We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rantasipi Pohjanhovi

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Rantasipi Pohjanhovi
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

347 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 167: English reviews
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We travelled on one of Thomson's Lapland trips and were at the hotel for four nights. The local area of Rovaniemi was a little bit more populated and we preferred it to Levi Fells. The local restaurants and markets were a little pricey, but the beauty of this village-sized city made up for it! Firstly, the rooms were good, they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomsonairwayslover8
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Rooms are a little old-fashioned but with good furniture and a functional bathroom. The place obviously has a long history. Pool is freezing cold! Location is great though, right by the river. Breakfast buffet is also very good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Xander L
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for 6 nights in January with my husband and our three daughters aged 22, 18 and 6. We had two rooms - a standard double room on the third floor and a triple room on the second floor. These rooms were in the main block, not through the long tunnel. The standard double room was fairly small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank themadprampusher
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's really difficult to judge this hotel. The buffet is really good and the position as well (close to the center and to Lapland Safaris). The sauna was small but nice, the pool cold but the fire close to the pool was amazing. But there is a huge negative vote: the cleaning service. We came back from an excursion at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank edoardo g
Hotel-Pohjanhovi, Receptionist at Rantasipi Pohjanhovi, responded to this review

Dear Edoardo, Thank you for your valuable review of our hotel. I am very sorry to hear that the room wasn't cleaned until the evening. This is really not how it should be and we will discuss about this with our housekeeping staff. We hope that we can gain your trust back and see you again in the future! Sincerely,...

Yerevan, Armenia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice scandic hotel. The service needs to be improved. Room service and restaurant service during the breakfast need to be improved. In general I found that the service in this city is not good enough, probably no many people here and they do not manage to catch on. I do not recommend to order a taxi from the hotel recepation....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rudolfich
Hotel-RS-Polar, Receptionist at Rantasipi Pohjanhovi, responded to this review

Dear Rudolfich, Thank you for your valuable review of our hotel. Our customer's satisfaction is our priority and we are sorry to hear that we felt short with the service. We hope that we can learn from this and improve ourselves in the future. We hope to see you again! Sincerely, Ella

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My group name is Premiere Scandinavia-Rovaniemi. Check in Dec 31st 2016 for 4 nights. As we got to the hotels, i got rooms 263. As it is a premiere tour then i must have got a nice rooms for the group so we can spend wonderful new year in Rovaniemi. Turn out they gave me the most unexpected room ever....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Rex S
Milan, Italy
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It seems to be the oldest hotel in town and here and there you can see it, even though renovations and efficient maintenance make it modern and relatively enjoyable. Good location on the river, close to all main spots of Rovaniemi. Bus to Santa Claus Village just around the corner, same for the snowmobiles. It offers several services and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SirJ0
Hotel-RS-Polar, Receptionist at Rantasipi Pohjanhovi, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your valuable review of our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The premises will be renovated in the future. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Ella

East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here in November and were delighted to find we had a river view room the view was spectacular and the hotel was just a short walk into the shops etc and a bus stop outside. I would not recommend booking half board at this hotel as the food, service etc was very poor, our first night we arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karen m
Hotel-RS-Polar, Receptionist at Rantasipi Pohjanhovi, responded to this review

Dear Karen, Thank you for your valuable review of our hotel. Our customer's satisfaction is our priority and we are very sorry to hear that your dining at our restaurant didn't meet the standards that were expected. We will discuss about this with out restaurant staff and will do our best that this will not happen again. We hope we...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

We were disappointed with this hotel and was very surprised Thomas Cook use this venue - the rooms are very dated and ours was quite dirty the shower cubicle was filthy and was a very very long walk to our room up and down stairs and along under ground corridors . Our evening meal was a small overcrowded poor choice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
Hotel-RS-Polar, Receptionist at Rantasipi Pohjanhovi, responded to this review

Dear Emma, Thank you for your valuable review of our hotel. Our customers satisfaction is our priority and we are sorry to hear that your stay didn't meet the standards that you were expecting for. We will focus on these things to improve ourselves in the future. We hope to gain your trust back and see you again! Sincerely, Ella

Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

Visited this hotel last weekend for our lapland trip booked through sunway. Room was old fashioned, beds were uncomfortable, food was quite poor. We were half board so we had the buffet which was like prison food. We were walking to breakfast the following morning and the carpet where the buffet had been the night before was covered in food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank samantha d
Hotel-RS-Polar, Receptionist at Rantasipi Pohjanhovi, responded to this review

Dear Samantha, Thank you for your valuable review of our hotel. Our customers satisfaction is our priority and we are sad to hear that your stay didn't meet the standards that you were expecting. The rooms will be renovated in the near future. We will focus on these lacks to improve ourselves. We hope to gain your trust back and...

250 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (250)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Other (108)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rovaniemi hotels
0.2 km away
Arctic Light Hotel
Arctic Light Hotel
#1 of 13 in Rovaniemi
259 reviews
0.2 km away
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
Santa's Hotel Santa Claus
#3 of 13 in Rovaniemi
537 reviews
0.1 km away
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna,Rovaniemi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Santa Claus Holiday Village
0.4 km away
City Hotel Rovaniemi
City Hotel Rovaniemi
#5 of 13 in Rovaniemi
537 reviews
2.2 km away
Lapland Hotel Sky Ounasvaara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Rantasipi Pohjanhovi
Rantasipi Pohjanhovi
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Versatile hotel with restaurant serving Lapland cuisine, set in centre of town by the River Kemijoki; 8 km to the Arctic Circle. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rantasipi Pohjanhovi

Address: Pohjanpuistikko 2, Rovaniemi 96200, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Rovaniemi
Price Range: ₹ 7,162 - ₹ 16,165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rantasipi Pohjanhovi 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Rantasipi Pohjanhovi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rantasipi Pohjanhovi Rovaniemi
Rantasipi Pohjanhovi Hotel Rovaniemi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rantasipi Pohjanhovi staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Rantasipi Pohjanhovi staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room overlooking the frozen river.”
 of 5 bubbles Thomsonairwayslover8, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Uitzicht op de rivier is wel het mooist”
 of 5 bubbles xanderl2014, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“River view”
 of 5 bubbles 354karenm354, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“river view”
 of 5 bubbles SylvieN181, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room on left side had beautiful views of the river, especially over the winter when it was half frozen over. The shared saunas were great!”
  • view of river from beside Hotel
 of 5 bubbles LeeLeenJeff, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay