities were lovely. A delicious breakfast with a huge number of tasty options was included. I really enjoyed my stay and will be coming again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotelli Helka, Other at Hotel Helka
Responded 27 Aug 2021
Hi, thank you so much for the review. As you said our hotel is just around the corner from many sights and attractions of Helsinki. The THANN amenities are certainly popular with our customers and you can buy them from for example Stockmann (quite close to hotel also!). We are glad to hear that the trip went well. Welcome back anytime ;) Sincerely, Johannes / Reception, Helka
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
chiruchi wrote a review Jul 2020
Lohjan Island, Finland26 contributions14 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I've stayed in Helka several times over the years when staying overnight in Helsinki. It has all you need for overnight stay. Can't say about parking since I never needed it. Rooms are mostly small but always cozy. Breakfast is good (try out the Carelian pies with egg-buttter). Staff is friendly. If you can choose, take the window towards the city. Prices are typically lower than average in the area, but you don't have a feeling of staying in a cheap hotel. Everything is nice, clean and Scandinavian :) I would recommend Helka without much hesitation every time.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotelli Helka, Muu at Hotel Helka
Responded 26 Jul 2020
Hi Chiruchi, and thank you for your informative review. Great to hear you have enjoyed your time in Helka. The view towards the city is spectacular especially in the 6th floor so we advice everyone to ask for a room with a nice view, if that's your jam. Thank you so much for the recommendation and we hope to see you again soon :) Warm regards, Johannes / Reception Helka
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ixou wrote a review Jan 2020
Eastbourne, United Kingdom103 contributions43 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is situated in central Helsinki closed to the rail station and main museums and sites. You can walk easily everywhere from it.
The staff are very nice and helpful.
My room was a single one, with a single bed and a huge TV screen with apps features. It was very clean and very warm as well as the bathroom which was lovely as it was really cold outside.
Breakfast was excellent, with a great choice of organic and locally sourced food. They cater for everybody.
There is tea and coffee making facility and they have a fridge at the reception if you want to leave your food there.
It is a very welcoming hotel and very easygoing while being well kept.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HotelHelka, Reception at Hotel Helka
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Dear ixou, thank you very much for your detailed review. Great to hear that you got to experience a lot of attractions around the hotel and found the location convenient. We try our best to please everybody with our unique atmosphere, if there is anything customers find displeasing we will do our utmost to improve on it. Thank you very much and we hope to see you again on your next trip to Finland :) Sincerely, Johannes / Reception Helka
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
amirh732015 wrote a review Jan 2020
Lappeenranta, Finland59 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at Hotel Helka for one night. What I liked the most about the hotel was its strong statement in support of diversity and equality which started with the sign in big bold letters: 'this a discrimination-free zone'.

The artwork in the public areas and the hotel room was modern, stylish and very much to my liking.

The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The breakfast was true to the Nordic style.

The hotel's central location near Kamppi metro station and the 7/9 tram lines is a definite plus.

All in all, a pleasant experience for a short business trip.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HotelHelka, Johannes / Reception at Hotel Helka
Responded 26 Jan 2020
Dear amirh, thank you for your awesome review. Great to hear that you found everything to be convenient and thank yo so much for your recommendations :). I hope to see you again at Helka on your next visit to Helsinki. I'll be sure to pass your nice words to our staff. Sincerely, Johannes / Reception Helka
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
EmeraldDiva wrote a review Apr 2020
Victoria, Australia3,669 contributions264 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a wonderful hotel! We booked a junior suite and were delighted to find the rooms (bedroom and separate living room) were larger than they looked on the website. The rooms were extremely cosy, the bed comfortable and the hotel quiet so we slept well. The bathroom is small, but functional, but it has a sauna! Oh the luxury is returning after a long day of sightseeing to our own private sauna. It only took about 15 mins to heat up and it was just lovely.
The breakfast is outstanding, so many healthy choices. There is also a cute bar area downstairs which is great for a pre or post dinner drink.or a light meal.
All the staff were friendly and helpful. No negatives with this hotel, just loved it!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Junior suite has a private sauna.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotelli Helka, Muu at Hotel Helka
Responded 17 Aug 2020
Dear Emerald, thank you very much for your awesome reply. Great to hear that your visit during April went well and you stayed in our Junior Suites! Junior Suites are our largest rooms and you can even fit 4 people in them with still plenty of room left over. Every Junior Suite has slightly different own sauna so you might want to try them all out! We even have a completely new room type Loft Junior Suite which is even more luxurious compared to original Junior Suites. With completely new style and new sauna type it has become a new hit in our hotel. On your next visit to Helka I really recommend you to try this out ;). Thank you for staying in Helka and we hope you have a great week :). Sincerely, - Johannes / Reception, Helka
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KatriKerem wrote a review Oct 2022
Estonia72 contributions64 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed in Helka for about 10 nights in total, recently more often as our Helsinki office is literally around the corner. But the three stays in September-October 2022 made me choose another hotel for my 4th stay. I enjoy the atmosphere of the hotel, the personnel is super nice, there are some nice design elements. But that is not enough to make up for the rooms that are often not quiet and not comfortable. On my 1st stay I had to go down to the reception to ask for earplugs because the street facing 2nd floor room had constant traffic noise late at night. The last stay I had a room where it was not possible to turn down or switch off the ventilation/air conditioning and there was really loud noise. Luckily I was able to change the room. Actually the staff always helps out but I do not want to complain all the time, neither do I want to feel that I am always drawing the worst room in the room lottery. Often I get a room where the headside of the bed is not against the wall. The headboard is super low, so there is nowhere to lean when reading in the bed. I am posting my recent experience (this is actually the room that was changed, but beware of this room anyhow) - the TV is on the side of the bed and the head side of the bed is towards the window. I think less emphasis on design and more emphasis on basic usability would do the hotel a lot of good.

The breakfast selection is fairly limited, especially for gluten free eaters. I can usually put together a decent breakfast in every hotel avoiding bread, pastries and like. But at Helka the bacon is always burnt so dark that its not edible (to my taste at least) and besides porridge there is not much left.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Check your room before setting down and ask for a change if it is uncomfortable
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotelli Helka, Other at Hotel Helka
Responded 15 Nov 2022
Hello and thank you for the review. We are terribly sorry for the noise on the streets. We can always book a room on our backyard for light sleepers and are more than happy to change the room in case customer feels like city noises are bit too much at the moment. We are terribly sorry for multiple issues you have faced :(. We will definitely try to check out the ventilation issues in the room you have stayed. We recommend to customers in all cases to contact the staff because it is not considered complaining, in case the customer has an issue they want to rresolve. Thank you for the review. We will try to improve on these issues based on the review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from antoinjstrachan
London, United Kingdom160 contributions96 helpful votes
When you check in at hotel, usually they give you a registration form. At the Helka, you can take the form away and fill it in at your leisure, as long as you give it back to reception before you check out. Yes. There are scrambled eggs. I got to the hotel via the direct train from the airport to the Central station. This is really a great option. The Central station is only about a 10 minute walk from the Helka. I’d definitely suggest the train vs taking a bus.
Answer from Hotelli H
Helsinki, Finland
Hello Alex, There is no extra charge for guests, this is included in the price. Welcome! Oona H. / Service Manager
Answer from Hotelli H
Helsinki, Finland
Hello, We always recommend using the train. Train takes you from the airport straight to the city center in 30 minutes. From the central station you will reach Helka after a 10 minute walk. we are located on the edge of the city center, in the quiet part of an area called Kamppi. Everything is very easy to reach from Helka. See you soon! Oona H. / Service Manager
Answer from Hotelli H
Helsinki, Finland
Dear bmshull, We still have rooms available, please contact the hotel directly. Kind regards Simo Helka
Satu H wrote a tip Jul 2023
Helsinki, Finland34 contributions34 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best time for breakfast is early "
Read full review
Anna A wrote a tip Jul 2023
5 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring your own slippers, you can heat up your food in their microwave if you are on low budget. "
Read full review
gregoryjamesk wrote a tip Nov 2022
Sunbury, Australia1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Coming out of the station, might be best to grab a cab for the first time as it can be a little hard to find, after that, no problems."
Read full review
KatriKerem wrote a tip Oct 2022
Estonia72 contributions64 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check your room before setting down and ask for a change if it is uncomfortable"
Read full review
marco m wrote a tip Jul 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking at the Hotel"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Helsinki area.
PRICE RANGE
₹10,007 - ₹12,925 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
helka hotel helsinki
LOCATION
FinlandUusimaaHelsinkiKampinmalmi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
155
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL HELKA (Helsinki) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Helka
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Helka?
Nearby attractions include Natural History Museum (0.3 km), Temppeliaukio Church (0.3 km), and Kamppi Shopping Centre (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Helka?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Helka?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Helka?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Helka?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Helka?
Conveniently located restaurants include Finnjavel Salonki, HOKU, and Cafetoria roastery.
Is Hotel Helka located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Helsinki.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Helka?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Helka?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Helka offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Helka?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Swedish, and Finnish.
All Helsinki HotelsHelsinki Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HelsinkiHotels near Hotel Helka
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire