We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Yrjoenkatu 26, Helsinki 00100 Finland
E-mail hotel
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Vio.com
$188
View deal
Priceline
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (679)
Room & Suite (244)
Videos (3)

About

#21 of 78 hotels in Helsinki
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The first skyscraper in Finland is a world class hotel. The first American style cocktail bar with round bar counters, the first roof bar and the most popular views in Helsinki. Hotel Torni was built in a prominent location in central Helsinki in 1931, bringing with it permanent changes to both the cityscape and the atmosphere of the city. Guests from Helsinki and elsewhere knew Torni as a place for seeing and experiencing new things. It has been a meeting place for artists, journalists, friends of gastronomy and politicians: Torni's history is the history of Helsinki. The new Torni is a top class hotel and restaurant experience. It is art for all senses. It is the best view in the city with top-class food, drinks, furnishing, art and enjoyment. It is historic moments and unforgettable experiences. Welcome to a top-class experience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Rooftop bar
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
Umbrella
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Art Deco Style
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Finnish, Swedish

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
406Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
143Attractionswithin 0.5 km
1140Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 406
  • 542
  • 157
  • 29
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Tino wrote a review Nov 2022
Tallinn, Estonia1 contribution
I stayed at Torni Hotel during a business trip in Helsinki. First of all, I need to highlight the friendly and great quality customer service from checking in until checking out. I felt very welcomed! Torni is a classic landmark in Helsinki and got to admit that the recently finished renovation at the hotel has been very successful. All spaces were beautifully renovated but still paying respect to the building's long history and traditions. Also, the location of the hotel is very good. You can easily access nearby restaurants or get to the train station. My room was comfy and spacy, and I slept well. All surfaces were also clean which you appreciate especially after the pandemic times. The offered breakfast was also delicious, and you could tell by the looks that the hotel staff had put effort into the serving. Also, received some help from a very friendly staff member who presented the breakfast selection for me. All in all, I was extremely satisfied with my stay at the hotel. Based on this experience, I'm planning to stay at the same hotel also next time!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Antti Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Tino, Thank you for your lovely review. How wonderful to hear you have enjoyed your stay here in Hotel Torni. I'm really happy to hear that you have slept well during your stay and that you find our breakfast delicious. Hopefully we'll meet again. Your are more than welcomed back to Hotel Torni! Antti / Reception
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hannele U wrote a review May 2022
7 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
Just completely renovated hotel with fantastic old time charm. everything was super clean, staff was amazing and Breakfast was great. Perfect location close to many restaurants and main shopping streets.One of the best hotels in Helsinki, I highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jasmin Korpinen, Guest Services / Front Office at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Responded 28 May 2022
Dear Hannele, thank you for your lovely review. How wonderful to hear you have enjoyed your stay here in Hotel Torni. Thank you so much for your kind words. Hopefully we'll meet again. Your are more than welcomed back to Hotel Torni! Best regards, Jasmin / Torni
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daniel A wrote a review Nov 2022
2 helpful votes
Well, if this is the groups flag ship hotel the I am not going to ever use them again. Nice building but no service. Too small lobby, lift takes forever to arrive, noisy room, average food, difficult to move around with your bags, small rooms, no view in the room, no consierge, no guest relation, no doorman, no presence... Just not worth the money when I paid over 300 euros per night.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jasmin Solo Sokos Hotel Torni, Guest Services / Front Office at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay here. Your experience from us is totally different from what we aim for and I apologize that this is how your visit went. Yes our premises here are maybe not the most easily accessed but it is part of the hotels history. This hotel consists of two buildings from years 1931 and 1903 and we feel that it is more of an advantage in creating the overall feeling and atmosphere here in Torni than a setback. If you ever feel like giving us a second chance we would be more than pleased to find you a more suitable room meeting your personal preferences. We do have plenty of different rooms and room types here in hotel Torni and if you are looking for a more tranquil room then we can book you a room facing the inneryard. Let us not forget the fact that we are indeed in the middle of Helsinki city centre so if you are really sensitive to all possible noises then we do offer earplugs for the guests who need it. We do not have a doorman here daily but if you wish for the staff to carry luggage or anything else we that eases your stay with us we would be more than happy to help. Thank you again for your stay with us and hopefully we´ll meet again and get a new chance to charm you. Best regards, Jasmin / Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
scan100 wrote a review Jun 2022
Helsinki20 contributions28 helpful votes
I liked; a. the central location of the hotel b. the bed in my room c. the views from my room on the 10th floor d. the breakfast and the friendly and professional attitude of the breakfast staff I did not like that the hotel guests have to share lifts with party goers visiting the very very popular bar on the top floor of the hotel. In the late afternoon and evening it was virtually impossible to find space in the lift to go to my room as the lifts carried loads of party goers to the bar - at times I had to wait more than 10 minutes to find a lift with space for me to go to my room. Later in the evening I found myself in very full lifts with intoxicated and rowdy bar customers - not an experience that I think many guests will want to have or will find a safe choice. I spoke to other guests - while waiting for the lifts :-), and they shared my frustration with the slow lift access and concern with sharing lifts with party goers. On check out I shared my views - and was told "yes the bar is very popular in Helsinki"
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Michaela Reception, Guest Services / Front Office at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Responded 12 Aug 2022
Dear scan100, Thank you for your review, it is very important to us. We are happy to hear that the location was suitable and you liked your room. Also, we will share this lovely feedback to our breakfast staff. The situation with our elevators is a bit unfortunate, because Ateljee Bar is very popular in Helsinki and many people want to come and see the great view. I Sincerely apologize that you had to wait for the elevators for quite some time! Hopefully it didn't ruin your whole experience. We are delighted to see you again! Best regards, Michaela / Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tukano wrote a review May 2022
Turku, Finland676 contributions176 helpful votes
Stayed one night in renewed room. The room was okay. Lights were a bit odd. Bathroom was compact. We did expect more from the breakfast but there were nothing special. Coffe was served to table and waiting time was long and not so many customers. When it is full it will not work. Overall service was not good. The irish pub O'Malleys had a new look also and to our opinion it did lack the irish pub charm.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jasmin Korpinen, Guest Services / Front Office at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Responded 28 May 2022
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your review. We have oh so many different rooms here in Torni so let's try to seek for a better option for you on your next visit. Our reception will be more than happy to help! Sorry to hear you did not find our breakfast special. We do have a lot of different, hand crafted and unique dishes on our breakfast. In example our oven baked omelette, our sour dough bread with seared and whipped butter, coconut-mango chia pudding, different hand made smoothies and so on. Let us know what you are still missing so that we can improve ourselves more. Our apologies as well that you did not find our service good. This is a deal breaker for us since our mission here is to serve our guest the best we can. My sincere apologies this has not happened with you. We will be better next time. Hopefully you will give us another chance here in Torni. We will do our best to give you the experience you'll always remember. Welcome back! Best regards, Jasmin / Torni
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jalle78 wrote a review May 2022
Helsinki, Finland319 contributions72 helpful votes
+1
Afternoon Tea at hotel Sokos Torni Ateljee Bar was a very pleasant experience. Food was excellent, service was top class and the tea was first class. You could choose between green and black tea and they were both tasteful. The afternoon tea costs 38 euros and includes of course tea (as much as you wish to drink) plus 5 items that you can choose among several options, both savoury and sweet. The only minus would be that you were left a bit hungry after eating: the pieces and portions were very small so maby there should be couple more included. But it is just excellent that they serve afternoon tea also in Helsinki.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jasmin Korpinen, Guest Services / Front Office at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Responded 24 May 2022
Dear guest, thank you for your review. How very nice to hear about your visit to Ateljee Bar for an all day tea! We make the treats our selves here in Torni. Our talented pastry chef design every piece we serve here with passion. We are glad you enjoyed the tasteful experience of our All day tea - hopefully you liked our views too from the 12th floor! Our apologies that you were left with a hunger. The all day tea is not designed to serve as a full dinner but more of an afternoon tea moment. We do offer a possibility to order more items for an extra fee if you feel like having some more. Thank you once again for your lovely review. Hopefully we will meet again here in Torni. Your are more than welcome back! Best regards, Jasmin / Torni
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rolf L wrote a review Apr 2022
Borup, Denmark137 contributions57 helpful votes
Many would say that the tower is this hotels best attraction. Well - it probably is, but as number two I would say that the service is very good. Nice newly renovated rooms. A very good bed, strong wi-fi, the touch with the light in the bathroom is very good. Not good is that you can't read what there are in the bottles in the shower. There are 3 bottles with shampoo, conditioner and showgel. Please make the letters bigger. You also need somewhere to put the towel when you have finished the bath. The service with the breakfast is very good. The waiter serve a very good juice and coffee. Dark is the best. Me and finnish breakfast are not good friends. Came late when I arrived, and the night receptionist were very serviceminded.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jasmin Korpinen, Guest Services / Front Office at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Responded 24 May 2022
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We truly appreciate it! This makes us glad to hear you have enjoyed your visit here in Torni. We agree - the Ateljee Bar is an attraction on it's own and we love it! Let us still not forget about the other fascinating restaurants we have here in Torni. The legendary Irish pub O'Malley's, our beautiful American bar with it's most talented cocktails and our modern brasserie OR and the talented chef's they all have their places in many guests hearts. This renovation took up to 2 years but we believe it was worth it. How nice to hear you too enjoy our renovated atmosphere! Thank you also for you tips of improvement, they are always welcome. We are also delighted to hear you found our service excellent! We really believe in customer focused service and the way to achieve it is if our staff truly enjoy what we are doing here and I can say that we serve our guests here in Torni with passion. Thank you once more for visiting us and hopefully we'll meet again. Welcome back to Torni! Best regards, Jasmin / Torni
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SamTee78 wrote a review Apr 2022
Uusimaa, Finland12 contributions6 helpful votes
Our family decided to visit just renovated Torni three days after re-opening. It was our first time there. We chose two ground-level rooms (108 + 111). Check-in: Even we arrived after the check-in time (15.00), the other room was not ready. After a two hours walk in beautiful Helsinki, the room was still not cleaned at 17, and it took another 15 mins to get keys. Rooms: Nothing special here, at least Solo Twin rooms were quite traditional. Just enough space for two beds, a chair and a desk. Rooms were obviously in a great condition, everything looking and smelling brand new. Those hoping to find Art deco atmosphere (after reading hotel's brochure) will be disappointed. I wish the hotel would have been braver with the renovation, and used more colors or something else that would have made rooms more memorable. There is definitely potential considering the beautiful building. NOISE WARNING: I couldn't sleep before 5 because of constant noise from opposite bars and people talking in streets. I would have changed the room, but my son was luckier with sleeping, and I didn't want to wake him up. My 12-old daughter had the same problem in the another room. I'm sure it will be the same in every weekend / summer night, so I highly recommend taking a room from upper-level floors where the noise won't be an issue. Cleanliness: One of the rooms was clearly cleaned in a rush, with some trash still on the floor and toilet in not-the-most-welcoming condition. The other rooms was good. The staff said they had had issues with cleaning during these first days after re-opening. Breakfast: Not the biggest selection, but definitely quality ingredients. A couple of special things like smoothies. All drinks were served in the table, you cannot even get a class of water without the help of a staff member. Drink selection was surprisingly small: water, coffee and one type of a juice. Service: Staff was friendly, and I especially appreciated how everyone greeted every time they saw us. Value for money: Definitely NOT considering room prices start at 200€+. There are much better alternatives in Helsinki. I raised my concerns at checkout, and the staff said they could upgrade us to a better room the next time we visit this hotel. I said that won't be necessary because it is very unlikely we will be back. (so we paid full price for this visit) I hope they would have given us free drinks or something, especially when we needed to wait for rooms to be cleaned (twice) before getting keys, but I am not blaming the staff because the hotel might have very strict policies about these cases. I'm sure everyone did their best, and there is probably still lot to learn during these first weeks. My recommendations for the hotel: - Put a warning to the brochure that noise from streets might be heard in ground-level rooms. It would be fair. - Maybe water could be freely available at breakfast (without having to ask a staff member)
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Prefer upper-level rooms
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jasmin Korpinen, Guest Services / Front Office at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Responded 19 Apr 2022
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We are glad that you stayed with us in Torni. However we give you our most sincere apologies that we did not succeed giving you the best stay with us. This is truly on us and we will take note on this. We had a big and wonderful renovation and we are more than proud to have our amazing hotel open again. We opened under a week ago and we admit that with new staff, new policies and everything new we had our difficulties to get things running as they are supposed to. We take this seriously and have taken action on how to take down these obstacles. We apologize that your room was not ready at 15:00. This was a human mistake and we are sorry that it affected your stay with us. Most importantly we should have taken you more into consideration when you waited for the room - like you said offer you a drink from the bar etc. We have discussed about what happened with our entire team. We know we can do better in this and we will. We are super glad you noticed we use quality products at our breakfast! Our chefs put their heart into it and we make our breakfast from scratch. Our aim is to take care of our guests in the best possible way so your recommendations for the breakfast, hotel and restaurants are more than welcome. We are sorry you did not get value for your money. We really can do better and since we can't really fix this stay with you anymore we really would like to show you that we can meet and exceed your expectations. Our deepest apologies that this time that did not happen. We will learn from our mistakes. At the check out we did offer to give you a discount from the second room. We are sorry that this was not a suitable proposal for you at the moment. Our General Manager would like to be in contact to your directly and discuss about your experience and if there is anything we could do to make you feel better after this stay. We do have a lot to learn because we believe one can never be done with learning how to make our guests stay the best they have ever had. Thank you once more for your review and we really do hope to see you again. Wishing you all the best, Jasmin / Service Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Keith A wrote a review Jan 2020
Maidstone, United Kingdom37 contributions39 helpful votes
Great hotel in the city centre, one of the tallest buildings in Helsinki and well worth paying a bit more for a room on a higher floor. The rooms are minimalist but very clean and modern. The rooftop bar is a must in the evenings, great 360° views of the city. Stayed a few times and is always my first choice when in the city. It's expensive but in line & not excessive for the area.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Torni-Management, Vastaanottopäällikkö at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Responded 15 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, thank you for staying with us and giving us feedback! You are warmly welcome to see the brand new Torni when we open again 2021. :) With kind regards, Elina Solo Sokos Hotel Torni Helsinki
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
321sille wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution
Was there only one night while visiting my family in Finland, so I didn't saw the whole hotel. But the room(solo Queen) was spacious. Bathroom was quite small, but everything was well located, so it didn't feel like a small one. But there can't be 2 persons brushing teeth together. Bed was extreamly comfortable. But minibar didn't have any soft drinks, so I had to go down to reception to get something to drink. Breakfast was very tasty, but I would have loved it more if there would have some salted raw salmon. There was cooked one. Very good location with close by transportation.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Torni-Management, Front Office Manager at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Responded 19 Dec 2019
Dear Guest, thank you for your visit! Good to hear that your stay was good. Our minibars were emptied in the summer so that guests can use them for their own products and reception had then this small "kiosk". Hope you will be able to come and see the new Torni then 2021! Happy holidays! With kind regards, Elina Solo Sokos Hotel Torni Helsinki
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$194 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sokos hotel helsinki
LOCATION
FinlandUusimaaHelsinkiKampinmalmi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
154
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SOLO SOKOS HOTEL TORNI (Helsinki) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Solo Sokos Hotel Torni
Which popular attractions are close to Solo Sokos Hotel Torni?
Nearby attractions include Ateneum (0.4 km), Kamppi Chapel of Silence (0.2 km), and The Esplanadi Park (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Solo Sokos Hotel Torni?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ragu, Gran Delicato, and Passio Keittio Ja Baari.
Is Solo Sokos Hotel Torni located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.09 km away from the centre of Helsinki.
Are any cleaning services offered at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Solo Sokos Hotel Torni?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Swedish, and Finnish.
Are there any historical sites close to Solo Sokos Hotel Torni?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Seurasaari Island and Open-Air Museum (2.5 km), Mannerheim Museum (1.6 km), and Sea Fortress Suomenlinna (3.3 km).